YOLO

6 22
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Last week was the day when my phone did not open and the night before that I had already drafted a topic about YOLO. Since I have already shared my rants and gratitude with the events that had happened to me recently, I think it is best to go back from where I have stopped.

My last topic before my phone issue was about envy. I decided to talk about YOLO because it can somehow be connected to each other. So what is YOLO? I am pretty much sure that majority of you already know what YOLO means. But for some who doesn't, YOLO is the acronym for "you only live once" or just like carpe diem in Latin which means seize the day. YOLO is reminding us to always live our life to the fullest and enjoy life while we can. Though there are some that just use YOLO as an excuse or a reason for their actions and behavior.

In all my years of existing in this world, I can say that I have enjoyed my life so much to the point of not thinking about anything but my happiness. But those are just my behavior towards living my life to the fullest. How about you? What are the things that you have done that you can say you only live once? Is it by spending lavishly on things that you have long wanted? Is it by giving your precious self to someone you love without thinking that it is a sin? Or is it by going cliff diving or in Boracay or wakeboarding in Pampangga?

If by doing reckless and wild things, I may have done a lot. But if we are talking about extreme activities or even traveling the world, then there are so much more that I haven't tried yet in my life. I am open in doing some activities but sometimes fear is eating me up. Here's a fun fact that I am going to share with you, I haven't tried riding a zipline yet. LOL. Why? I am afraid. I am afraid that I might drop my phone when I am taking a selfie. I am afraid that the ropes will break considering my weight. I am actually 50% adventurous and 50% coward. Probably because I have watched to many scary movies especially Final Destination. I overthink things that is stopping me in trying new things.

I usually hear a lot of people saying to somebody that we have to enjoy our lives. Personally I know some people who keeps on saying those lines especially the elderly. Yes I agree that they are already at that point where they need to relax and enjoy their retirement money. Well if you have the money then you can enjoy your life to the fullest. But if you are talking to someone who doesn't have any and is trying to make ends meet, then how can they enjoy their life?

Honestly, I totally agree with them especially people who are already old should be enjoying their life since they only have few years left. But I think enjoying our life doesn't stop when we become adults. We are still entitled to enjoy it while we still can. The past generations have been adopting this lifestyle ever since that sometimes they are too busy making a living that they forget to make a life. Are you familiar with that saying? Now that we are experiencing this pandemic, a lot of us, young or old have been contemplating on how they have spent their lives all these times. Majority of us haven't fully enjoyed our life yet and this pandemic has taught many of us that we really have to enjoy our lives.

As for me, yes I did had a couple of out of the country travels but I have always wanted to travel the world and also explore the whole Philippines, eat some exotic foods and delicacies and do some not so scary activities. If by partying with friends or getting wasted, then I have done a lot of it in the past. But then again the problem is money. Although there are a few experiences where I am proud to say that I have enjoyed my life but not totally the fullest like riding a 4x4 in Paoay, Ilocos Norte, riding a rollercoaster in Enchanted Kingdom and a 30 minute trekking in Kabigan Falls in Ilocos Norte. I admit I do get envy with my friends who have seen aurora borealis, who have been to the blue lagoon or had a photo in a red telephone booth in UK and then I would only end up pitying myself but I know someday I will also be able to tick off a lot on my bucket list.

Conservative sand boarding in Ilocos. I only tried it once for the experience. It wasn't hard to go up and if I wasn't grasping for some air, I would have tried it in a standing position also.

Maybe because I have already enjoyed my life with too much partying and drinking that I now wanted to live my life by going to different places and trying out new things. Maybe because I have had 2 surgeries and that I am getting any older and older each passing day that is why I want to enjoy my life with people who I love and value the most. After this pandemic, I would really want to go to different places and explore new things with my family and friends and I think we all can enjoy our life just by creating wonderful memories together. How would you want to enjoy your life?

P.S. the lead image was the 4x4 experience that we had. It was everyone's first time and we did screamed our hearts out. That time I really wanted to try the ATV since I haven't tried it yet but it costs Php1,000 or $20. I decided to stick with the 4x4 so that my mom can experience it as well. It was Php500 per person so that makes Php1,000 for the 2 of us. Am glad that we did tried it. It was really a good experience. I think it was even more enjoyable than the ATV.

5
$ 5.09
$ 4.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @charmingcherry08
$ 0.05 from @jamesmichelea
+ 1
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Comments

yolo indeed... so we must live it right, be right with God and prepare for the eternal. Let us know what's our purpose here and be a blessing to others.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes it is hard to know our own purpose in life. Emo. Hehe. But I totally agree with everything that you've said, Jean. 🙂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nakapag out of the country kana? Sanag bansa? Hala ssna all nalang ako 😭. Wala pa akong nagagawa na masasabi ko yang YOLO na yan. Ni hindi nga ako makaalis sa bahay. Hanggang dito lang sa bahay at wala na. Diko pa nasubok mag walwal or anything. Ni hindi ko pa naeenjoy ang stay ko da mundo. 26 na ako ha pero hanggang ngsyin andito pa rin ako ngangas.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo sa Malaysia at Singapore pero tagal na nun. Ipon ka na lang muna tapos kapag meron ka na nasave, ayain mo sila mama at mommy mo kahit dito-dito lang muna sa Philippines. Mas maganda kasi yung kasama mo mag-enjoy at travel family mo. Then kung gusto mo solo flight, pwede din naman. Pero ako sa ngayon gusto ko kasama ko sila.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ang galing 🤩, sana nga magawa oa namin yan, 67 na sina mami ko 🙁. Sana kaya pa nila. Mejo matatagalan oa kasi ako ee.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sa akin din nasa senior years na sila mader at pader. May pandemic pa at wala pa naiipon kaya malabo pa mga travel. Pero soon alam ko makakatravel din kami family. Kineclaim ko na. Hehe. Kaya claim mo din. Kaya pa nila mami mo yun. Yun nh Ga lang mabilis na sila mapagod kapag mga lakaran. 😔 pero for sure maeenjoy pa din nila yun

$ 0.00
3 years ago