Without Fear of Old Age

4 39
Avatar for belkis758
2 years ago

Reaching adulthood can be one of the most difficult times in life. It is said that we should be prepared for this moment but, it is one thing to say it and another... to accept it.

The issue of reaching adulthood becomes a problem when we do not accept our advanced age. In some cases the activities of daily life have been traveling, dancing, hanging out with friends at parties, drinking, among others. In moments of euphoria of life, reaching old age will be a real obstacle.

But life is not all about fun, or maybe it is. It would be worth asking now, can we have fun at any time? It all depends on what we mean by fun. In addition to all of the above, there is the question of what we can do to have fun. In the stage of adulthood, when the children are grown up and have moved away to make their own lives, is when there are more things to live.

I reached the age of 53 thinking about the dilemma of accepting my old age. I don't want to burst into tears, much less fall into depression. So I started to search among the things I love and there I found a solution.

Since I was very young I liked the art of photography, sports entertained me but I was never interested in practicing one, writing was another of my passions.

As I said before, in the search I found the answer to my concerns. I combined writing, photography and sports. With these three activities, I will surely succeed, I told myself. From that mix of activities came something else, a love of nature.

Consequence of my decisiones

When I talk about loving nature, I mean it in the broad sense of the word. Walking through mountain spaces, enjoying the clean and pure air, put me in an encounter with myself. Nature did not refer to the place surrounded by vegetation, it referred to my own nature, to BEING.

I may have expressed the fear of reaching old age without knowing what to do. But, without a doubt, the decision to go out to exercise, write and get in touch with nature was the right thing to do. The encounters with the BEING in moments of solitude have made me understand how beautiful life is. We should not fear anything, not even old age.

It is up to each one of us to keep active, to take care of our health in order to achieve physical dependence. Only God knows what He has destined for each one of us, but again I repeat, it is up to us to do our best to keep our energies full of optimism and positivism. In this way we will live each stage of life without regrets or worries.

I always remember the example of my mother, a warrior and fighter woman. I bring this remark because it is well known that these thoughts anchored in negativity are part of stereotypes, they go from generation to generation. Many comments have given rise to false speculations, consequently every unhealthy comment can be linked to loneliness, sadness and even illness.

That is why I decided to assume old age with the greatest pride. Carrying out activities that possibly I had never done before, but firm and determined, without struggles, without sadness, without fears. Living life to the fullest implies accepting God's designs. 

9
$ 0.55
$ 0.50 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.05 from @antoniarhuiz
Avatar for belkis758
2 years ago

Comments

damn, never really thought of things this way. Glad I still have time in life as i am only a teen

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your comment!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

¡Hola! Estamos en una etapa de la vida que a mi parecer es la más interesante, pues es cuando te das cuenta de tus primeras arruguitas, canas, eso en lo físico y en lo emocional se siente todo con mayor intensidad aparte de tener la capacidad otorgada por la experiencia de los años vividos de discernir en muchos aspectos de tu vida, no se si piensas igual pero yo siento que así esta mi vida ahora. Y, sin miedo a la vejez también.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Así lo veo amiga. Yo he disfrutado de cada una de mis etapas. Ya mis hijos están cada uno haciendo sus vidas y solo estamos mi esposo y yo asumiendo cada quien lo que nos corresponde. Sin miedo a la vejez amiga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago