Succulent ID: Graptosedum bronze

2 20
Avatar for cactaceasml
3 years ago
Topics: Nature, Photography

Today I want to share with you this beautiful succulent in my collection. I began my hobby of collecting cactus around 2-3 years ago now, and at the beginning I was purely exclusive devoted to collecting only cactus, not succulents in general. I felt attracted to the spikes and the "don't touch me" look. But slowly I grew to like a bit more a more wide range of succulents in general, having now in my personal collection a Stapelia grandiflora, a Sedum difusum, a Crassula muscosa, some Haworthias, Huernias and Agaves. I'll make sure to share every one of them with you, but the star of this post, as the title says, is the Graptosedum bronze:

It is currently placed in the same pot I got it, along with another succulent (I don't have it correctly IDed for the time being...). In the following days I'll be transpotting it into a new pot of her own, as it is time for it to be placed properly in a more spacious place where she can keep on growing. Of course that the material chosen for the pot is terracota. Not only they give the collection a nice touch, but in fact it is a material that plants tend to like very much as it allows the roots to "breathe" a little through the pores of the pot, something that doesn't happen on plastic or metal ones.

Their cares are not so hard to keep up with. In fact, the less I focus on "caring", the more beautiful it gets. It is placed in a spot where it receives direct sunlight in the morning for about 2hours or so, and then just indirect light. If I were to place it on a more sunny place, the leaves start turning red (a stress sign, which isn't harmful to the plant but still, stress). Right now where it is seems just fine, so when I repot it I'll make sure to place it back where it is.

I water it amongst my other cactus, 2 o 3 times a week now (it's summer season) depending on how hot the climate gets and whether there are rains coming or not (I check the calendar for it almost every day, talk about getting old huh).

I'll leave you guys with another beautiful shot from this amazing and mesmerizing plant. Hope you like it and see you next time! Bye!

3
$ 0.20
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of cactaceasml
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for cactaceasml
3 years ago
Topics: Nature, Photography

Comments

I always had a cactus in the house. But I'm not a fan. Now I see there are cacti and no thorns ... or so it seems to me. I didn’t even know a cactus blooms once a year

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi! What you see in the pictures is not a cactus but a succulent. Here's the thing: every cactus is a succulent but not all succulent are cactus :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago