Colonia Tovar a German paradise in Venezuela

5 43
Avatar for carolinacardoza
3 years ago

Hello my dear traveler friends, today I am very excited because I am going to tell you about a trip we made a few days ago with my family and friends. Without thinking twice we planned a trip to La Colonia Tovar, a wonderful town located in the state of Aragua, just an hour away from Caracas.

La Colonia Tovar is a town founded in 1843 by a group of German immigrants who arrived here thanks to the invitation of the geographers Agustin Codazzi and Alexander von Humboldt who served as liaison between the two governments.

Calle principal

Colonia Tovar is very famous, they have tried to maintain their culture, their roots, and you can see that at first sight from the moment you enter and see their infrastructure. Thanks to its mild climate they have managed to recreate agriculture obtaining excellent products such as peaches, strawberries, beets, cauliflower, carrots, cabbage, chard, broccoli, lettuce, spring onions and potatoes.

Tourism is one of the main sources of income of the population, daily its streets are walked by hundreds of people who enjoy eating the delicious desserts such as strawberries with cream or caramelized apples. All of us who go to this town can not return empty-handed, no! In particular, I bring a little bit of everything.

Avocados, peaches, flowers and plants are my rave. Thank God I have a spoiled husband who buys me what I like.

I am a nature lover, I love to see these landscapes, contemplate them and take pictures to keep the memory of what we lived.

The San Martin de Tours church in the center of town is very beautiful and shows the traditional German architecture and it is said that the image of the patron saint of this church was brought by the first settlers in 1843. Just in front of it there is a square where people take many pictures and take the opportunity to rest for a while thanks to the benches that are around. It is a very quiet and well-kept square.

While some people were resting I took a tour and drank some peach craft beers that were very tasty and very cold.

The colony also offers many excursion services, for a small fee you ride in a very comfortable rustic car to take you through the different agricultural fields where they explain many things that leave you amazed, you can also visit the brewery and the workshop of artisans in stained glass where you can buy lots of beauties.

It had already been about 3 hours, so we went to eat in another town called El Junquito, there we were able to park in a large field where people picnic, ride horses and buy fried pork "too tasty".

I can only tell you that this has been the best gift I have been given in a long time, above all it has been a blessing because after being locked up at home for a year because of the pandemic, it was very satisfying to go out and breathe fresh air, feel the cold on my face, get together with my friends to laugh and enjoy.

After lunch, we returned to our homes, I can only tell you that I want to come back, I want to repeat the experience, I love Colonia Tovar and if someday you come to visit us here in Venezuela do not miss this tour, I assure you that you will not regret it.

Images taken with my Kronos-net cellular camera.

8
$ 0.67
$ 0.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @lanzjoseg
Avatar for carolinacardoza
3 years ago

Comments

Nice post

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What nice pictures! The vegetables look so fresh! I have never been to South America, but I would love to go if I get a chance! I am wondering if they accept Bitcoin Cash or Dash in Venezuela. I just watched a documentary on how Dash communities in Venezuela are growing. Well, I am just curious! Thank you for sharing the story!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

¡Hermoso pueblo de mi Estado Aragua!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is very interesting to visit the rural areas of Colonia Tovar, or rather, the municipality of Tovar. In that area I rendered my professional services to the MARNR (Ministry of the Environment) for 2 years! I'm glad you enjoyed that little piece of my state of Aragua.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Es muy interesante recorrer los parajes rurales de la Colonia Tovar, mejor dicho, del municipio Tovar. En esa zona preste mis servicios profesionales al MARNR (Ministerio del Ambiente) durante 2 años!! Me alegra hayas disfrutado de ese pedacito de mi estado Aragua.

$ 0.00
3 years ago