Project fueled by BCH: "A bedroom for my nephew".

9 36
Avatar for cesar.the.builder
2 years ago
Topics: BCH, Journey, Goals, Motivation, Blog, ...

For some time ago, i did a lot of posts of followups of the project on my noise account (cesar.cantante), and i thought "why not merge them all in some articles?", so, in order to all of you get the context in this, i give you a summary of my project.

A couple of months ago, i was planning the project, but in that time, i couldn't afford it, because in that time i couldn't work because of the lockdowns, and the money i had i used it on more important things, like my mum's surgery and feeding my family. So i was thinking... Why not to do the project with BCH gathered by the community? If the community helps, i can pull this off. So i created that campaign in my noise account, first, i tried to do a crowdfund, but it didn't work, then, i used the likes of the noise platform, then, the project started.

By the way, i need to address this: All the work in this it was by myself, i didn't get any help, excepting my brother that helped me for like an hour at the first day.

At first, i used the money i had left from noise and my own money and bought the materials i needed to do the concrete base of the room, and i did it in two days

It took me a lot of time.

Concrete base with wood placed in the anchorage.

Then, when it was done, I had to wait a few days for the concrete to settle and hardens before i can do anything, throwing water to it. Water is important for the concrete, it prevents crackings in the base.

Remember, Water makes the concrete stronger.

When i considered it was ready to go, i started to place the wood through the anchorage. Anchorage are the irons that you place when you place the concrete, that helps to keep the building from moving out from the floor, and i started to do all the skeleton of the room.

First you place the walls, then you procede with the roof.

To keep the walls in place, because you need to keep it at proper level, you need to place "Flechas". Flechas are random pieces of wood that goes nailed to the ground and holds the structure in all the ways (left to right/front to back), keeping it straight. You can remove it when you have all the skelleton done.

It took me about a week to get this done, all because of the lockdowns, starting with hardware stores not opening and not doing delivery, all the costs of the materials went way too expensive (until this days), and all of that took me a lot of time.

Skeleton done.

There's a few things you might notice in this.

Did you notice there's some pieces of wood placed in diagonal?

Well, that is the anti seismic protocol required in my country, those 8 pieces of wood prevents the structure to fall. those are one of the most important part of the structure.

And the horizontal pieces of wood has two purposes:

*It keeps the Beams straight.

*It keeps the Beams sturdy.

After this was done, it started to go faster, the week later i did a lot of things, starting with the rooftop. but this will be in the second part of the project's article.

_________________________________________________

Did you like this project? i'm planning to give you all the project followups on the following days, at the current day, i'm about to finish the project, so i can everything in a couple of days. I need to say, i'm not a builder, i'm just learning how to do it, and i'm doing it with all my love, because this bedroom is for my nephew, it will be my birthday present for him.

Thank you all for reading this article, and let me know what do you think about this.

If you like this project, i can do more ambitious projects, funded with BCH by the community.

Sponsors of cesar.the.builder
empty
empty
empty

8
$ 0.97
$ 0.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Glez
$ 0.10 from @Kryptlook
+ 2
Sponsors of cesar.the.builder
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for cesar.the.builder
2 years ago
Topics: BCH, Journey, Goals, Motivation, Blog, ...

Comments

Thats cool dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, i try to do my best here <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thankful for your kind reply

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great work! Congratulations!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you <3, all of this is thanks to the community <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, it sounds very exciting! I hope you'll get a nice bedroom. Can't wait to see your update!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely, i'm doing the next update today :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice, never knew about woods positioned diagonally, I never saw one here in my place too. Thanks for sharing the purpose of it, if I'll build a house in the future, might follow your tactics.☺ But you're so cool for doing that room alone. It's kinda big and looks the structure is great too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for that, and yeah, that positioning is a must in seismic countries, it definitely helps preventing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago