The Toxic Side Of The Pinoys

22 64
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago

Filipinos are known to be kind, polite, generous, resilient, and family-oriented too. I'm not saying this because I'm a biased Filipino but based on my observation, the majority of the Filipinos are like that.

I'm also sure that some foreigners who have encountered Filipinos would also agree with me on this. But we also have these worst of the worst attitude that even most of us here are not proud of.

For instance, Filipinos are known to be family-oriented to the point that your relative thinks it's okay to ask a favor many times coz they are a family. It's like you're obligated to share and if you try to refuse, they will start talking behind your back.

One mistake will make you look like the enemy in the family. An example of this is a member of our family. Although she wouldn't see this post ever, I still prefer not to disclose much about her identity. But let's just call her 'HER'.

So HER has been planning to buy a new TV coz their tv set has been with them for ages. She wanted a flat-screen and since our internet connection here is quite better than the previous one we had, she preferred a smart tv. Who wouldn't want that, right? I mean smart tv is a good investment, especially if you love to watch movies and other tv series. Plus, it also allows you to watch videos on YouTube or watch something on Netflix. Stuff like that. But she doesn't have the budget for the tv.

Her is also a part of the closest circle in the family, so no wonder why my mom and sister would entrust her that much when it comes to withdrawing some money on their behalf. Then she noticed that my sister has a lot. Actually, that's my mom's money in my sister's account.

So, HER tried to borrow some from my sister but she refused. She explained though that, that money isn't hers. So, she went to my mom instead and asked if she could borrow some money so they could buy a new tv. She promised to pay as soon as they receive their bonus. But mom refused coz she still owes her a huge amount of money.

And since then, HER stopped coming to our house. She is upset about being rejected. She badly wanted to have the tv, but my mom won't lend her some. I know she's disappointed but it's just so annoying to think how some relatives think it's okay to borrow any amount without obliging themselves to pay back and get upset when they get a rejection from people they owe in the first place.

Another case is with my brother. He has a decent job and his wife is also a nurse. Whenever he runs out of allowance, he would message his mom instead of his wife. I've been telling him many times not to bother mom coz she also needs money. But my annoying brother still got the nerve to ask and get mad when mom would say no. Grrrr.

I'm single and as much as possible, I try to pay my loans with my own money. That is one of the reasons why I save money whenever I can coz I don't want to be a burden to this family. Besides, we are all adults now, and we should be the ones giving mom some money, not the other way around.

So this is one of the toxicities of the Filipinos. There are more to mention, but I'll just focus on this.


**All photos are free images from Unsplash.

13
$ 3.00
$ 2.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Koww, kahit pa ga kamag anak need din dapat mag bayad, may ganong kasing kapamilya halimbawa pamangkin, nanghirao ng pera, tapos porket pamangkit sya di na sya magbabayad at ang sabi pa balato na laang daw. Ano un nanalo sa lotto at need balatuhan. Kawawa naman ung inutangan, ung nag impuk sya mula pagkabbata para may magamit sya sa pag tanda, tapos aanuhin lang 😩

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo nga e.. Okay lang naman talaga humiram basta marunong din magbayad.. Hindi sa nagdadamot tayo, pero need naman natin ng pera..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Such is the filipino way. And what's hard is that when you're the eldest, they always expect you to do everything for the younger ones, even with sending them to school amd you'll be the one who meeds to make the biggest sacrifice when everything goes crappy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ugaling pinoy.. Pag sinabi mong wala kang pera, madamot ka na.. Akala kasi ng iba na purket wala ka pang asawa at me work ka, marami kang pera.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very very true. They can't understand na gusto din natin mag ipon and we have trust issues din naman kasi if it's family, we already know yung mga nagbabayad and yung mga hindi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At ang iba, abuso pa.. Na experience ko to sa kapatid ko.. Ako ang bunso pero when it comes to money, mas magaling ako magdala sa kanya. Kaya nakakaumay yung gagamitin nila yung term na, pamilya tayo so dapat nagtutulungan daw.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lucky that my sister understands that without a license, i can't earn much so she doesn't mind shouldering most of the expenses muna but hopefully i can help out more since i don't think 5k a month suffices

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When the kids become adults, they should be taking care of their parents.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True.. But they still expect their old parents to provide for them even if they already have a job.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are earning good Mary Jane 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I guess I'm just lucky that bot is sometimes generous to me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was also planning to publish an article about family members or relatives asking for money but I still coudn't find the right words how to compose it as it is a little sensitive topic probably because I myself is guilty. LOL. Guilty of asking for money but not all the time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay lang manghingi, sis, lalo na pag walang wala talaga.. Pero sa case ng kuya ko na me work na, at panay hingi kesyo babayaran daw, pero pag nag kapera, wala na.. Haist..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Meron talagang mga ganung klaseng tao. Nung namention mong may work, may naalala din ako. May work na pero nanghihingi pa din. Parang yung kinikita sa work pinambibili sa luho tapos yung expenses pag pasok ng work sa magulang hinihingi. Saklap

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You got the point. The worst is they still have the gut to borrow again while not paying their previous debt. And when you said no, you will be the bad one. I don't like that. I borrowed money too but I always make sure to pay para next time maka otang ulit.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True, sis.. Kahit pa family member mo pa yan, dapat matotong magbayad talaga.. Kasi need din naman nila ng pera.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes pero Hindi ako masyadong maka relate in terms of siblings Kasi ako lang mag Isa pero in general like relatives Yan relate na relate haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think this happens in most families. There're always bad apples.

First thing I actually do not like Pinoys who are residing in Malaysia is: COMPETITION. Heck when you are in a foreign country, looking out for one another is a privilege not many people, especially Chinese communities has. Instead, they come together (no doubt), help one another (and sometimes behave like HER and your brother), but then, the competition starts. The worse part is one is better than the other, usually a "she" would start flaunting in front of other Pinoys in the community and then start gossiping, creating a lot of tension and bitterness that I often hear from my fellow colleagues and friends.

The second thing is materialistic. They tend to sleep till they find a white man who can marry them. I think I understand because Filipino is a struggling country, but selling off dignity till this low is totally not right, because when the man realise that the pinoy will run off to another man as soon as she finds a better guy, she is totally asking for trouble, and half of the time abuses happens.

It is so ugly and I truly pray that this curse will be lifted from your country! I have other colleagues who are very talented, smart, and hardworking and they ended up having their spouses cheating on them when they are on a business trip here for training and the worse part was leaked to colleagues on social media.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That too. We called that crab mentality.. When someone is doing well, the other would try to compete her. If she can't, she would start making gossip just to ruin the credibility of the other person.

Also, some pinays like to find a white guy in the hopes that they will have a better life in the future. Some white guys, who married a pinay and live here in the Philippines, end up homeless. Because the pinay took advantage of the guy and left him after asking the guy properties under the pinay's name of course. There are lots of scenarios, and this is why some white men think that pinays are just good in bed. Although not all thinl like that.

I just hope one day, the world is a much more place for all of us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They'll be okay soon, but I agree with you. The sons and daughters must be the one who gives money to their parents especially when they had a stable income.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, the parents should be relaxing as soon as their children graduate from college. Their children should be the ones giving instead of asking.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed! We need to return their hardworks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago