Public Experiment Free Bitcoin?

13 67
Avatar for bregecko
4 years ago

So I am testing out a website I found that is advertising 'free' bitcoin.

Actually, you're supposed to do a small task that only takes 5 minutes. They limit you to only one a day. I figured since it doesn't cost anything I would give it a try and my first time, my task was to post a link to their website on either a personality owned site or a public forum or blog.

Then I got the idea to share my experiment. This way I am doing what they asked me to do, plus I get to inform others. When it's over, I will update this article with the results....

So here goes

It's called ''Free Bitcoin'' found here--

http://www.freebiebitcoin.com

Well I think I goofed a little.... You're supposed to receive bitcoin via a coinbase wallet, but I just gave them my bitcoin.com wallet address. They lack a 'contact' link on the site, which I thought was suspicious. But then I haven't given them any way to scam me. Plus the task they gave me seems reasonable. So I think I will have to wait till tomorrow and try again.... Again, I'll update this article with my results.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Well we figured out that it's almost definitely a scam. If you'll read the comments below you'll understand. Thanks to 'hashcash' for explaining your experience.

7
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @p0oker
Sponsors of bregecko
empty
empty
empty

Comments

There is no harm in trying out the website, but I can tell you is a scam. After completing the task you will not get paid. I had tried it.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I wonder what their angle is.... There's no ads, all they asked for was email and a receiving bitcoin coinbase address. What are they gaining from scamming people? All they asked was to advertise their website.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

if something is too good to be true then it surely is. also when you deal with this kind of offers ( get for free or for a simple task) then keep in mind they want your precious time to do tasks for them and you get nothing in return (scam). take care everyone

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I was about 90% sure it was a scam, but it didn't take much of my time. And now whenever someone looks up weather or not it's a scam- hopefully they'll find this article ;)

$ 0.00
4 years ago

haha, yeah hopefully. we have to try and stop them from scamming more people. hopefully it will help even a little :)

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I have tried dozens of websites and apps that claim to give away bitcoin either for free or for a small task as you said, and I found none of that is really worth it. I mean someone could spend hours even days to reach $0.10 worth of BTC.

Best,

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Did you receive a payout with this site?

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I did it, and they didn't give me my Bitcoin. I may have messed up though.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

No, it's a scam. I updated the article....

$ 0.00
4 years ago

It seemed too good to be true.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Hi, I tried this link and followed the procedure. I am pretty sure now that this is a scam and their angle is a bit hidden. They are actually trying to get people to signup on Coinbase using their reference link (when you create a wallet, you use their reference link).

Of course not people will use this wallet in future but if they ever do buy some crypto (in excess of $100) using this wallet then these guys would get ten dollars for each user they brought in to sign up.

(here is the link for my original post that I created for the process: https://hive.blog/bitcoin/@hashcash/free-bitcoin)

If you like my research, then please upvote or follow :-)

$ 0.10
4 years ago

Thanks so much for your analysis! I think you're right.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

It's always good to come across new things. Good or bad - keeps life interesting :-)

$ 0.00
4 years ago