A cushion dedicated to the Mexican artist Frida Kahlo.

9 26
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago

Has it ever happened to you that you meet a famous person and they leave such a big mark that they mark you for the rest of your life?

I identify a lot with Frida, not only as a woman, wife, artist, but also because she suffered from an illness in her body that caused her a lot of pain; something similar happens to me, from the moment I get up until I go to bed everything hurts, but even so, I don't stop doing what I like, I don't stop being happy and laughing. She fought hard against this illness and overcame all the adversities that life imposed on her. That is why, above all, the life of the Mexican artist Frida Kahlo invites me to value the resources we have over those we have lost.

mundoprimaria

"Why do I want feet if I have wings to fly" Frida Kahlo.

Frida was a great artist and will never be forgotten, she left a great legacy and all Mexicans should feel proud to be fellow countrymen of this wonderful woman.

Today I present a beautiful cushion to pay homage to Frida, and what I want to highlight the most are the beautiful flowers that always adorned her head, I just hope you like it.

The procedure is very simple and doesn't take a lot of materials.

First I cut all the patterns that I attached in the source, and I cut two 40 cm squares for the cushion. For the cushion we can choose a cotton fabric that stands out.

The stitching is also important, because as it is a cushion you never know which hands are going to take it, it is better to secure it with scalloped stitch, going all the way around the edge of each pattern.

This is how I joined all the pieces together, with the help of the pins I was sewing so that the stitching wouldn't move.

With the smaller pieces such as the nose, eyes and tendrils, I first glued them with silicone, and then I used the scalloped stitch.

To finish

To finish the cushion, I crocheted the flowers and glued them with a little bit of silicone and fastened them with thread and needle so that they wouldn't come off. Then with the other fabric of the cushion I sewed the fabrics right sides together and sewed all around, leaving an opening to insert the stuffing of the cushion. I did it by machine but if you want you can do it by hand with the same scalloped stitch, then we stuffed and closed with hidden stitching; finally we painted a little bit the cheeks with cold paint skin colour.

My crochet flower tutorial video

I want to finish this post, with this little video of a song that Frida liked to sing, it's called "la bruja", I really liked the scene in the movie where the actress Salma Hayek plays Frida and she sings it with a lot of passion, besides that it's very funny to see her husband, Diego Rivera always next to her.

Frida Kahlo, Song "La Bruja" (The Witch)

Frida Kalho's thoughts

"I used to think I was the strangest person in the world, but then I thought, there are so many people like that in the world, there must be someone like me, who feels bizarre and damaged in the same way I feel. I imagine her, and I imagine she must be out there thinking about me too. Well, I hope that if you're out there and you read this you know that, yes, it's true, I'm here, I'm as strange as you are.

I want to confess that I really enjoyed doing this work, now I just have to say goodbye, but first I want to ask you to never allow adversity to distort what we really think and feel.


Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

https://www.craftologia.com/tips/manualidades/manualidades-faciles/como-hacer-un-cojin-de-frida-khalo

Sponsors of carolinacardoza
empty
empty

8
$ 4.91
$ 4.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago

Comments

You definitely have to be very creative to do what you do. Congratulations. Best regards.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to know about this woman which i was unaware of. Nice read

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, that's cool! Both the homage and the story behind it. It's great that you can identify yourself with her, with all the struggles and yet she still shines so brightly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very nice one! I also admire the artist and the woman she was.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I tell you I've seen Salma Hayeck's film about a thousand times, I love it. What a pity the accident she had when she was young, if that hadn't happened the story would have been different.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very beautiful. Weldone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much, I really made it with a lot of love and now it has a special place in my room.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's too cute 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi Jane, yes I too am delighted with the result, I especially focused on the crocheted roses to make them stand out with the colour.

$ 0.00
2 years ago