Music i like to listen while i'm building.

3 23
Avatar for cesar.the.builder
2 years ago
Topics: Goals, BCH, Random, Music, Blog, ...

When you are working in any area, like office, cooking, attending patients, or in my case, building, there's pleanty of musical options to listen specifically for that job, and there's also some other songs that you can listen in all kinds of work, it will all depend on various things, like your mood, your co-workers taste in music (if you work with others), or even the type of work you are doing, in short words, it will fit depending of the situation.

For people who work in office with co-workers, generally there's a mix of music that everyone listens (unless you listen music way too extreme for the rest), for people who work in places that needs a lot of focus on what you are doing, you can listen some lo-fi music or even none, what fits you more. In my case, i work on a building company with a lot of co-workers, and luckily for me, they all listens my type of music (yeah, i introduced them to the rabbit hole what i call "my taste in music").

Now, why is this important? Productivity.

Its is known music can help to improve the chances of working well with others, and to create a sort of music-driven working rithm, that you might not notice, but it makes you work like if you are a piece in a serial factory, where all play their part in time to take the product to the next step.

This is very real, in fact, decades ago, workers usually sang songs that helped them to increase productivity, and it worked, increasing productivity to at least 25%. Actually in the serie The Big Bang Theory, they joke about this.

So it is important to know which music you need for your working environment. This time, i'll show you mine. As i said earlier, i work in construction, so there's a lot of music instances i hear while i'm at it.

1. Metal

Not just Heavy Metal, but almost the whole genre.

This genre is really good for a really specific type of work, and that is the strength related work, for example nailing, demolishing, heavy lifting, between others. The effects that this genre does to me, is the surge of energy, which makes sense because i'm using a lot of energy doing heavy work, so i need that thing that impulses me to do my best, and this genre of music does the trick for me.

Some of my favourite bands for this type of work are Meshuggah, Sepultura, Slayer, Carnal Forge, The Haunted, Death, Strapping Young Lad, Soilwork, Carcass, Children of Bodom and others.

2. Reggae and Electronic music

Yeah, Reggae is not just to enjoy the green glory, you can use Reggae (specially Dub) and Electronic music (specially house) to work in repetitive work, for example, in the project i used this type of music when i had to cut the squares of isolating polyester and install them in every square in the walls and ceiling. What makes those genres great for repetitive work, is that you won't notice the time passing by, so you won't notice either when your tasks are finished, this is great, because sometimes, repetitive work can be perceived as an eternal and a royal pain in the ass, so this helps a lot.

3. Folk accoustic music

Let me explain this one, this is kinda tricky for me. There's a lot of music we (Latin Americans) don't actually consider as "folk", because is really common here in latin america but for those who live on Europe or north America, i'll label it as Folk, ok? good.

This genre of music is really nice and versatile, because depending of the subgenre, i use them for several types of work, been Precision-related type of works where i use them the most, and there's a lot of styles, for example the Cumbia, Cueca, Chamamé, Boleros, Zambas, Polka, and others. And Each subgenre sounds different in every latin american country, and they sound great in every one of them.

I love this song, i usually sing it while i'm working here.

In case you like this song, i'll leave the lyrics in english for you.

"Stay in me 
Don't let this love to end, little one 
Stay in me 
I'm asking it to you for God. 
Stay in me 
I'm asking it to you with tears in the eyes
That this dream of loving each other don't die 
Like autumn leaves do 
That rolling they leave to the world 
From forgetfulness without light nor God 
Stay 


No, don't look out the autumn 
No, Your cannot leave with April sorrow
No, you can't leave me 
Like a no one's old portrait 
Stay in me
I'm asking it to you for God.  
Stay, stay, stay, 
Stay, stay in me
I'm asking it to you for God.  

No, you can't leave me 
Like a no one's old portrait 
Stay in me
I'm asking it to you for God.  
Stay, stay, stay, 
Stay, stay in me
I'm asking it to you for God."


Well, this is the end of the article, what do you think? Are you agree with the statements? Which music do you like to listen while you are working? Let me know in the comments, and i'll be happy to answer each and every one of your comments.

Hopefully, tomorrow i'll write the followup for the project "A bedroom for my Nephew", so you all will know how that is going, because that article will get us up to date. We are close to finish it, we only have to finish with the wall paste, to paint the walls and ceiling, to install the floating floor, install the details for the bedroom, and to build the furniture, so that's not much work left.

Thank you all for read my article, and i'll see you in the next one.

2
$ 6.59
$ 6.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Glez
$ 0.03 from @Review
Sponsors of cesar.the.builder
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for cesar.the.builder
2 years ago
Topics: Goals, BCH, Random, Music, Blog, ...

Comments

I think when ever we in office then our mood gone to hell so in this case soft song gonna be better but i am not sure yet due to less experience!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, that will depend on how many people are in your workplace, i'm sure you can find a radio or podcast which all of you can agree in listening, that also helps to improve coexistence between all your co-workers and you :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true this need and happened sometime!

$ 0.00
2 years ago