Christians: Delayed Obedience Is Still Disobedience

3 20
Avatar for buckeyebkd
2 years ago
Sponsors of buckeyebkd
empty
empty
empty

Sunday night I heard something that's really stuck with me. "Delayed obedience is still disobedience." To quote my little sister "Ouch, Amen". I never really thought about it like that but it's very true. The last couple of months I've felt like I've been a million miles away from God. Spiritually I've felt alone, left behind, and abandoned. Even though I know that God has promised to never leave me or forsaken me I just couldn't shake these feelings. A lot of times when God speaks something to me I'm like a rebellious child and I'll fight, kick, scream, and cry the whole time I'm doing what He tells me to do. I really hate to admit it but sometimes I won't listen to what He's telling me because it's not what I want. I pray for God to help me grow stronger and closer to Him but then I delay my obedience or just all together ignore Him. I don't know what's worse my disobedience or not realizing how disobedient that I've been. The last few weeks I've felt like I'm on a upswing and heading in the right direction. You know it's a wonderful thing to feel God's presence and the anointing of the Holy Ghost in the room but it's a whole different level to feel God's presence and the anointing of the Holy Ghost inside of you. I'm coming to a better understanding of the importance of being obedient, reading the Word, praying, and fasting. I've heard people talk about these things my whole life but until now I've never truly understood.

I want to end by giving honor where honor is due. Thank you Abba Father for keeping your hand upon me and my life. Thank you Jesus for being my Lord and Savior and for dying on the cross so that I could have eternal life. Thank you Holy Spirit for giving me guidance, discipline, comfort, and for being so much more to me than just a tongue talker.

Resources

  1. https://www.focusonthefamily.com/faith/what-christ-did-for-us/

3
$ 0.06
$ 0.06 from @heartbeat1515
Sponsors of buckeyebkd
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for buckeyebkd
2 years ago

Comments

Have you done your introduction article and submit it to the community 'Introduce yourself'?

Delayed obedience. This is the first time I heard about this phrase too. I never thought about it that way too. Being far away from God, I think I have been very far away longer than you if it includes going to church. In some way, I still feel him inside my heart and I feel enough. This will be a long story. Perhaps I will write about it again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God promised us that he will never leave us or forsake us. God doesn't leave us we leave him. When we accept Jesus Christ as are Lord and Savior we are grafted into the kingdom. This basically means we are adopted into God's family so we have legal rights to the inheritance of the kingdom just like the Jewish people (God's chosen ones) and even Jesus himself. I don't want to get into it to much rn because I'm planning on writing an article about it really soon. My brother is a pastor and he has a saying "sitting in a garage doesn't make you a car just like sitting in a church don't make you a Christian". First and foremost its about repentance and being covered by the blood of Jesus Christ. Then it's all about a relationship with God. I did do an introduction but I wasn't familiar with the site yet and posted it outside of a community. I do plan on writing another and posting it asap.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree with your brother too. His words can be turned into picture quotes. It is something that I like to do as self-comforting. Some say that if you want to talk to God you should kneel down and pray but I feel closer when I sing worship songs or write a song myself. I have written one song and that is my way of praying. Some will show off that they are praying but then I prefer to be alone when I pray.

Keep on writing like this and make sure to make it general. Try avoiding giving Christian teaching, just to respect the platform original rules.

$ 0.00
2 years ago