Tracking Your Bitcoin Cash Using A Spreadsheet

37 145
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: BCH, Savings

I've been dealing with money for so many years already. I've never dreamed of becoming a treasurer, but for some reason, they (classmate/colleagues) always chose me to handle this position. Not really sure why. Perhaps it has something to do with my situation, and they thought their investment was safe with me as I won't be able to run away with their hard-earned money. LOL.

With those experiences that I had in the past, from grade school days up to the present, I learned the importance of tracking every cent that's going in and out of my hand. Plus, it saves you from a severe headache at the end of whatever you're dealing with.

Now that I'm in the crypto space, I am so glad I can use my treasurer/auditor skills because it helps me monitor everything. For me, it's not enough that you save money; you also need to track them. Tracking my BCH motivates me even more than just putting my earnings in their respective wallets.

Here are the three ways to track your savings:

  • Write them down in a notebook. Make sure you update your notebook every time you deposit or withdraw anything. This is to make sure that everything is accurate. In my case, every cent matters, so whether I send $0.01 to another wallet, I always see to it that they are properly recorded.

  • Use an app or a notepad. I'm sure there are useful apps you can download right now that will motivate you to monitor your savings. This one here had been my friend for a couple of months since I started read.cash. I used a notepad and wrote down everything. Eventually, I shifted to my favorite tracking method, and that's the use of a spreadsheet.

  • Using Google spreadsheet. This one is my super-duper favorite of all time. I love the fact that everything is organized. All you need is to create your own sheet, add labels, apply some formulas, and done! This is the easiest, too, among the first two as you don't need to calculate them one by one, especially if you have more than two wallets.

    But just because you added some formulas doesn't mean you won't be doing some manual inputs. Of course, you have to input your transactions every time you have one and the current price you have in your wallet. If only there's a way I could link every wallet I have to my spreadsheet, I would have done it before. But if there is, and you know how, please let me know in the comment box. I would love to learn about it and try it myself.

What labels to put?

I prefer to use a simple spreadsheet and only use what matters most. Here are the labels that I used in my spreadsheet:

  • Date

  • Amount

  • Description

  • Total

But this one here is for my per wallet tab. As mentioned before, I have 6-7 wallets. Each wallet has its own tab, which means I have 6 tabs, plus 1 tab for the SUMMARY.

=SUM (B2:B)

For the per wallet tabs, the formula is simple. I just used the "SUM FUNCTION." This is to add everything from B2 to infinite. Imagine if you have hundreds of transactions here, then you know how handy it is to use a spreadsheet over the traditional way of tracking your savings.

Just repeat this to your other wallets until you reach the SUMMARY tab, where a few formulas and conditions need to apply.

So in this spreadsheet, there are 7 sample wallets. I'm going to share with you the formulas, and it's up to you whether you want to use them or not. I know the formulas I am using are too basic, but we all know that not everyone knows about Google sheets. I'll share with you the formulas one by one.

CAPITAL

Just write = , click the Wallet1 tab, and then click the total amount (not the label).

Or, =wallet1!D2

So once you start inputting your transactions, it will automatically add, and the total for the wallet will appear in the SUMMARY tab. Just keep reading, and I will give you more samples as we go along.

Click B3, and then you will see the blue box thingy, then drag it down until your last wallet.

CURRENT

No formula is needed here because you will be inputting the current amount you have in your wallet. So if you want to monitor your PNL, check your wallets (Bitcoin.com, NEXO, etc.), then input them here one by one.

PNL

This time, we are going to use the IF FUNCTION. So the formula would be,

=if (B3<C3, C3-B3, C3-B3)

It means, IF your CAPITAL (B3) is less than your CURRENT (C3), then CURRENT is subtracted by your CAPITAL, else CURRENT is subtracted by your CAPITAL. Check the sample below:

Don't forget to click C3 and then drag it until the last wallet you have.

PERCENTAGE

The formula would be,

=(C3-B3)/B3

CAPITAL - CURRENT / CURRENT

TOTAL

You will need the SUM FUNCTION AGAIN FOR EACH TOTAL.

  • CAPITAL =sum(B3:B9)

  • CURRENT =sum(C3:C9)

  • PNL =sum(D3:D9)

  • =sum(E3:E9)

Once done with the formulas, let's move on to the CONDITIONAL FORMATTING.

PNL

For red or loss, here's the formula:

=if(B3 < C3, C3-B3, C3-B3)

For green or profit, here's the formula:

=if(B3>C3, B3-C3, B3-C3)

PERCENTAGE

For red or loss, here what you need to input:

For green or profit, here what you need to input:

You can now easily track how much gain or lose every time you update your spreadsheet.

JUST A SAMPLE

Take note: It's not perfect yet but already functional.

Just remember, ALWAYS UPDATE YOUR EVERY TRANSACTION.


