Pretty little liar

6 32
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Pretty little liar. Seems like a title from a drama series right? Lies, lies, lies. What is considered a good lie and a bad lie? Is it really ok to tell a white lie?

Growing up we were taught not to tell a lie as it is also written in the ten commandments, "You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor". If my memory serves me right, I think it is the 8th commandment. The first 2 commandments that I have memorized was the 5th and the 6th commandments because it was the shortest. LOL. When my mom gave me a quiz on the commandments, I answered those 2 first as it was really the easiest to remember. Why is it that we were taught not to lie but when we say the truth, they will get mad? Or why is it that when we lie, they will still end up getting mad for not telling them the truth?

I think there are only a few people who does not lie. Do you still know someone who does not lie? If I were to ask you, if you would have lied to anyone before, would you admit it or deny it? If there is one person with whom I can say I did not lie to I would say that it was with my past flirtationship. I was so open to him that I told him everything yet he still thought that I lied to him. I can lie to my parents, I can lie to my friends but with him, it was just really hard to lie. I do not know why I cannot lie to him or hide things from him. I just love telling him everything and anything.

There was a time when my friends and I have set our Christmas dinner and I have already said yes. My past flirtationship and I have already agreed that we would see each other after my dinner with my friends. I would just have to wait for him if he was still not out from work or he would wait for me if my friends and I aren't done yet. But then he decided that he would just clock out early and he said he wanted for us to have dinner instead. It was actually one of the most painful moments in my life. I tried convincing him to just join us for dinner but he said he would just go home if I do not want to have dinner with him. Of course I chose him over my friends. To think that my friends already knew that I was around the area. I told 2 of my friends that truth about choosing him over them and they told me how sad one of our friends was. They even prepared a plate for me full of different dishes and a glass of margarita and waited for me until 12 midnight. I forgot what lame excuse I told my them but I know I said it was for work so that they would understand. I lied for choosing my happiness that was not worth it at all. Bitter? LOL. I lied to some of my friends because most of them do not know about my love life. I only told them bits of it when it was over and I told them that I would not hide anything from them in the future.

Of course there were also some lies that I have said to my parents but mostly to my mom. I remember I used to lie to her that I was still at work but I was already out drinking with my workmates. Then when I started telling her the truth, she would always send angry texts messages and wanted me to go home right away. Then she got tired of getting angry at me that she would just text me to go home because it's already late and I will just reply that I will text her when I am on my way home. There were times that I would be homr by 7AM. LOL. And my mom would not talk to me for days. I have to make a good impression to her again by going home right after work and then I would go on drinking again after a week. LOL.

I admit that I was a liar and I know that I lie not for good reasons. There were also some lies that I make in order to protect the other person. Whether we have a good or not so good intention, lying is still lying right? But that does not mean that I do not know how to tell the truth. I tell the truth especially when I know that it is for the other person's own good. I tell the truth to someone so that he or she can still correct whatever it is that he or she needs to change. I do not sugarcoat things and I tend to say what it is that I have observed.

My friends used to slap me with an honest truth way back. They told me things that would hurt my feeling but they only wanted me to grow and learn. I remember my friends and I were out drinking and one of them asked me when will I apply for work. One of them answered that I already have a restaurant and it was Restaurant City. The 2 of us laughed so hard but our other friend was so pissed. Restaurant City was one of the popular games on Facebook before alongside Farmville. I have been addicted to it when I was a bum. I can never forget that night because it was a night of laughter that turned into a night full of lectures. Yes, I was hurt when I became the topic during that night but I know that they just told me the truth because they want what's best for me. The bond that my friends and I have was like of a family. We can actually tell everything hurtful to each other but we do not take it into heart. I think it is better to be hurt by the truth than to be comforted with a lie.

Can you not lie for a month? How about 3 months? Half a year? A year? For me I think it is really challenging. Last week my dad asked me how much was my dollar savings and I told him that it was already in maintaning balance. But actually there was still $200 extra that I am saving in case I would need some money for my bills. Was it a good or a bad lie? Then few months ago my mom asked my where I got the money when I treated them to a pizza. I said that there was a promo on Grab and I used my Grab points even if I really used my earnings here.

The reason why I did not tell my dad that I have some bills to pay because I know he would get mad if he finds out that I have debts. The reason why I did not tell my family that I earn some money despite being unemployed is because she might ask money from me. Currently, I still cannot give them money because it is only enough to pay for my debts. There is this heaviness that I feel whenever I lie to my parents. I hope someday I can be honest to them and not hide anything from them. The same goes for you if you are also keeping something from your family and friends. When was the last time you lied?

P.S lead image was a scene from the Filipino movie, Four Sisters and a Wedding. I was looking for a selfie of mine but I realized that I do not have some selfies on my phone. LOL. And I saw the photo that I captured and posted on noise.cash before. If you have watched the movie, you would know why the lead image is so fitting for my topic.

6
$ 17.44
$ 17.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
$ 0.05 from @Pisces-jr15
+ 1
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Comments

I think, no person living in this world who doesn't lie. We all do and that's normal. Some lies because they want to protect something and some just want to. We can't stop people from lying but we can can start with ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally agree that we can start with ourselves. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, everyone lies. I think walang tao na never pa nag lie.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun nga kahit todo isipin ko pa kung sino hindi nagsisinungaling eh wala ako maisip. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone has lied and I don't think one would come out and say he or she hasn't lied before. Most times, we lie just to cover ourselves and most times, we lie in favor of another person but to be sincere, we shouldn't keep lying to the extent that one would not know when we are saying the truth.

I have always lied to my parents and even my Aunt. There was a day I bought some groceries at home and my Aunt asked where I got the money from, I just told them I sold my small coin I was having. I didn't want to tell her the truth so she won't always ask for money from me 😀

Let our integrity speak for us always and we shouldn't allow our lies be more than the truth.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We have the same reasons of not telling the truth where our money came from. LOL. Everything you have said was so on point. 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago