The Bible Says Gambling Is A Sin!!! Or Does It???

1 26
Avatar for buckeyebkd
2 years ago
Sponsors of buckeyebkd
empty
empty
empty

The Bible says gambling is a sin!!! Here's another example of something I was taught growing up in church that I've found out isn't correct. So if you put money down on anything no matter how big or small trying to win something in return you're gambling and gambling is a sin. All throughout my childhood I wasn't allowed to participate in certain "normal" activities like other kids. I wasn't allowed to play the claw crane machines at the arcade where you try to win stuffed animals because it was gambling and gambling is a sin. I wasn't allowed to buy raffle tickets for school fundraisers because it was gambling and gambling is a sin. I wasn't allowed to play the carnival games at amusement parks because it was gambling and gambling is a sin. Seriously this is what I was taught and I know for a fact this is still being taught in many churches today. The problem is it's not Bible. Now you might be one of these people who believe that gambling is a sin but the truth is it's not. I often challenge people who want to debate on this to give me scriptures saying gambling is a sin. I still haven't received any scriptures from anyone because they do not exist. 

You might ask me "why do people think gambling is a sin?" and I would say "well I'm glad you asked". 😀 People wrongly think gambling is a sin because gambling can lead to a sinful lifestyle.Some people will even say it leads to all 7 of the Deadly Sins (pride, greed, lust, envy, gluttony, wrath, and sloth). I don't know how much stock I would put into that but I could see gambling leading to 3 or 4 of the 7 Deadly Sins. However you want to look at it there definitely are a host of sins that can accompany gambling. The sins that are associated with gambling that I want to focus on today are addiction, greed, envy, and coveting. Everyone of these sins are considered a form of idolatry.

Merriam-Webster's dictionary defines idolatry as 1 : the worship of a physical object as a god. 2 : immoderate attachment or devotion to something.

A gambling addiction is a progressive addiction that can have many negative psychological, physical, and social repercussions. It is classed as an impulse-control disorder. It is also harmful to psychological and physical health. People who live with this addiction may experience depression, migraines, distress, intestinal disorders, and other anxiety-related problems. As with other addictions, the consequences of gambling can lead to feelings of despondency and helplessness. In some cases, this can lead to attempts at suicide.

Greed is defined as a selfish and excessive desire for more of something than is needed. Greed for money or the love of money is another sin associated with gambling. I wrote a article in this subject not long ago and I shared the link to it below.

https://read.cash/@buckeyebkd/the-bible-says-money-is-the-root-of-all-evil-or-does-it-6f163f9f

Envy and coveting are very similar. Envy is when you like what someone else has and you want them to show you how to get it too. I want what you have and I deserve it just as much as what you do. When you covet something someone else has you go even further than envy. Coveting means that not only do I want what  you have but I am more worthy of it than you. I deserve what you have and you don't deserve what you have.

These are just a few of the sins that can be associated with gambling. Just because these sins can accompany gambling doesn't mean 100% that the person gambling will commit these sins. The act of gambling is not a sin and if done correctly you can gamble without sinning. I personally choose not to gambling because I've had problems with it in my past and it would be almost impossible for me to gamble without sinning.

I want to end by giving honor where honor is due. Thank you Abba Father for keeping your hand upon me and my life. Thank you Jesus for being my Lord and Savior and for dying on the cross so that I could have eternal life. Thank you Holy Spirit for giving me guidance, discipline, comfort, and for being so much more to me than just a tongue talker.

Resources

  1. https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/15929

  2. https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary

6
$ 0.11
$ 0.05 from @MarielB22
$ 0.05 from @cxrxlxrts
$ 0.01 from @kingofreview
Sponsors of buckeyebkd
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for buckeyebkd
2 years ago

Comments

Much better grammar! I would point out this one verse: "Those who want to get rich fall into temptation and a trap and into many foolish and harmful desires that plunge people into ruin and destruction" (1 Timothy 6:9). However, I do agree that simple raffles and arcade games are not sinful as long as one doesn't continue to pump money/coins into a losing proposition.

$ 0.00
2 years ago