**All photos are mine.

22
$ 5.87
$ 5.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.02 from @Ruffa
+ 5
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: BCH, Savings

Comments

Bakit parang hirap ako intindihin haha. Pero available ba to sa mobile ate?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pde mo siya iset sa mobile pero mejo mahirap kasi pag mobile. Pde ka naman gumawa ng version mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, yun lang. Baka mag manual na lang pala ako hihi. Pero e try ko pa rin to salamat po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't worry, pag me time ako, send ko sayo link nito para sayo na to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yehey, thank you po bait nyo talaga :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe i should do this for hodling at least since I'm not trying to trade again recently XD

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Katamarab ang kalaban ko sa paggaganito ehhh sana all masipag gumawa ng finance report😆 (Imbento ko lang po yung term ewan ko kung nsy ganan talaga)😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

HAHAHA.. siguro nadala ko na talaga ang pagiging treasurer/auditor ko nung kapanahonan ko.. LOL.. lahat kasi dapat recorded para walang sablay..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a wonderful guide to help keep track for those of us that have crypto going to a lot of different places and can't track everything at the same time. It is a lot of manual work but at least you know that your accountable for tracking everything. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You only add the formula once unless if you opt for another fields that require formulas.. Other than that, this one is good.. Besides, you only input manually per deposit and the current price. :) Try this, Snarfy. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This article is a must read for anyone who is in crypto. Track, track and track. That's the only way to say for a fact that your investments are bringing profits or loss. The Google sheet suggested is also apt as your data to a large extent is safer when stored in the cloud instead of offline.

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

Haven't tried cloud before but thanks for the suggestion. And thank you for your positive feedback. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you Mj,this is very useful information,for sure i will do this whenever i add wallet,for now i have 1 wallet only😁 and wish i could have phone like yours that can do the procedures or what to do to track or spreadsheet like you posted👍 ,im sure your phone advance hightech than my phone 😅..but i will try my very best to make money and save (bahalag dugay pa,basta kay mupalit kog laptop ky magsugod nako aning cryptos🤣"nus a pa kaha?) for now i have to save for our daily needs,its not enough my income for now because its not daily income sometimes no income😓😅hopefully by God's will🙏🙏🙏

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Te, I had to use a computer to apply a formula for the last tab "SUMMARY" coz it's not easy to do some formulas when you can't entirely see the whole spreadsheet.. HEHE.. and my phone is not the expensive one.. I'm using Realme 6i I think.. not sure if it's 5i or 6i.. LOL.. and don't worry about it, one day, you can soon buy your own laptop.. just continue writing here.. share anything you want to share, be interactive, and make more noise sa noise. :) trust me, you can buy a new laptop puhon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Magdilang anghel unta ka dai,malipay jud ko .puhon2x..akoa ky samsungj2,2015 model mn cgro ni😅,hinatag sako brod. inlaw sa una 😊..mag cge nko noise lagi👍🙏🙏😅..salamat dai🙏

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow not bad! You actually have quite a huge amount of capital in, and thankfully you had a 100% profit!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nope.. Those are just samples.. Hehehe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe your future vision?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha.. Maybe.. I hope so. ☺️🙏

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like money.. but I'm not really good in numbers.. ooh by the way, when I was a student, you can't trust me on money .. 😂 . That's true.. just now that I'm already adult ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When it comes to money, I know I can be trusted. HEHEHE.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh I will gonna save this.. so hard to make an excel using a phone though

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can send you the duplicate then you copy paste na lang.. copy the entire sheet and paste it in your spreadsheet.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

sorry d ko pa na send sayo to.. send ko ngayon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

gusto ko rin haha ;)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

sure.. message sa telegram.. same username. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Grabing tiyaga mo naman haha, sakin diko tinatrack isa isa nitatamad na ako ee. Basta pinagsasama sama ko nalang tapos calculator lang pwd na pero sayo, wowww. Pero maganda din mandin lagyan ng graph yan I mean pie graph para malaman no ilang percent na sa 1 bch ang meron ka. Parang ganon kay pisces chenes haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oo nagbabalak ako lagyan yan.. madali lang naman.. wait, lagyan ko nga ngayon.. HAHAHA.. para mejo sosyal tignan.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice. I am sure you are a patient and organized. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not really that organized but when it comes to money, numbers, I just love tracking them all.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I mean I love numbers but I am not good at tracking. I have 0 patience. Kagaya ng maghihintay na lang ako ng jeep para makauwe pero habang wala pa lalakarin ko na muna. Ganun ako kaimpatient haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ako sanay ako maghintay. HAHAHA.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. Pede bang habit yan. Yiee

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing! Every day your discipline surprise me even more. Congratulations ❤❤❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

HEHEHE. Thanks you. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago