Hello world

2 90
Avatar for bchinjim
4 years ago

I don't normally write blog posts so please bear with me. After some thought I've decided that maybe this would be a good enough way for me to talk about my ideas and projects and even hopefully get some input. None of it's exactly secret since many of these are or will be open source. So please feel free to steal my ideas. Just let me know if you plan to so I don't have to spend the resources myself. I may even help you.

I'm Jim

I've been in the space for awhile now but until recently didn't think I could do much to help. SLP has inspired me and is what I'll primarily be focusing my efforts on. I've been thinking about the idea of SLP tokens in videogames.

Minecraft

I think Minecraft is a great place to start with this. It's got a large userbase accustomed to plugins and mods and custom servers. I figure after having an open-source non-custodial plugin developed (I've got a guy committed to it now, ETA early Jan), I'll sponsor some servers to trial it and see if they like it. They'll be able to create and manage their own tokens, bringing their servers' economy into the real market. Such a thing I think would require the server or some other system to pay for the tokens to be sent back and forth, however, which really makes it a tougher problem. I was shocked to find that Vin Armani was not only thinking of the same problem, but even working on a solution already. With his Postage Protocol, this becomes so much easier.

Post Office

So we just need a Post Office server. Now any third party that wants to serve a PO can handle the BCH fees for the Minecraft servers. In fact, Minecraft server admins that also want to run their own PO could use that as a money-sink for their economy or even just use it as a way to make some extra money from their servers. So I've got a team focused on that now. We'll be open sourcing it as soon as it's ready, which should be before the Minecraft plugin. I need to get some sort of website built to display information about it and naturally I'll be running a server myself in order to help subsidize some tokens I'm interested in.

Electron Cash Plugin Directory

This is something that isn't SLP related. I'm hoping to draw more attention to Electron Cash plugins by having a site built where authors can submit them and users have a one-stop-shop for finding them. I've got a team working on this and should be done sometime in December. It will feature a review process to help keep plugins safe. Licho has volunteered to review plugins. Perhaps in the future, payments can be integrated and premium plugins will be a thing. Authentication will only be possible via Cash ID. I'd like to push Cash ID more and get rid of passwords.

Closing Remarks

I'm not sure if I'll keep posting here but it seems a solid enough place to post updates for my projects (ongoing and upcoming) for now. If you're working on SLP stuff, I'd love to hear about it. Shill it to me on Telegram. Perhaps we can pool resources or something. Also, please follow me on Twitter if you aren't already. I expect to have a lot of announcements in the coming months and Twitter makes it convenient to get them out. Thanks for reading.

3
$ 30.89
$ 25.50 from @huckfinne
$ 1.76 from Anonymous user(s)
A
$ 1.00 from @Read.Cash
+ 10
Avatar for bchinjim
4 years ago

Comments

OK... we've got the second record for today in a row :) Your article is now the highest upvoted of all time :)

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Can't wait for the Electron Cash plugin directory. Maybe have it where people can add comments and tutorials.

$ 0.10
4 years ago