Water

0 33
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Yesterday I published an article on how I beat the heat this summer. Originally my topic was about saving water but then my introduction had diverted me to a different topic and so I just continued it that way. 

Since summer is already waving at us, I know that a lot of us will take a bath twice in a day. And then we will be reminded by water companies, media and our government to save water. It is hot and all we can do during our present situation is to either take long baths or turn on the aircondition. Still both can contribute to global warming and climate change. But how can we help save our Mother Earth during this tough times? Simply by saving water. 

How many times do you take a bath during summer? Do you use a shower, pail and dipper or a bath tub? We did have a bath tub when we were still kids and I was the one who always dip in it. We don't have a swimming pool so I always take a dip. LOL. I was still young and my height was just right for our bath tub. Afterwards, I would get scolded by my mom because of the water that had overflowed on our bathroom floor. LOL. She would say "nagswimming ka na naman (you swam again)". LOL. Thinking back of how I acted when I was young, I felt so sad for wasting a lot of water before. I didn't know that there was a consequence to my action and behaviour before. 

I prefer using our shower because it directly hits my head especially when I do have migraine attacks.

Now that I am matured enough, I have found out that global warming has been happening even before that I was born. If only we were warned before by then we wouldn't be experiencing climate change now. If only we have been taught on how to conserve water, we wouldn't have water shortage during summer. If people have only been strict about illegal logging,  we would still have a lot of trees that would protect us from floods. 

When we were young we were taught to collect the water that we use when taking a bath so my mom can use it in flushing the toilet. But as time goes by, we matured, we became busy that we haven't done it anymore. The water that we collected from taking a bath or washing our hands is also known as greywater. You can search about it. I don't know how many people are doing that these days but I think if all us in the entire world would be doing that then maybe there is still a chance that we can save our Mother Earth.

There was a movie that I watched last year but I forgot the title. She renovated a house where water from the showers and sinks will go directly to the plants. Brilliant idea don't you think? If you know the title of the movie, please let me know. I feel it was  Vanessa Hudgens but when I checked her filmography I think it's not her. LOL. She had an office job but received an email that she won a house/hotel, quit her job, renovated the house,  met a guy then office was wanting her back but of course you know how the story ended. LOL. Late 2019, I started collecting greywater again and used it to flush our toilet or to clean our pathway and all of the sudden I stopped. If only I have continued to do it maybe we could have save even a few hundreds in our water bill. Philippines have had a water shortage during early 2019 I think and people and businesses have been badly affected. It was because that our dam was already below the critical level. Now I fear that it might happen again. We have collected a lot of water last year during the rainy season but it did reached above the critical level so they had no choice but to open the gates of the dam which have caused extreme floods to many people. It seems like we can never have just the right amount during summer and rainy season. What do you think is the best way for us to conserve water? Have you tried collecting greywater? 

We have told our helper and our laundry helper before to use the water that they collect when doinh the laundry but they only do it if my mom would say it. There was a time that my mom would remind them every week to collect the water until she got tired of repeating the same line over again. When my mom stoped reminding them, they also stopped collecting the water. Whose fault do you think it is? Was it my mom's or our helpers? They aren't the one who is paying the water bill that is why they use and waste it all they want. If you will scold them or tell them that they have to conserve water, they will get mad and wouldn't talk to you the entire day or even days. Yes, they have an attitude that's why my mom got tired of reminding them to save water. There was also a time when I collected the rain water but our helper just threw the water when she could have use it to clean our garage or water the plants. But no she didn't. She had a lot of reasons and even said it was dirty. 

I know that we are all different. There are people who is like our helper who doesn't worry about how much our water bill would be and who doesn't care if all of us would experience a water shortage. But I know that there are also some people who are trying in their own little way on how to conserve water. Give yourself a pat on the back. You are doing a good job! I hope that there will come a time where we do not have to worry about water shortage. I hope that someone can invent or think of something where we do not need to open the gates of the dam whenever it reaches a very high level. I hope that people would understand the consequences of our actions and that we should start saving our planet. It is never too late to do it. We have to love our environment so Mother Earth will love us back even more. 

1
$ 0.58
$ 0.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Comments