The Story Of Lili Elbe

22 44
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog

This article is inspired by the movie "The Danish Girl."

Have you guys watched the movie, The Danish Girl? If you haven't, I highly recommend you give it a go. It's actually a biographical romantic drama film inspired by the lives of Danish painters and the then couple, Lili ElbeĀ (formerly known as Einar Wegener)Ā and Gerda Wegener.

Anyway, the movie is about a husband, who, after being asked by his wife to pose as a female model for her painting, suddenly had an unexpected turn.

So who is Lili Elbe?

Lili Ilse Elvenes,Ā better known asĀ Lili Elbe, was born asĀ Einar Magnus Andreas Wegener, a Danish painter, who married Gerda Gottlieb, a fellow student at the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts in Copenhagen. The two got married in 1904 when Einar was 22 while Gerda was only 19.

Both worked as illustrators. Einar was into landscape painting while Gerda was popular for illustrated books and fashion magazines. However, Lili stopped painting when he started dressing up as a woman.

Einar, aka Lili, was also the second transgender woman to undergo vaginoplasty surgery.

An example of Einar's work as a landscape painter

Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lili_Elbe

Lili Elbe by Gerda Gottlieb

Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lili_ElbeLili

Spoiler alert!

So as mentioned above, there was a sudden turn when Gerda, the wife, asked her husband to take a pose as a female for her painting. The model was supposed to be Oola Paulson, who was running late at that time, and so Gerda decided to have her husband model it instead. That was the beginning of an unexpected event that changed the lives of the then couple.

Despite everything, Gerda stayed by his husband's side until his last day. Ooppppsss. Sorry, I didn't mean to spoil you on this part. LOL. Okay, I guess I should stop talking about it to avoid more revelations.

So yeah, I really wanted to share more about the movie, but of course, for the sake of those who haven't seen it, I will behave myself. So if you're curious about the whole story, be sure to add this one as your next must-watched movie this week. Trust me, it's something you would not regret.

Flaws spotted

Okay, so I've just learned now while writing this that there has been some inaccuracy in the movie. Well, it was mentioned in the movie that Einar had undergone two operations:Ā one to remove his male parts entirelyĀ and the other one wasĀ to construct a vagina.

But according to Wikipedia,Ā there was a series of four operationsĀ over a period of two years. TheĀ first surgeryĀ was for the removal of the testicles. TheĀ secondĀ was to implant an ovary. TheĀ thirdĀ was to remove his penis and the scrotum. And theĀ last operationĀ was to transplant a uterus and construct a vaginal canal.

No wonder why this film received criticism for omitting certain facts and obscuring the actual story of a historical trans person, as well as for being based on a fictional book rather than telling the true story of Einar and Gerda Wegener.


Closing thoughts

What if you were the wife, would you still stick to his side after learning that he was actually gay? Or what will you do if you suddenly found out that the man you love is actually a woman at heart? Will you still accept him? Will you still love him?

Anyway, if here's the trailer if you guys want to see a sneak peek of The Danish Girl.


8
$ 4.40
$ 3.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
+ 5
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog

Comments

despite the medical inaccuracies, it was still a good movie, nevertheless. and very very aesthetic to my eyes so i still look back on it to get a few art inspo

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. Best movie I've seen lately. Was really in tears.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Interesting mapanood nga sa Sunday šŸ˜ Panu kya kung may ganyan sa totoong buhay noh? šŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sarap basahin ang libro na to but I'm sure madaming erotic scene sa book kasi alam mo naman sa book, lahat ng detalye, ladlad lahat.. Pero sa book kasi naka summarize lang yan.

And panoorin mo to kasi maganda talaga siya. Naiiyak talaga ako.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Save ko to bka mkalimutan ko title šŸ¤£

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure sure.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That was an interesting movie. šŸ˜Hmm. I don't know if its mešŸ˜…. Maybe yes maybe no. We can't predict the situation so i can't say i can accept him.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess we all can answer this when we get into the situation. Pero I think sakin, ang hirap. Might let go while I still respect him.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Parang ganun din sakin... šŸ¤” Hindi ko maimagine na ang macho kong asawa ay baklush pala... Hayz.. Kasakit sa dibdib.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahhaha. At jowa niya si pare. Hahahahah. Joke lang.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lalong pagkasakisakit na nyan.. Talong talo na ako. Lalaki karibal mo. šŸ¤§šŸ¤¦ā€ā™€ļøšŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Interesting nman this.. the wife has a heart of gold by staying with her then husband until his last breath.. to some it would've left them devastated after learning about the true personality of the person they married.. pro d nman ata lalo na pag wlang case of cheating while they're still married.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, merong something sa Movie kaya better watch this. Parang gusto ko nga basahin yung book kasi alam mo naman, sa book napaka detail lahat pero sa movie dami ng tinanggal.. And kahit nga sa book d accurate sabi sa wiki.. Pero mas okay pa rin yung book kesa sa movie.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

D best ang book when it comes sa mga true to life stories. Pro pra sa akin wla na aqng time magbasašŸ˜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. Tama din. Hahaha. At baka ma addict ako. Ako pa naman mag basa at pag bet, para sing manood ng series, puro extend ng extend.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think I will include this movie to my list on Netflix. I have tons of movie I haven't watched because of my exams in school. I will surely watch it when I am through with my exams. To your question, I don't think I can continue with the marriage if I found out my husband is a gay.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, please, do. It's really nice. And yeah, I think I would also let go of him if I was on Gerda's shoe. It's hard to see the man you loved, longing for someone else.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This sounds very interesting. I will definitely look into it. Never heard about this story and movie. It is a difficult question. I probably would still be in love, but it would be hard to accept the fact.

Just an observation. In your last sentence if you were meant to write thriller ignore me, but if you weren't correct it to trailer.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you. I didn't notice that. LOL. Glad you foud it.

And yes, be sure to watch this with your wife. This is really interesting and something you shouldn't miss.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will try, but to be honest with you she is a bit picky on movies lately. Anyway let's see what she says. Lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Let me know your opinion soon about the movie and hope she will like it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ok. I will.

$ 0.00
3 years ago