Not Everything Is About Cactus: Pt1

2 16
Avatar for cactaceasml
3 years ago
Topics: Life

Since day one I have only posted about cactus and stuff related with them. While I still aim to keep this page mostly about these magnificent plants, I thought that it would also be cool to write about some other stuff I like.

So I came up with this idea for a “section” which I named in the title. The point is to share some other activities and see what you all have to say about it haha.

Anyways, I remember (when I was a couple of years younger) thinking “How sad and boring it is that grown up people wake up early on Sunday mornings and do house-related stuff, go for a ride, go take a walk, make a short trip… Old people stuff”.

I used to think that I wouldn’t be like that, that I won’t become so boring and dull. That feelings/thoughts now seems like it a lifetime ago. What is kinda weird is that I never was the “full blazing party hard” type of person. I enjoyed going out to clubs but never to the extend of loving it. Seemed fun and I had nice moments while doing so, but that was it.

A wise friend told me about that time, when I shared that thought of not wanting to become “old” and do silly things on Sundays: “When you grow up you find joy in things you didn’t before, it does not feel boring or sad for the people who do it… They even reject the idea of going to clubs…”. When he said that I thought “Nah… that won’t be me”.

But what word did I start the last paragraph with? Exactly. He was absolutely right. Slowly and almost unadvised, I stopped going out. Sometimes because I wanted to save money, other times because I had work to finish, or I preferred going out for dinner… And up to this point when I don’t even think of going to clubs.

Most of my friends still do. Whit this pandemic the events all got suspended so obviously this year wasn’t a regular one, but slowly things start reopening and if I hadn’t had any attraction for parties before 2020, now you can say they are definitely out of my plans.

And I think about what my friend told me “you find joy in things you didn’t before”. It couldn’t be any more accurate. Hell, I even write about cactus!! That’s like a certificate of being old. But I truly enjoy collecting and growing them.

Another thing I enjoy is reading. When I was younger I used to read very little. In my free time I mostly played PlayStation (another thing I used to think I would do up until I was very old age, and now my PS is just collecting dust on the shelf). Nowadays I love sitting in my backyard with a cup of coffee, a book and sunlight. You could say it “refreshes” me. I read about various themes. Obviously, I have some cactus books in my collection, but I also like reading novels or technical books (right now I’m reading one about cryptocurrency).

I’ve read all the Sherlock Holmes stories, both long and short ones. Read all Game of Thrones books, Lord of the Ring, Harry Potter, Maze Runner, among some other mixed titles. When I finish the one I’m reading now, I’ll start with “Skin in the Game” of Nicholas Taleb (Antifragile was a life-changing book). I think that being a “book critic” is way far from my goals or capacities, but I think it can be nice writing here about some books I read. Perhaps it can also be a good way to find recommendations on what books to read next. That is if any of the people reading these lines feels related and share their opinions and experiences.

Well I’ll just round it up here, don’t wanna bore to death any possible reader haha. I’ll leave you guys with a photo that gives me tranquility and peace: pages of a book in the sun with my fierce baby on the back.

Have a great day!

PS: I started another blog where I’m posting nutrition related content (I’m a professional nutritionist). So if you are interested in that stuff you might as well go check it out: Nutricionml

2
$ 2.10
$ 2.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of cactaceasml
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for cactaceasml
3 years ago
Topics: Life

Comments

Well done, this post is really great. We have to come to terms with the team as the years go by ... we won't count them. Just because we don't go to clubs doesn't mean we're old ... a man is young if he feels that way, if he's cheerful, agodines are just a number.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree 100% (now, years ago would've said you'r mad lol)

$ 0.00
3 years ago