Yes! Poverty is Not a Hindrance to Success!

2 14
Avatar for che_pogz
2 years ago

Hello everyone, I am sharing to you my life story, I came from a poor family. My father is a farmer and my mother is a house keeper. I have 8 siblings and I am the eldest. We live in a far flung area/mountain.

My unforgettable elementary years

In my elementary years I and my siblings walked 30-45 minutes just to get in school, we suffer into a rain or shine weather every morning and afternoon of walking. During rainy days, we used the banana leaf as our protection from rain because my parents cannot afford to buy umbrella, their money is for buying foods only.

During activities in school, whenever there is a dancing or singing presentation I cannot join because my parents won't allow me because they have no money to buy for a dress/outfit. I missed many memorable moments during school activities but it's okay because I understand our situation. Time goes by, I graduated elementary last 1999 with an award of 5th Honorable Mention.

Perseverance is the key💪

Then, the next school year, I studied high school, again I walk 30-45 minutes to get in school. Even though my parents were financially unstable they tried their best to let me study in high school. I have experience to go to school without allowance, I don't care, coz in my mind, I have to do it because I want to help my family to improve our life.

I remember when time that we had a compulsory contribution, I ask my mother a money but she refuse to give because she don't have a money, I cried that time. What she did, she went to our neighbor and borrow money. Not all the time I have allowance for snacks, so that to make money I go along with my mother every Saturday to sell some vegetables in the market. I did summer job every summer just to acquire money to buy school supplies and other needs.

In my second and third year high school, I am awarded as With Honor. Last 2003 I graduated High School.

Think it twice!

After I graduated, I immediately apply as a sales lady in a sari-sari store. After a couple of months my Aunt told me to go with her in Manila to find job, I agreed with her. The next day, our relative told me that they will send me to college as a working student. I will take care of their mother who is old aged. So I immediately said yes, than to go to Manila.

The Struggle is real😔

It is my dream to go to college because I want to be a teacher. So, I enrolled BEED (Bachelor in Elementary Education). I am an Octoberian. I started with 5 subjects only. The next year, my relative, the one that I taking care of died. The daughter continue to send me in college. Working student is not that easy because I served two families. There are times that I got late in some subjects, but luckily my professors were very understanding. I have to woke up early and do the household chores. After class, I immediately came home because I am afraid to be scolded. No strolling after class, my life as a working student is school and home only. There are some activities that I cannot attend to because they don't allow me. There is a time that I wanted to give up because I was tired by the situation. If I gave up, what will be my future is?

Success!!!!

I thought many times, and I thank God always guide me, so I continued my study in spite of the hardships I encountered. So to make it short, afte 4 and half years, I graduated college last 2009.

My relative helped me in my review, they send me to a review center and luckily I passed the Licensure Examination for teachers on September 2009.

Hired and blessed

I was hired as a regular public teacher last 2013. I helped my family, we transferred residence near the highway. I was able to give them shelter and other needs. I am very much thankful to my relatives for what I have achieved today, to my family for the moral support, to Lord God who always guide me to the right path.

I can say that Poverty is really not a hindrance to success! If we have a dream, we want success, we should never give up.

Thank you for reading. God bless!

2
$ 0.06
$ 0.05 from @Chelle18
$ 0.01 from @Ayaan258
Avatar for che_pogz
2 years ago

Comments

Your content is good ...but you make paragraph to make your writing more beautiful and some heading in bolding form.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello and welcome dere te🥰malingaw lage ka ,makatigum pajud😊🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago