A day to discover...

0 34
Avatar for cassava
3 years ago

There are days when we just discover something new. Or that we thought we knew something but not really.

I was fooled a while ago. They fooled me. Or I was just really ignorant. I think I need to study or research harder.

On the other hand, I thought I knew something very well but it turns out I needed to have some review. Though it's normal to be needing review every now and then.

Are there animals with more than one heart?

We went to our relatives this morning. It was customary for us in our culture that when the beam of the foundation of the house is slabbed, we will butcher a live animal and eat during lunch.

We were waiting for our lunch. First served were 'pulutan' so that we won't be very hungry by the time lunch is served. I am fond of pulutan. So my sisters-in-law were saying, give us not the fifth heart of the pig.

"What? Fifth heart?"

"Yes! Didn't you know that the pigs have 5 hearts!"

I was quizzing them but then they look very serious.

"Really?"

I put on a blank face although it was very obvious that they will burst out laughing anytime.

Truth or not I still searched for my phone and looked it up.

My in-laws persisted. "Why don't you believe us?"

"You know, with your reputation, I wouldn't really believe you. Even if this were a trivial matter."

They began sniggering but I still continued my game.

Of course, I found the truth out.

Then they defended themselves.

"Ah, we just had an excess one. But really, the pig's heart has four chambers."

At least I did not believe immediately. But seriously, I found out that there are creatures with more than one heart. Example is the octopus who has more than one heart.

Well, I was not offended by their joke. I just defended myself that since I was really not knowledgeable about such a thing of having more than one heart, so it would be reasonable to take advantage of the internet. It helped that I was able to discover something new.

Conventions and notations should be studied well.

By the time we finished lunch, it was already afternoon. My mobile phone that went dead after my child played with it has been charging for few hours. Therefore I could already remove it from the plug.

Upon opening the phone I received a message from the office where I'm working that I should open my email. To cut the story short, we came home then I checked my email. I replied and complied to their request from the office.

At least I had a reason to escape from the gathering a while ago so I'm back to my desk or work area.

Now I resumed what I was doing the previous day. I was finishing the answer key for the last module for midterms of Basic Calculus.

Our topic is 'Continuity of Functions'. Though the concept is simple, I still have problems with conventions and notations. I discovered that I still have not studied well this part of the subject.

There really is no problem with my understanding but I was left questioning my knowledge all the same. I reflected then realized that understandably, we have to be very definitive with our lesson so that we will not mistake one thing for another.

Oh yes, we could do just fine and even excitedly with determining derivatives and integrals but when it came to the critical part, we always had doubts with our knowledge. So no doubt that is indeed a critical part.

This is then a new call for me to really study my field of specialization and that I shouldn't just take things lightly.

I researched on few things. I took down notes and glad that I was able to realize my mistake. I then discussed something with my department head and we agreed to do better from now on.

This is also the reason why it is good for a teacher to always prepare lessons beforehand. Research, read a lot of things on the topic at hand and provide suggestions and inspirations to the students.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for cassava
3 years ago

Comments