Learning and enjoying new things every day. 💕

6 54
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago

Greetings my dear creative friends from Read.cash, I'm here again to show you my new project; it turns out that for some time now I've had the idea of learning how to make fabric dolls, I think it's a very simple technique and at the same time very productive because if I learn how to make them I could set up my own business for the upcoming Christmas season when all parents always want to give our children something special.

I know that this little doll is very simple, but it helped me to realise that I can do it and that I like the technique. They say that you have to start somewhere and now what I have to do is to enrol in courses or workshops where I can learn and perfect the technique. Unfortunately here where I live there are people who are experts in the field but they have not yet started to give classes for fear of the pandemic.

But never mind, in the meantime I want to keep trying and here I present my first baby doll.

Step by step and materials I used:

- This is the original pattern, what I did was to take it to a larger scale, I copied, traced the patterns and cut.

- For this, I used leather fleece blanket fabrics, green and you see, also stuffing, needle and thread.

- We will also need black buttons for the eyes, organza ribbon and wool or thread for the hair in the colour of your choice.

  First I made the doll's face

  • - The first thing I did was to make the face, this step I took it easy as I consider that it is what attracts the most in a doll, for me it must be very pretty, sweet and inspire tenderness. For that I cut two circles in polar fleece and sewed them by hand with scallop stitch, I could also do it with machine sewing but I wanted to try it this way to show that you don't need a machine to do this kind of things. Then I made an opening in the back and turned it right side out, stuffed it and closed it again.

- With a long doll needle and skin-coloured thread I made some stitches and pressed hard to make a sort of depth where the nose and eyes are going to go.

- With a small circle with a diameter of 2 cm we make the nose; the mouth is made with several stitches at a certain distance from one side to the other with pink or fuchsia thread.

The body

  • After finishing the face of the doll and seeing that everything was as I wanted, I continued with the other pieces. I made the sleeves very long and then I folded one of the ends inwards where the hand will go.

  • I did the same with the trousers, I made them very wide and long as you can see in the image and not in the shape of a point as in the original pattern. Each of these pieces are cut according to the pattern, so if you are interested in making it like mine you just have to enlarge the images as far as you want.

  • We fill in the body and join the body with the head, hands and feet.

  • There are some imperfections that need to be covered, such as the neck, so we take a piece of fabric or lace that matches and place it around the neck with safety stitches or silicone.

  • o Another important point is the decoration, you can make ribbons, hair with wool, or put a hat and a little bit of hair in front.

  • All the patterns are there, now it's up to you to get creative with the project; on the internet you can find lots of models and get more ideas from there.

I hope you liked my project today, I really believe that you should never get tired of learning, life is a constant learning process and you are your own animator, so if you can learn something new today, enjoy it.



https://www.deepl.com/translator

Sponsors of carolinacardoza
empty
empty

13
$ 4.92
$ 4.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 1
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago

Comments

Hello carolinacardoza. You have a lot of creativity, you are motivated, and I love the idea you have of generating income with what you like to do. I wish you success in your venture. Keep it up, you can do it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! It's awesome maam. They are so cute.. you're such a skillful and artistic..🥰❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are so cute 🥰🥰 i hope i can make one too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your so creative Miss Carolina , I love how cute your dolls 👍😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are such a creative person dear! Your work is great! You are really passionate about crafting something new. I am sure that if you will make dolls for Christmas surely it will make money and a lot of children will be happy because they love dolls. As much as like to do this but I really lack creativity and I am not really used to do this stuff.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha did you say this is a simple one? 🤣🤣😂 You paid attention to details and this is creativity at work. I am always excited to see your work because it is always thorough. ❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago