Self-Love Is All You Need

44 78
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Experience

Because of social media, the internet, K-pop, Tiktok, and everything in the digital world, many are aiming for perfection. They want to look like their idols. They want a perfect body, perfect skin, perfect look, perfect in everything.

Source: Pixabay

Some even think having a white complexion is the definition of being pretty and being morena (light brown skin) or black is not. I honestly think everyone is beautiful in their own way. Being beautiful doesn't mean you need to be perfect from head to toe. Being beautiful is someone who has flaws, knows her flaws, and can still smile and laugh about their flaws.

Just because you have imperfections doesn't make you less of a person. It's just part of being you, so don't worry about having one or many because we are all born with something different in ourselves. But know that you are beautiful, way beyond any eyes could see.

It's alright though to buy stuff that will enhance your look if that's what makes you happy. If it can boost your confidence, then go for it! But what's not okay is when you just want to look your best because you think you're not good enough in other people's opinion.

So if you want to look better, be sure to do it because you want it, and not because they say so.

I was once an insecure person before during my first two decades. Every time I see random people, especially girls, I felt belittled to myself. I felt like I don't belong and that I don't have a life. To hide my disappointments, I would just pretend I was happy all the time. I smiled and laughed like I'm perfectly fine when deep inside, I was struggling to survive.

Every time I see people who can do anything they please, I felt useless. I was really unhappy about myself back then to the point that I would cry often in my room. My life was totally the opposite of what I'm feeling right now, but I'm so glad I survived.

After so many years of trying to survive life, I managed to understand the true meaning of beauty, and that's how I became happy. I realized that acceptance of one's self is the key. I realized that I don't need to be accepted by many to be happy but all I needed was to accept my imperfections.

It wasn't easy. There were days that depression would kick in and out of my daily routine. Luckily, I managed to stay strong with the same issue over and over again. Now, I am no longer ashamed of telling the world my story. Now, I am no longer that same sad soul who couldn't stop comparing herself to others.

Before, I used to cry and cry until there were no more tears to shed. It's only when I finally accepted myself that I finally find peace in my heart. Since then, I don't worry anymore about how people look at me when they see me. Now, I'm a better version of my 2-decade self.


Closing thoughts

Happiness starts when you finally learn to love yourself, accept your imperfections (even laugh about them), and use them as your motivation and inspiration to do something better rather than being sad about them all the time.Β 

Love yourself first and you'll see the difference. Don't worry if the people you want to accept and love you won't or can't because someday, someone else will.


20
$ 8.82
$ 5.00 from @SimonBruzzi
$ 3.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
+ 8
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Experience

Comments

I would say "Love yourself first, then you can be loved by others. And then a relationship and baby will follow." πŸ˜…

No, honestly, compared to most women in the western world who are extremely full of themselves, I can see that working out for you a lot better. It seems like you worked on yourself and are a humble person. However, it seems like you are a bit afraid of having a relationship.

If I were you, I would try to find the nicest guy you can find (pretty much not caring much about his looks as long as they are acceptable) and see how the relationship goes. πŸ˜…πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

HAHAHAH. Thanks for the advice. Seems like you're not so busy today huh. Anyway, yeah, self-love first and then the rest will follow. And as for having a relationship, I guess I'm just afraid or something. But as you've said, self-love first, and then who knows, the right one comes at the right moment. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I woke up early and I'm reading now instead of sleeping. It's raining a lot right now and I'm waiting for the rain to stop so that I can go outside and do my work. When it's not raining it's a lot easier.

I also can't shoot any videos outside with the rain. πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's swap weathers then. YOu can have my sun and let me have your rain. :) I love the sound of the rain and it makes everything better. And try to just close your eyes so you could have an extra hour of a nap before doing your usual routine later.

Again, thank you for reading my articles and for your advice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, yeah, rain is nice if you don't have to go outside. πŸ˜…

I love how it cleans the air. When I recently visited my parents, I noticed immediately how much better the air is when you leave the city. πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

City life is too polluted. That's why I left my previous job and decided to stay in my hometown for good. Less pollution, not crowded, quiet, and cleaner than of the city. So you should visit your parents often and enjoy much cleaner air. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To be honest I even considered moving back in with them. My neighbours and roommates are driving me crazy. πŸ™ˆ But my parents can drive me crazy even quicker and further. πŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆ Yeah, I'm probably also a bit antisocial - like your ex. πŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ex-crush. LOL. Well, at least, you're with your parents. I'm sure they'll be happy to have you around. :) I live with my mom and sister and kids, but one day, I'll have my own place, my own rules, so I can't wait to make that happen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No no no, I really can't live with my parents. I took my mom to shop for glasses recently and she drove me crazy within half an hour. πŸ™ˆ I actually had to send her away so that I could talk to the salesperson once we decided on a frame. πŸ™ˆ

I'm not sure if it's my parents or if it's me, but we really can't spend much time together. πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAHAHAH. I think this is cute. LOL. I have a feeling that it's you and not your parents. You should probably socialize more often. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, maybe. I can be sociable, but only in small groups and with people I really like and not too long at a time. πŸ™ˆ

In big groups I feel uncomfortable and start to think about how I would defend myself if I was physically attacked. πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAHAHHA. No one's gonna attack you for sure. But yeah, I can relate with you. I'm an introvert myself so talking is not my thing. I do like talking with only my closest friends.

People think I'm snobbish because I don't talk a lot. It's just hard to interact with so many so I prefer the best people only. I'm talkative in virtual groups though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, I'm very similar.

I hope you won't hate me for that, but I kind of wrote an article about a specific part of our conversation. πŸ™ˆ

I anonymized you in the article, because I wasn't sure if you would feel comfortable with having your name in the article. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's fine. Actually, I really don't mind.

