Pride month

0 19
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: Random, Life, Equality

I was browsing my Instagram account this afternoon and I saw some photos of people with the caption PRIDE in rainbow colors. Then as of drafting this  I am watching The Panti Sisters, a Filipino movie about the 3 sons of a strict father who happens to turn out to be all gay. I have already watched it before in the movie house with my mom. It is really a great movie and all the actors are fabulous.

Gay pride or LGBT pride is a very sensitive topic just like how it is with politics. June has been designated as pride month since former President Bill Clinton declared it 21 years ago. Though pride month is actually celebrated during June as an honor for the Stonewall riots that had happened in 1969. As some people honor the month of June as lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender month, I decided to show my support for them. I have some friends who are bisexuals and sadly some of them are still hiding their genders from their families. We all may have different genders, statuses, races and colors but we are all the same, we are all human and we all have feelings. We should all treat each other equally with love and respect.

There was a time in my life that I liked wearing loose shirts and baggy pants. Loose shirts were a trend before especially for guys but now even the ladies prefer wearing them because they feel comfortable with an oversized shirt. I used to wear loose shirts because I was not comfortable wearing fitted shirts because I can see my fats. Wearing a loose shirt was not that obvious but it makes me look like a "tomboy" or a lesbian. I remember when I was young that my mom would ask me to wear a dress or a skirt but I was not really comfortable with those. But I still wore the dresses that she bought me and sometimes it was only for pictorial purposes as I would change right away to a shirt and pants or shorts. LOL.

Being in an all girls school, I was used to the girls having boyish looks and even dresses like a boy. Most of them were the popular in our school. Though there are also some who does not dress like a boy but admires the people of the same sex. I on the other hand, I did dressed like a guy and I admit that I also did admire other people of my same gender and some of them were the popular in our school. And yes, I also did had a relationship with a girl. It did not last long as she was a year older than me so after a month that she graduated, I ended it with her. I think I told her that my mom found out about us but the real reason was that I realized that I was not that into having a same sex relationship. Heartless heartbreaker right? Though my mom was really suspicious of us because she was a year older than me and we would stay in my room whenever she visited me. Though our relationship was not that compassionate as how it is with other same sex relationships because ours was just exchanging letters, having late night talks and hanging out. My high school friends knew about it and even if they did not had any relationship with the same sex, they accepted me.

I am not ashamed of who I was before for having a relationship with a girl even if it was for a short while. I do not think that it was peer pressure that pushed me to court her since none of my friends had any relationship with a girl. They did have crushes and they also had a lot of admirers but they were just not open to having a relationship. My relationship with her is something that my family does not know. My mom may have been suspicious of us before especially because of her mother's instinct but I do not know if she or my family will accept me if I ended up being a lesbian.

I know that there are some people who still hide what they really are because of many reasons and we need to respect their decision. Whether they are straight or not, I think we just have to accept them for who they are. I think my relationship with my ex girlfriend was an eye opener for me. It made me realized that I was more into guys. I remember one of my workmates who was a gay. We became really close with each other and we somehow know each other by heart. We also have the same likes and dislikes that is why we clicked together. He told me that he had girlfriends before and I think it was with her last girlfriend that he realized that he was not that into girls anymore and that he was more attracted to guys.

Sometimes it is not the environment that influences a person to have a change of heart or gender rather. It is actually what our heart is telling us of who and what we love. The more that we hide it or the more that we deny it, the stronger it grows. Nowadays, more and more people are open about what they truly are although it comes with a price. There are some people who criticize, discriminate and disrespect them. Who are we to judge them? Why can't we just accept that there are really people who wishes that they were born as a girl or a boy? I hope that people should know how to love and respect each other whatever the gender, status, color and race. Let us spread love to each and everyone. 

P.S. lead image is a scene from the movie, The Panti Sisters that I have watched this evening.

3
$ 6.14
$ 5.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Bjorn
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: Random, Life, Equality

Comments