Project idea to fuel with BCH: "A Music Recording Studio room for Cesar"

6 27
Avatar for cesar.the.builder
2 years ago
Topics: Goals, BCH, Success, Journey, Motivation, ...

The last days i've gave you a full up to date on my latest project, that is something for someone else, i like to do things for others, but i haven't do something for myself, so i was thinking about it, and if i wanted to give a present to myself, that would be something i really need to improve my music editing skills, and help others in the same manner. I don't really care to be famous, and i'm not either a top tier musician (i just do it because i love it), but one of the things i'm really pasionate about is music, and i'd like to have a place to myself. Some people wants to have a game room, others some place to share with friends, i would love to have a place to practice without bothering with the noise to my family, and considering i'm having the skills to pull this off, why not doing it fueled by BCH?

My actual recording/"sound" room and setup. I know, it's sad. (it's the living room of my house)

I was looking some plans today for Recording rooms, and you don't really need a big room, i can do one as big as the bedroom i'm doing to my nephew, with extra steps, that i'll explain now:

1. Same space, but with a smaller room inside the room.

You have to separate ambiences, one will be a control room, and the other will be the sound room:

In the control room, you can record what happens in the sound room and edit the music produced by using tools such as software, monitors, and so on.

In the sound room, you play the instruments or sing using the periferals that are connected to the control room, such as microphones, direct boxes for electric music instruments, and so on.

2. Reinforced isolation.

Now we are talking in a more professional manner, because i will have to calculate how much sound cancellation will i use on walls and the ceiling, because if you use too much, or too low, it can be problems. In the case of too much sound absorption, you can have a lack of breathing air, and that can be an issue, because you's need to install extra things of the air, and that's expensive. and in case of too low sound absorption, the sounds will bounce and it can be a problem on the recording phase, causing problems such as echo on the mics, ruining the recording process.

What materials will i use?

Well, you might think you need extra expensive materials for that matter, but actually not. Most of the materials needed i can do them by myself, and it isn't expensive at all. Most people think you need the accoustic foam that you can purchase on sites like Amazon or aliexpress, but, it's expensive, it doesn't worth the money you are paying, and most of all, you can do it by yourself, and it will cost you almost nothing.

The material list is the same i used to the project "A bedroom for my nephew", but with some others (on a budget mode), such as:

  • Bass traps, that you can fabricate them by yourself if you follow the proper instructions.

  • Skyline diffusers, this is a wooden pannel with wood pieces of different sizes in it. You can do this with a mathematical equation to fit the room.

  • Carpets, lots of them.

  • Some wooden Bookshelves, with books on them. Yeah, books can absorb sounds

  • Thick Courtains.

  • Thermopanel sliding windows and sliding doors. This type of items has great sound absorption properties.

  • Double amount of Isolating Polyester, the same i used on the last project, but double.

  • Ventilation Grills, you need this, so you can have oxygen in the sound room.

There's other materials needed, but i need to do more research about it, because there's a lot of things i can do, but as i said before, i need to install the exact amount of sound absorption, and sometimes less is more.

The good thing about this, is that the place i think i can do it has already a rooftop, so i don't need to do a new one, i just have to assimilate it to the building process, so i can save a good amount of money.

So, what do you think? did you like my idea? It is exciting to me, to be able to create it with my hands, sounds really exciting. I can't wait to see it done, if you are agree with me, of course.

I estimate i can have it done before my birthday (considering i only work on my projects when i'm not working, so it will be a slow process, just as my latest project), so it would be a nice birthday present to me. Now, it can be done sooner depending of the lockdowns, if that goes back to the city i'm working on, i can spend more time to the projects.

I believe this can be done by a fair budget, and with the support of the BCH community, and of course, to purchase all the materials with BCH, it can be done easily. I can do the followups in noise and here, and if i can borrow to a friend a good camera, i can even record all the process as a timelapse to share with you. Sounds good, right?

Let me know in the comments if you think this is a good idea, and if you have suggestions, feel free to ask them, i'll be more than happy to read all of your comments.

See you in the next article.

4
$ 0.19
$ 0.10 from @Glez
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of cesar.the.builder
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for cesar.the.builder
2 years ago
Topics: Goals, BCH, Success, Journey, Motivation, ...

Comments

Its a great idea and a wonderful gift to yourself, mate

I didn't even know it took less to get a personal studio up and running

Right now, you are making me think of getting one for myself too, because I love music as well, and would love a place to sing without disturbing my neighbors

The sound absorption is cool, and thanks for explaining the difference

Do what you can do, and please, let it be ready before your Dday. Happy birthday in advance, mate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, and yeah, i was giving it some thought for a while now, and i think it's time to give something to myself, specially because of what my dad said to me: "you give too much for others, and never do things to yourself, you may start to think what do you need", so i'm following his advise :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwnn... Dad is really sweet to recognize your good acts, and encourage you to start loving yourself. He is right, you really have to do, and I am happy he support you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just follow his example, so i'm really proud of him :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you manage to create a sound room and enjoy it, very good idea! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, i really apreciate that <3 That idea thrills me, can't wait to start building it hahah :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago