My Insecurities That Almost Drove Me Nuts

31 85
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago

Before I learned to accept my imperfections, I was once a person full of insecurities in life. As a person with a disability, dealing with life is never easy, especially when you see people having the best time of their lives while you are stuck elsewhere.

To be honest, none of my family or friends knew the real score about how I truly felt. What they saw in me was a person who tried to survive the world and make a living. A person who laughs a lot, despite everything, so none of them knew that I was dying inside.

In this article, I'm going to share with you a few insecurities that I had back then. They still come every once in a while but luckily, I'm already matured enough to handle them on my own. So here are a few lists of my insecurities that almost drove me nuts:

Can't wear this and that

When I was in grade school even up to college, I never wore jeans or shorts. Everything had to be in dresses. It's not that my mom won't let me, but I just didn't want to be the people's center of attraction.

Well, I've had always been a center of attraction. People would look at me like I'm some kind of an alien, who doesn't belong on this planet. Though some people would look at me coz they find me cute and very innocent despite my situation, the rest of the world has those prying eyes that could melt you down with just a few stares.

Anyway, as I've said, I never wore jeans back then and that was one of my well-hidden frustration. Although they didn't notice it, I wanted to experience wearing jeans or other outfits without having to worry about judgmental people.

Now that I'm no longer using a crutch, I always wear jeans and no dresses this time. It's ironic because before all I wanted was to be able to wear jeans but now, all I dreamed is to wear nice dresses.

But then again, wearing dresses would only attract more people to start staring at me from head to toe, so I'm just trying to avoid that.

No sandals; just closed, comfy, rubber shoes

There are two main reasons why I can't wear any footwear other than just rubber shoes. But I'm not ready to reveal the first one yet, so I'll go for the second part.

Rubber shoes are the only footwear that I can wear outside. Not only are they comfy to wear, but they also protect my artificial foot from rain, dust, and other harmful substances that could damage it.

Plus, since my left foot is the only one supporting my entire weight, it has to wear something super comfy to survive the exhausting part of walking or standing. Otherwise, it would only put a lot of pressure and may cause too much stress.

At home, however, I wear those slip-on sandals with straps to give my foot that nice, cozy feeling. Luckily, the not authentic version of crocs was invented.

Can't enjoy the beach

I love beaches. I love the sun, the sand, and the breezy salty air feels. I love everything about the beach, but I don't want to go there, not unless I'm with my fam.

When I was in Cebu, I had always been invited by my colleagues to join with them, but I always say no. They thought I was a bitch who was too worried about the sun, but what they didn't know was that beach would only make me sad.

I so love the beach that when I look at the people enjoying the water, it made me so sad about it because I can't even go near the water. As you all know, most prosthetic legs are not allowed to get wet. It should always remain dry to last long.

And if I go there with friends, how am I supposed to get into the water? Plus, I also don't want to be their burden. I don't want them to feel bad about me being stuck in the cottage because I can't swim. But with my fam and depending on the location like the one we went to recently, it was perfect so I enjoyed it there.

No hiking or even a not so long walk for me

As much as I wanted to do a long walk, I just can't. Long walks, especially on a rough road, could trigger blisters in both my foot and my right knee. I can't even survive standing for too long.

Look at that!

When I was in Cebu, I would walk from work to the highway just to at least get sweat. It was a terrible idea, but I had to endure the pain just to at least get the exercise I need. Now that I'm not in Cebu anymore, and I work home-based, I don't have to deal with that anymore.

Can't run

Even up to now, seeing people going for a run makes me feel insecure. Lol. Those little things that people didn't care much about are some of my wish-I-could-do stuff. The only time I could run was during my dream, where I was either chased by a killer or a tsunami was about to hit us. Yes, the tsunami has always been one of the many nightmares I've had ever since a huge tsunami had struck Japan.


Closing thoughts

These were/are just a few of my insecurities in life. Though I'm not as affected as before, once in a while, I'd woke up feeling so insecure about my life and how I wish I was born different.

I got told before by a few that if I wasn't born this way, my life would have been so much fun. Well, that could have been the case but then, God knows better, and I know he has a better plan for me. At least, I still got to enjoy the other things in life, thanks to my other senses, family, and a few real friends.


21
$ 0.64
$ 0.20 from @carisdaneym2
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
+ 9
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

This one really made me cry again. Basta talaga ate mj napapaiyak ako😭😭😭 Sending huuuuuggsssssπŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww. Pang MMK na ba? Hehe. Salamat, cari. ❀️❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so proud of you, Ate! ❀️ yakap

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww, thank you, kli4d. Salamat sa libreng pa hug.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

-Sis God gave you that kind of life for a certain purpose..alam niya na kaya mo at kayang kaya mo..gawin mo kung saan ka masaya as long as makbubuti sayo na wala ka masasagasaang tao..ignore those ill-mannered person..at judgemental..in God eyes you are perfect! Have a blessed day!🌷❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww. Salamat, sis. Yes, focus lang ako sa bright side of life. Sa family ko, sa furbabies ko, sa mga real friends ko, pati na rin sa mga goals ko. Hindi ko na iniisip yung ibang tao. Life is more beautiful kung pano ibalance ang mga bagay bagay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saludo po ako sayo. Normal lang na ma insecure. Mahalin mo ang sarili mo dahil marami ang nagmamahal sayo. Isa na po ako dun. At wag nalang pansinin ang mga papansin. Push lang at lavarn.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww, salamat, sis. Nakaka touch naman yan. Yup, hindi ko na iniintindi ang ibang tao. Happy na ako and super happy ako dahil sa mga furbabies ko. Sila ang reason, aside kay God, kung bakit ako happy na. Hehe. And salamat, sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Walang anuman sis. Ganun naman talaga dapat. Maging masaya para sa mga mahal natin sa buhay.☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

how many years ka sa Cebu ? life is tough but your are tougher! indeed, God knows best!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