I thought you were back to dreamland. Lol. Wait, let me read it and sorry, I don't have any at the moment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great article, you are actually quite pretty if that is your photo,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi. Thank you so much for all the blessings today. Sorry for a bit late. And yes, that's me ages ago. Not sure how old that pics were. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You will only know your real beauty once you appreciate your flaws 🀣 I'm ugly and I don't care . That's self-love πŸ˜… I guess... Haha.
Insecure dn ako dati sa magaganda, pro ngayon wala na kong paki. Bsta happy ako ganun. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Sorry, very late reply. Natawa ako dito. Relate ako sa insecure ako sa mga magaganda dati pero ngayon who cares na.

Sa ngayon, mas focus sa me laman ang savings kesa sa ganda.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are beautiful as you are ! The only real life goal must be to be the best version of yourself

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. True. Sorry for the late reply.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for another beautiful article, as beautiful as the author is. It is true that we can't find peace, contentment in the things we do and we always feel insecure if we don't try to accept ourself. Trying to impress everyone without even thinking if it is good for ourselves is really down spiriting.. thru articles like this, was I able to accept me also-The most important impact of readcash in me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy to hear that you liked this article. Sorry, though, for replying so late. Hehe. And you're right talaga. Impressing someone or everyone can be down spiriting kasi sa sobrang effort, nasestress na tayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every person is unique sissy. ☺️ Self love first before anyone else. Tas kung ni naa sa picture, aguyy kagwapa ba. Ganahan kaayo kos imu mata ☺️ Budlat mn gud kog mata hahhahaha pero happy kos ahu kaugalingon. Sauna sad ara sad ko ka insecure sa uban kay lge ba mga nindot ug pamanit. πŸ˜… Ako mn gud kay puti pero luspad πŸ˜…πŸ€£ Kalaina taawon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lagi dzai. Self-love jud kay ug dili, hurot atomg adlaw sige kasuya sa uban kay sila perfect, Kita dili.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Walay perfect na tao sis. Feeling perfect nuon naa. πŸ˜… Basta yie, ka gwapa ra ahh. Di angay ma insecure sissy. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep.. self love and acceptance is important... For you to be able to appreciate yourself... Dahil kung wala yun ikocompare mo na lang palagi ang sarili mo sa iba. Pero ang best beauty pa rin is yung nanggagaling sa loob. 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun nga e. Di ka talaga sa saya kasi puro ka Compare compare. Kaya dapat matoto iaccept ang sarili para matoto kang mahalin sarili mo and that way, maaappreciate mo yung sarili mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Each and everyone of us are different from each other and these diferrences are what makes us beautiful. Lahat tayo ay pagkakaiba, may mataba, payat, matangkad, pandak, maputi o maitim. At ang mga pagkakaiba natin yan ay yan yung makakapag stand out sa atin sa iba. Good day po! Stay safe and Godbless!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice naman. Salamat for sharing your thoughts. And totoo naman. Jan tayo nag stastand out. Salamat ulit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Self love and self acceptance is needed to survive this complicated world na punong puno ng taong mapanghusgaπŸ˜… Kaya dapat talaga we focus to ourselves first and avoid distractions like negative criticisms or else baka end of life and ending natin. Buti na lang we are stronger than those who always criticize us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama! Buti na lang talaga. Kasi kung hindi, baka puro nega ang nasa utak ko. Dapat talaga, yung iba, imbes na focus sa kung anong wala sa kanila, dapat they focus more on what they can do and appreciate kung anong meron sa kanila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama ka jan sis para naman tahimik ang buhay ng bawat isa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone is rare in its own nature.God has made everything with distinction just we need.We should focus on inner peace.That is good with time-being you improve yourself.And throughout life man is in the process of learning.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I'm glad I learned to accept and love myself or else, I'd be in my room crying instead of being productive. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now you are more productive and creative.Feel okay MJπŸ’š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Acceptance was indeed the key. I'm glad and happy that you have managed to moved on now. Life is really full of obstacles and challenges so you have to remain "strong" and just smile, MJ. Have a great morning po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Sa sobrang dami ng challenges sa mundo, dami na nag give up at buti na lang d talaga ako bumitiw. Kaya laban lang. Kaya ngayon, feeling ko kahit papano strong ako kasi kung na surpassed ko tong stage na to, I'm sure yung ibang bagay kaya ko na rin lampasan..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true, self acceptance is the key .. and once you accept your flaws, dun mo malalaman kung Pano improve sarili mo, at kung ano tlga gusto mong gawin. Ako, Ang Dami kong insecurities sa katawan magaling lang Γ kong magtago πŸ˜‚.. kayA MiNsan nag bebreak ako .. and by the way, I'm agree to fantagira. You're pretty like me πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Angela! Of course you are 😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you ❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Sa ending talaga oh. Dami ko pa utang sayo talaga. Yung mga articles mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are beautiful just the way you are my friend. I personally love Asian type of beauty and tanned skin colour, but that's just me and everyone has their own idea of beauty.

I totally agree with what you have said here. Once you start loving and accepting yourself only then other people follow and see your beauty. At the same time I remember how cruel can teenagers be and how influential are the magazines and movies they read/watch. I am happy to read that this sad phase of not loving yourself is now behind you πŸ’™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry for the late reply, @fantagira.I forgot to check this article. Anyway, yes, I'm super happy, too, that finally, I learned to accept my true self. Coz it's hard to live a life when you keep on comparing yourself to other people. It's nice to finally move on and focused more on better things.

Sadly, many teenagers and even some adults right now are still in this phase, where they feel less because of what they see on social media.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is true too, hence why writing about it is also very important. If it can help one person to understand that self love is the key, that’s a win! πŸ’™

$ 0.00
2 years ago