How I End Up Being A Frustrated Writer

20 40
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago

Who would have thought that my childhood hobby is now my source of income?

Back in 2019, as soon as my almost 2-week holiday vacay was over, I made my tough call to resign from my 8-hour job. After rendering 30 days, I left Cebu and returned home to start my new life here.

I worked as a transcription processor back then. It was fun, but as years passed by, I lost my passion anymore and desired for a new change. In February 2019, I got back home and in March, I got my first freelance job as a ghostwriter.

Honestly, I didn't expect to get the job. First, my English is so basic. Second, I'm not smart or well-experienced in writing, but I still got the job. So, in this article, I'm going to share with you all how I end up being the frustrated writer I am today.

Back when I was young, depression used to overruled my whole system. I became suicidal at the age of (I don't know) probably 8 I guess. I wanted to end my life, but my other side of me told me not to, and that's why I'm still here. With all those bad thoughts in me, 2 reasons help me survived life: God and my writing.

So, basically, I just talked to God everywhere I go. When I was scared, I talked to him in my mind. When I felt so alone, I talked to him so I don't feel alone anymore. When my classmates were enjoying recess time, I talked to him because I was stuck on my desk waiting to get over with my day. So, everything was just me talking to him for strength and guidance.

And, then, there's writing. Yes, I write stuff even when I was just a little kid. Whenever I was furious and my depression would kick in, I would just start writing in a piece of paper, and then burned it afterward. That way no one could read anything I wrote there.

I also used to write short poems. Unfortunately, my poetic self only comes once in a blue moon. Only when I'm super inspired, and that only happens rarely. I tried writing stories, too, but it wasn't really my thing, so I didn't pursue that field.

Then when I got my own laptop ages ago, that's when I started to do blogging. I made my own website and got a few followers too. As usual, my blogging site was just my diary, so it wasn't really that interesting at all. But the problem with me is, I can't focus on one thing, which I suddenly had to let go and pursued other things instead.

Then a year ago, I created another one, so I have my own site for work purposes. Again, everything I wrote was just purely my BS. And last year in March, I saw a job post looking for a writer. I knew I wasn't really qualified but still decided to give it a try. In my application letter, I included my WordPress site for her reference. Luckily, the client responded and hired me on the spot.

That was my first writing job ever. I was a ghostwriter to her. So, basically, she would just give me the list of names to write. Mostly about CEOs, founders of a big-time company, and the likes. I think I had more than 300 names already.

I started in March and ended in October coz I lost internet connection. We had no internet connection until January. So after that, I was back again to writing that lasted for a month. During those times, I got another 2 clients for 2 writing jobs as well. Unfortunately, the 2nd job, which was writing for his Shopify store, didn't last long. Then the other one, I quit coz it was way too much for a low rate.

Then in February 2020, I finally got my break with my Italian client. So they sent me a proposal asking me if I could write for them. I was hesitant at first coz their qualifications were beyond my expertise. I still accepted the interview via Skype though, and after that night, I got the job.

I am a researcher, writer, and Wikipedia editor -- all in one client. In my first few days, I told my client that I don't think I was the right person to do this job, but he told me that he believed in me and that I could really do this. I stayed and they just let me work without pressuring me and all. I've been working with him for 9 months.

Honestly, I didn't expect to work in any writing-related jobs ever. As I've said, I'm just a frustrated writer. However, my childhood hobby has now become my source of income. Yay, right! So, that's how it all started.

LIKE, COMMENT, and SUBSCRIBE

13
$ 4.52
$ 4.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Dreamer
$ 0.05 from @Macronald
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

You really inspire me po. I am also a frustrated writer myself, but I don't know if I can get a job out of it. Haha! Well done. Keep it up, ate. Payting!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kaya mo yan! Ikaw pa! Galing mo nga e.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ngi. Nagseset up nga ako ng Wordpress ko ngayon, pero di ko alam paano. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nasa YouTube para d ka mahirapan..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Try ko po mamaya. Haha! Alam mo pala ung clippings.me ate?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hindi.. Ano yun? Ngayon ko lang narinig yan.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's good to be frustrated in this way, congrats for being frustrated it generates income 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, and thank you. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think you are not frustrated you are full of inspiration despite any difficulty. And now I know how the Ghost writer work. So that's how it is. I think I'm the frustrated oneπŸ˜† But I love poem eversince.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A ghostwriter is someone who did all the writing but won't be acknowledged as the writer or the author.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oo parang sad siya ghost nga talaga.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo.. Ganun talaga.. Kaya kahit ikaw ang nagsulat, d mo yun pde angkinin..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

parang ayaw ko niyan haha okay na ako dito.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha.. Ganun talaga ang buhay.. Kung saan me opportunity, go na lang ng go.. Pero yup, me choice ka naman if gusto mo or hindi..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hello old friend...am back, do you remeber me

nice article, u can still get something positive out of that frustration

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course, I do.. How are you?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Am fine, it's been a long time

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Never mind... a frustrated writer has more good contents...πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜‡

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True.😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess.. 😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago