The Foodist Diary: Tofu Sisig ala Max's Restaurant

22 22
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: Cooking, Recipe, Food, Journal

Yesterday I have said that I do not know if my day will be productive today as how it was the past couple of days but thankfully I am proud to say that I did some tasks after we had lunch.

Did some unplanned trips to the bank, bathe our dogs when I got back, showered after and then I made tuna spread and tofu sisig ala Max's restaurant.

Perhaps all of us are familiar with tofu. I happened to appreciate tofu when I started my weight loss journey few years back. It was when I was already allowed to eat other than boiled chicken and vegetables and that means I get to eat fried and other food but in moderation and still within my calorie intake per day. But when I was on a diet, the dish that I only know of was salt and pepper tofu. Since I was working in a Chinese restaurant that time, I asked one of my kitchen staff to cook me a tofu ala salt and pepper. In the restaurant that I was working with, we only had salt and pepper spareribs and squid so making a tofu into one would be easy for them.

When I started my cooking videos on my Youtube channel, I remembered to include the salt and pepper tofu so I asked the recipe from my workmate. I got all the ingredients right but I do not know why it was not the same as how my kitchen staffs cooked it for me. I still liked my version of salt and pepper tofu and so as my family and our helper. When my dad tasted it, he request it the week after.

The salt and pepper tofu that I cooked months ago.

However when he tasted my tofu sisig, he said that he likes it more than the first tofu that I cooked. My version of the tofu sisig is the closest that I can make in replicating or hacking Max's tofu sisig. My dad even thought of dinakdakan with my tofu that he wants me to try cooking it sometime. Well he said that last year but I still have not cooked it yet.

Just to give you an information about what I am babbling about. Sisig is a Filipino dish that is made from parts of a pig's face. Do you find if gross? It has that chunkiness especially if it was the ears. Sisig is usually served as an appetizer and many would match it with an ice cold beer. Dinakdakan is slightly the same as sisig however they say that the original recipe consists of pig's brain to make it a little creamier. Though nowadays they put mayonnaise in replace of the pig's brain. I have not yet tried making dinakdakan but I will try it someday but I am going to use pork belly than pig's face. I will surely let you know if I have already cooked and tested it.

For today, I will be sharing with you my recipe of Tofu Sisig ala Max's restaurant. I may have got the name wrong because wheb I searched Max's website, it was called "sizzling tofu". Nevertheless, the taste is about the same.

Ingredients:

[  ] cooking oil
[  ] 1 rectangular block tofu, diced
[  ] ½ cup butter
[  ] 1 onion, diced
[  ] 5 cloves garlic, minced
[  ] 1 red bell pepper, medium diced
[  ] 1 long green chili, sliced
[  ] 3 tbsp. liquid seasoning
[  ] 1 tbsp. soy sauce
[  ] ½ cup mayonnaise

Procedure:

1. Heat oil in a pan and fry the tofu. Set aside.
2. With the remaining oil, add butter.
3. Sauté onion, garlic, bell pepper and chili.
4. Stir in tofu.
5. Add liquid seasoning and soy sauce and wait until liquid has been absorbed.
6. Mix in the mayonnaise.
7. Serve.

Easy right? If you still find if a little confusing, you can watch my video to make it even more clearer and easier.

Can you suggest any other recipe that I can do with tofu? Honestly, today was a tofu day for us. LOL. For lunch we had sautéed pechay (bokchoy) with tofu and for dinner we had tofu sisig. I actually want to try to make a tofu tonkatsu for more than a month now but I am not sure if my family would like it. I guess I have to try it so that I would know if they would like it or not right?

I really love it whenever I am in the kitchen. I do have some worries for days now that it keeps on piling up each passing day. I wanted to share it but I still do not feeling like letting it out. Maybe soon or maybe never but I for now I can say that I am ok and I can still manage. I guess I have to keep on cooking until it gets out of my head. I do have quite a few topics listed on my Notes app. I have also read a lot of articles this day but I do not know why I do not feel like talking about the topics that I have. But let me just share, when I was sleeping last night, I do not know if it was my brain that was talking or it was just a dream but it was like my brain was trying to compose a few sentences for an article. LOL. I wanted to open my eyes and grab my phone to take the opportunity of typing the sentences that was on my mind but I feared that if I would do that, I might not be able to go back to my sleep. Was it a dream or not? But I cannot remember the sentences that popped into my brain that time so I guess it was just a dream.

Anyway, if in case you tried making my recipe, I hope that you can share it with me/us and do also share it on my Facebook page, The Foodist Diary. Or you can just put #TheFoodistDiary on your post. If you also have a dish that you want me to cook, feel free to let me know. I will list it down and will make a budget for that when the time comes.

Lastly, let me know if you have any suggestions or comments with my video so I can improve it in the future. Happy cooking everyone!

P.S. my lead image was the tofu dish that I cooked this evening and I have also posted it on my noise.cash account.

6
$ 4.58
$ 4.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @bmjc98
+ 5
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: Cooking, Recipe, Food, Journal

Comments

Not a fan of tofu until just recently when we went to a beach with the whole fam and two of our closest neighbors. Yung sisig tofu niya, the best din. First time ko and sarap niya. Mas mapapa gana ka sa rice lol.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kami din. Napapadami kami ng kanin kapag ito ang niluluto ko. 😊 kaya iisip pa ako ng ibang dish for tofu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eto nga gusto ko sa birthday ko soon. Para maiba naman.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hindi ko alam kailan exact birthday mo pero I know it's this August kaya greetna kita..happy birthday Mj 🥳

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love tofu... i haven't had one for awhile now.. i must try your recipe and make it baby friendly...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Napaisip ako how to make it baby friendly pero maganda yung idea na yun na cooking videos na baby friendly naman ang content. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

basta no dairy, salt or sugar..baby friendly na yan tapos kung anong ingredients dapat super soft na.hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hmmm, parang ang sarap sarap aaahh.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hindi parang..masarap siya talaga. Hehe. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, the food lookes delicious.😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is one of my specialty and I am proud of this dish because it is something that my dad likes. He seldom says that my dish is delicious so whenever he does, it really melts my heart. 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh. I see. Your dad is hard to please.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi naman. Kahit simpleng ulam ok na sa kanya. Hindi lang niya ugali magpraise pero kung negative feedback ay naku asahan mo marami yan masasabi. Hahaha. Nasanay na kami pero minsan masakit pa din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love tofuuuuu sm. Im drooling right now, umagang umaga. Nagugutom tuloy ako.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hindi ko na nga tiningnan yung photo kasi kahapon ko pa kinecrave si tofu sisig. Kaso wala naman kaming tofu. Pang budae jjigae na yung andito na tofu.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku ang sarap din ni mama magluto ng tofu sisig. Mukhang nakakatakam din yung sayo, pakain naman! 🤧😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kung pwede lang talaga ipadaan sa screen ang mga pagkain ay binigyan ko na kayo. 😃

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oi bet ko yang tofu sisig will visit your channel!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Masarap siya. Isa sa dish na ipagmamalaki ko kasi nagustuhan ng tatay ko. Sobrang bihira kasi siya makaappreciate ng mga food kahit na ba lahat kami ay sarap na sarap pero siya ay ok lang. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahha aliw naman si tatay mo. magaling siya din mag luto?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sadly hindi siya marunong magluto. Hahaha. Kahit magoperate sa stove hindi. Bossing yun. Alam naman niya ibang pangalan ng mga dishes pero kung lulutuin hindi na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah ang kulit! So ang sarap nga talaga malaman pag nagustuhan niya yung naluto!

$ 0.00
2 years ago