10 or 11 years. I first came in Cebu to babysit my nephew. Then a year or so after that, I applied for a job and luckily, they let me in. Hehe. And I think you're right. I'm tougher coz I was able to survive Cebu even though my mom was not around.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Your last words are impressive and god knows what's better for you and he's the one who knows better so just leave everything upon him you'll find peace!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. True that. That's also the reason why I was able to move on. I realized God made me this for a reason. Now, I'm not that insecure anymore. Yes, I've still got a few but only happens once in a while. Hehe. Anyway, sorry for the late reply.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep up the passion you putting into everything and enjoy who you are !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, PVM!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I'm admiring you on that ❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Salamat. πŸ˜˜πŸ’š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dzae I did not pity you but I admire your courage to face the world... Pero at some point of these insecurities naghout akoa dughan because I cant imagine if i were u maybe i havent survived... Labi sensitive kaau ko. Pero go lang ng go dzae. Never lose your faith and courage to face the world dzae. Know that I am one of those who admire you for being strong. Also wla ka g ask sa doctor if naa ba way na dli masamad if say maglakaw ka? Bsin naa cla ika advice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Masamad jud ni siya basta maglakad lakad ug layo. Pero kung normal ra na d kaayo layo, di ra siya maluthan. Sauna, lisod kaayo labi na Musakay kog jeep na Gamay kay mubo ug bangko. Mura jud kog gitorture. From lahug to labangon ang sakripisyo. HEHE. Pero okay okay na siya Ron. I mean ako tuhod. Bawal lang jud ko anang mga lubak lubak ug kabatuan kay d ma agwanta.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm, I didn't know you have this physical disability.. I am sorry to hear that. Anyway, the only way to overcome our insecurities is to fully embrace who we are. Sometimes it is triggered by our own thoughts and own standard on how we see things.. let's not be hard on ourselves anymore, I was once an insecure person too before, it was the worst pace in my life rather than those hardships I had, because it was mental issues.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Embracing your flaws is the only way to overcome your insecurities. Now, I'm okay na. Dili super okay pero I'm more matured na and I don't mind much about the physical appearance Na. And mahirap talaga pag mental issues. It will eat you up pag d mo malabanan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your insecurities likely exist because the world gave them to us without remorse. We all have. Take confidence in yourself because the people who enjoy life are those who clearly love themselves. Allow yourself to shine and you wouldn't feel insecure at all. If there's something you can't do, just let that be okay. The truth is, it is okay. There are no shoulds or shouldn't or oughts or ought not. Much love, sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dati, puro ako what ifs. Ngayon, I don't overthink na about the things I can't do and just focus on the things I can. Tapos na ako sa level na I kept wondering about the possibilities kung hindi ako ganito. And thanks, sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People always find something to look at, make you feel different and to avoid you. I am not sure if it ate my self-confidence about me as a person (the me is inside a sick cover called body). I learned to spit it out. Life is better if you say how you really feel, why you can't do what others do or like. I even discovered I don't miss that much at all, I wouldn't like many things others like because it's simply not me. I guess if people ask you to come along to the beach you can say why not or under which conditions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The problem with me is sometimes, I don't give them the exact reason as to why I prefer not to come along. But yeah, maybe you're right. They also deserve to know the real score so they won't think I'm just making excuses for no reason. Although my friends know my situation, they still need to know a little bit of everything. Anyway, sorry for the super duper late reply.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have lots of insecurities in myself too sis. My face and my body. It really hurts inside that everything people say to me hurts. Even there looks hurt me cause I know what's in their mind. But then, when my parents told me to love myself that I should start to love myself, I embrace all the insecurities in me. Maybe we have different cases of insecurities and I can't put myself on yours but I know, time will come that you'll be happy of what you have sis. ☺️ Just try to love what you have. It will help and people around you will not matter anymore. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly, I'm already happy with myself, sis. I've learned to accept my flaws years ago. I realized God made me this for a reason. Maybe to inspire people who are physically able yet emotionally unstable that anyone can do something better and maybe greater in life if you just believe in yourself, regardless of who you are. Maybe that's my purpose here, and I think I have already inspired a few.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you did already sis. And I am so inspired after knowing you with this article of yours. I am amazed how successful you are despite of your situation. I salute you being so 'kugihan' . I've known someone who's able and healthy yet very 'tapulan' πŸ₯΄ .. someone who always wants to rely on someone. Keep to be an inspiration to evwryone sis. πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I gues it’s normal for to feel insecure because we are humans and we had the feelings to feel that way. What’s matter there for me is that we knew how to handle our insecurities and somehow turn insecurities into positivity which may help us lives this world happy as what we wanted in the first place. I’m glad sis that you were very tough despite your state. Happy for you sis 😊πŸ’ͺ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry for the very late reply.

I agree with you. Feeling insecure is just part of being human so it's really okay. What's not okay is when you let your insecurities overpower your good qualities. And it's also not good to just focus on things that you don't possess. Instead of being sad or insecure about it, why not focus on something you have or can do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly sis, πŸ’ͺ😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago