Surprise birthday

3 28
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
1 year ago
Topics: Diary, Blog, Journal, Family, Love

I cannot believe that it has almost been a year ago when I surprised my mom with one of her favorite cakes. And now, we had another surprise. Actually, last Friday, my brother and I planned on ordering some food for our mom's birthday celebration. My brother said that they will be celebrating it with us on Sunday. All the while I was thinking that it will be this coming Sunday because we usually do celebrate post birthday and I never really expected that it was yesterday and it was going to be a pre-birthday celebration. So in short, I was also surprised. LOL.

Around lunch time yesterday, someone rang our doorbell and our helper came in holding a lot of food party trays. I panicked because I thought that it was my food orders for my mom's birthday this coming week. I thought that maybe I made a mistake when I ordered last Saturday from a caterer and that they delivered it the following day. I hurriedly opened my Instagram to check on my message with the caterer and I saw that I got the right date for delivery. I immediately walked to the kitchen to check on the food and our helper said that it was my brother's orders. I was so shocked and I called him right away to tell him that his orders came in today. I was already thinking how we are going to eat those foods without my brother. I also thought about what our food would be next week since my brother's orders came on a different day. However, my brother said that it was correct and that they are to head over to our house in less than an hour. It was so funny because even if he already said that they were coming over, I still asked him if they are to come here. LOL. It was like I was really making sure if they were really to come that day. Just before we hang up, I told him that I have not prepared anything. He asked me last Saturday to add some more food, cook my signature pasta dish and make some garlic bread and crostini. He said that it was ok and I can just serve the pasta for early dinner. After we hang up, I realized that my brother did said last Friday that we only have until Saturday to decide on where to buy the food. I saw a few caterers but we ended up with the one that my brother found because they happened to be living here in our subdivision and that means we get a free delivery.

Prawn thermidor, hickory bbq baby back ribs, baked salmon, crispy bagnet kare-kare
My signature pasta dish. Too bad I was not able to take a photo of the garlic bread that I ordered plus lumpiang shanghai

After talking to my brother, I told my parents that we needed to fix ourselves because my brother and his family were coming over. I was the first to take a bath as it has been more than 3 days since my last. LOL. My way of conserving water. LOL. Imagine if the food came in late then probably my brother and his family would have seen us in our slightly dirty look. It was probably Friday when I last combed my hair. I cannot even remember. I find it hard to comb my hair after waking up as my hair is always tangled after waking because it's curly. Anyway, I guess all of us would be surprise to see each other if my brother and his family came before the food.

With the caterers that I found, I decided to order a few dishes for us to eat on the exact day of my mom's birthday. I was suppose to place some orders also this coming Sunday as per my brother's request of additional food but I told myself that we needed to try first if their food will pass my standards. Although, I have already listed down what food to order. I am just glad that I have not yet placed my order for this coming Sunday or else I would have spent a lot for an ordinary day. I was planning to order some lumpiang shanghai, laing, chicken cordon bleu and fried rice. Luckily, I didn't.

Our celebration yesterday may not have any party decorations but I know that my mom was extremely happy not only because of the food that was served but also because she felt so loved most especially by my brother. I just hope that she would also be happy when she sees my surprise for her. It may not be as extravagant as my brother's but it is also something that came from my heart. I just do not know if I will be able to pull another surprise on her just like how I did last year that almost made her cry. I guess we will see on that day.

August 15, 2022

P.S. lead image is our family photo from yesterday's pre birthday celebration.

8
$ 3.30
$ 3.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Ruffa
$ 0.02 from @Itsfarah
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
1 year ago
Topics: Diary, Blog, Journal, Family, Love

Comments

I am glad to see the way you and your brother surprised your mom with different dishes. I am sure she would be happy. Happy birthday to her.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy birthday tita! ♥️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww Happy Birthday to your mudrablelsssss bat di mo ko niinvite 😭 haha charr. Grabidada sasarap ng foodamssss. Sure na sure super happy ang Mom mo 🥳🥳😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago