My philosophical outreach project: "Stoic Action".

0 27
Avatar for cesarandresdp
2 years ago

Hello Read.cash friends, I hope you are doing well and having a great day. I've been busy with some personal and work issues, so I've been short of time to share something that might interest you.

But I'm back, and I want to talk to you this time about my philosophical outreach project that I called "Stoic Action". I am a student of Philosophy, I have not been able to finish my university career for a couple of reasons, one of them is that I do not have the monetary resources to continue my studies, since I study in a private university, and the second reason is that the office of the university that was located in my city was closed just before the pandemic due to economic and social problems in my country. So finishing my studies with only a couple of semesters to go has been a bit of an uphill struggle, but that is a topic for another time.

The logo of the project in black background that I made in the design platform Canva.

The truth is that facing this reality that I have just mentioned, plus another factor that joins it is that I have just turned 28 years old, my third decade is approaching and an economic and social stability is imminent, that I have raised the possibility of starting a personal project with a view to support not only my needs and tastes, but also as far as possible create a source of personal wealth generation in which I can also benefit others, that if, from what I like and I know how to do that is philosophy.

It sounds easy, but I think I'm in a big mess, since philosophy alone does not seem to have a practical or useful purpose in this contemporary society inherited from the criteria of the industrial society, but every day it becomes more and more imperative to turn our gaze towards the humanities and I know that philosophy is a very valuable tool that can help many people in many aspects of life.

Now, philosophy is a millenary compendium of knowledge that is at our disposal to rethink our present in terms of our future, whether in a personal or social sense, but, in contemporary times, inherited from the values and virtues of industrialization that has led to the modern parameters of neo-capitalism, which in itself is not harmful, but when it does not allow a self-critical attitude and closes to rethink itself as a system, has caused in people certain values of judgment that if not reviewed and rethought, many can be terribly harmful to mental and emotional health.

I believe that there has not been a time in history where there is so much talk about happiness and it is so unattainable under modern standards, we are in the paradox of well-being, or so I like to call this phenomenon that basically could be summarized as:

"The pursuit of happiness breeds unhappiness".

The project logo in white background that I made in the design platform Canva.com.

My project "Stoic Action" is nothing more than a proposal of philosophical diffusion that seeks to make people aware, to awaken them from social naivety, that not everything is rosy, and to erase the great, or rather, the enormous sense of guilt that dwells in society today. My main objective is to propose a healthy positivity and not like the unhealthy positivity badly called by many positivism. That the only thing it does is to increase the feeling of guilt.

To give an example, many companies prefer to pay motivational talks to their employees, than to raise their salaries. Talks that basically what they say is, give the best of you, smile and if you are bad it's your fault, and not because you can't make ends meet.

So my project of philosophical dissemination aims to be a breath of fresh air, a breath of oxygen, today more than ever in philosophy, critical thinking is indispensable to live in this world.

How do I plan to do it?

Actually, the first thing is to make a presence in centralized and decentralized social networks, for now, I only have accounts on Instagram and Twitter although I have only posted some things on IG, even in other networks I have not ventured.

As a second step, having the attention of some people in social networks, start an informative podcast and that people begin to familiarize themselves with the ideas that will be proposed.

The third step is to propose workshops, online classes on elements of philosophy.

The fourth is to publicize a method of philosophical accompaniment, without pretending to be a therapy or something like that, what is sought is personal advice, perhaps group and discuss not only the problems but also possible solutions.

Why the name "Stoic Action"?

Many names went through my mind at the time of thinking the project, I thought of philosophypop but it did not convince me at all, also, I thought of others but, actually, none seemed to me as appropriate as "Stoic Action", because it refers to Stoicism.

What is Stoicism?

It is a philosophical discipline that pursues the imperturbability of the soul, it is a contemporary language, it promotes the search for a state of tranquility, of no stress. It does not speak of happiness because it is somewhat delicate. Stoicism proposes the control of emotions from certain habits and daily exercises, with which we learn to focus on things we can control and not be affected by things that are beyond our control. This could be a somewhat minimalist summary, but it tries to capture the essence of Stoicism, as a philosophy of life that originated more than 2000 years ago in ancient Greece.

But later I will tell you more about what this philosophy of life itself consists of. For now, I wanted to tell you about my project, my company around the philosophy. A project that has stages, in the short, medium, and long term.

-In the short term: to make myself known through social networks, to begin to make a presence and get noticed.

-In the medium term: To accumulate a critical mass of people who can not only nurture the project, but who can also be spokespersons for it, and make this project known to others.

-Long term: That the project is sustainable, that it can not only generate income to live peacefully with the different areas that will compose it, but also and even more important that it can help many people, and that the philosophy can change the ways of thinking in this society.

For now I am focusing on outlining more and more the essential aspects of the project, such as what social network can be more visible, what kind of podcast to propose, and what classes or workshops I could give, and of course, think about the how to make money on this project. Because it would be making money doing what I like, philosophy and helping others.

So if you have any suggestions or criticisms do not hesitate to leave them in the comments, always with respect, your words will be well received.

Thanks for reading and visiting my blog.

See you next time! ;)

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for cesarandresdp
2 years ago

Comments