New Modality of Learning

2 17
Avatar for charmingcherry08
3 years ago

This year, we are hit by a scary pandemic, COVID-19. This caused panic, anxiety, and fear across the globe. We didn’t know what to do first, while the government tells us what to do and provided the support we needed. We are told to stay at home. Classes are suspended. They restricted us on going outside. We were quarantined so the virus won’t infect us.

Until months passed, and we needed to go out. The country does not have enough money to provide our needs anymore. And the classes should start too. They did not want an academic freeze, so they decided to continue opening this year’s academic year. Students’ have nothing else to do. It was already been decided. Parents could not say no, too. They have to start classes with the new modality of learning, which is a combination of modular and online class. But right now, online class is being the new mode of learning by the students as well as self-study.

I am, as a student, is speaking in behalf of every student out there that find struggles and difficulty in this new mode of learning. I am speaking in behalf of those students who cannot pass their requirements, homework, and quizzes on time because the internet connection isn’t as stable as it has to be. I am speaking in behalf of the students out there who cannot self-study because they could not find a way on how to do so since they are used to face to face learning and discussion. I am speaking and sharing my own experience because I am a student too, and I have been struggling with this also.

At first, teachers and professors are being considerate. Talking to us about how would we work together and they promised not to pressure us and give us too much load of academic requirements since it was never been that easy self-studying. At first, we thought it would be easy too, because our professors told us so. At first, we thought we’d never be too stressed with this new mode of learning. But, it was just at first, the real deal began at the second and third week. There, we saw changes. From a 1 to 2 assignments given by our professors within a week, turned into 4 to 5. From what they’ve been telling us in the first week, “it’s okay if you cannot join online discussions, we can consider specially the internet connection”, turned into “class, we need to have an online discussion and attendance is a must”. What is happening? What is that?

In my experience, every day in a week, I could not get up and leave my laptop because I have to finish the requirements on time. I cannot leave my laptop because anytime there is an unexpected meeting and online discussion. And it tires my system. It pushes me to my limit. That I wanted to burst out the struggles I am feeling and tell our professors that our eyes and mind could at least take a rest. But I could not. I always see my Mom and my relatives staring at me while I am busy finishing up my requirements and heard them say “how many does it take for her to leave that spot?”, they meant the spot where I plug my laptop in and do my school works. Yes, it takes hours, hours in a day, and I don’t even know how many days in a week. This is hard. This new mode of learning is hard. I feel sorry for those who cannot afford buying a laptop even if they needed it so bad. I feel sorry for those who do not have a stable internet connection. And I feel sorry for the students like me who cannot self-study effectively.

I just hope everything’s back to normal as soon as possible. I hope we conquer this crisis, this pandemic, as soon as possible. Our government officials are tired. Front-liners are tired. Parents are tired. Workers are tired. And students are starting to lose control too. This has to end, we are all too exhausted now.

===============

I know that I may not have been active lately because my class has started and I could not really find the right time to check out in here but I hope everyone is doing good. I missed commenting, checking out articles, and giving my idea about it. I will try my best to cope up with everything and will soon have my schedule fixed so I could visit here even an hour a day, lol. I think that would do.

Ps: I just update this article to see if the EXC is back.

==============

2
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Ruffa
Sponsors of charmingcherry08
empty
empty
Avatar for charmingcherry08
3 years ago

Comments

We somehow got identical thoughts in mind today lol! My article today is about online class too!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. This is not a coincidence because most of the students are really struggling right now from this new mode of learning.

$ 0.00
3 years ago