My scars (part 7)

3 19
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

During those times that my wound was open, I was so stressed that I kept on consulting Dr. Google with my condition but I can't find the reason why my it did not close even with the staples and 2 out-patient surgeries; which I know is already considered as a minor surgery. I was thinking that it was probably because I was fat that my stomach kept on pulling my skin on both sides that is why it won't close. Though the good thing was the stitches inside were still intact. Because I saw one post on Facebook before where his father also had an appendectomy but his intestines burst out. His cut was even longer than mine. Midline cut as well. Even my surgeon does not know why my wound would not close. Thank God there was no infection but the healing was too slow. 

I am strong when it comes to blood and surgeries. But at the same time I can also feel the pain and get a little weak just by reading or watching. My mom and dad does not like to look at wounds so I was really thankful that our helper was here and she was not afraid of blood and big wounds. It would have been too hard for me to clean my own wound if she was not here. Although when I first saw how long my cut was, I got a little weak that I did not want to see the cut and those staples. However I still took a picture of it and look at it from time to time. LOL. Then after a few days, I was able to look at my actual wound and even stare at it. 

Warning: I will be posting my healed scar towards the last part of my article so I understand if you eill not continue finishing this article and I would also like to apologize if you will be grossed out by it.

When my friend and my cousin who just gave birth a few months ago told me to wear a binder, I immediately told my mom about it. The binder helped me to get up in bed. Because when I was in the hospital and when I got home, I find it hard to get up from my bed. I did saw some tips from Dr. Google but still it was hard for me probably because it was a vertical cut. It was also hard for me to sit up straight that is why I always wanted my seat to be slightly reclined. 

It was also hard for me to take a bath because I was afraid that the water would go inside my wound as it was so deep. My surgeon said that it was ok but I kept on telling him that it might get infected. I am scared of wounds getting infected as it was the case with my mom's foot. My mom and our helper would be the one to bathe me. Either I will seat in the toilet or a plastic stool and we would use the bidet or the shower. And because it was such a hassle, I take a bath every other day or every after my check ups. There was a time that my check ups were every other day. We tried using the waterproof plastic films (Nexcare tegaderm) but water would still go inside. It was really so hard not just for me but for my whole family as well. My dad would drive us to the hospital and my mom would accompany me. 

I have documented all of my progress with regards to my wound. I did took a lot of pictures of it everytime we would change my dressing or would go to the hospital. Then I would take a video if my doctor would tell me how to clean my wound properly so that I can show it to our helper. Do you know the feeling of cleaning your navel? That is how my surgeon would clean my wound but like I have said that he was like sautèeing or scooping something from a deep pot. Just like with my mom, I also did took a lot of pictures and videos of her foot.

But after few months, I was just so happy to see my wound went from deep to shallow until it close on its own. How deep? Maybe almost as long as of a cotton buds. We use the swab that you see that is being use for COVID swab tests so I could not tell exactly how deep it was. I even had a video of my surgeon where he was cleaning my wound as if he was just sautèeing some ingredients or he mixing a soup on a deep pot. LOL. 

If it wasn't for the 2 post op surgeries, my scar would have been a straight line. But no it looks like a centipede. LOL. There was even a time when the lower part have already closed and the upper part was still open, it kind of looks like a dragonfly. LOL. 

Since I had the dressing for a long time, my skin became sensitive with the micropore or surgical tapes even the heavy duty tapes. When we would remove the tape, my skin would peel off. So we would try to place the tapes alternately then from horizontal to vertical just so it would not touch the part where there was no skin.

Months after my appendectomy (removal of appendix) and salpingectomy (removal of fallopian tube), I felt I have started to be forgetful which did not happen to me during my cholecystectomy (removal of gallbladder). I am positive that it is because of the anaesthesia that was used during my second operation.  During my first operation, my anaesthesiologist said that it would not make me forgetful as I will only inhale the anaesthesia. And I can attest to that I was not forgetful after that operation. My memory was still sharp. But now I am really forgetful. What more if I will give birth? 

When it healed we noticed that it shrank a little or maybe because I am gaining some fats again. I cut the picture because my hair is already showing. It looks like a centipede right?

Anyway, I am just so thankful that I have survived not just one but 2 operations and another 2 out patient surgeries. That is why I am eager to earn a lot of money so that I can get a health and life insurance. Even if my second operation was open and not laparascopic (small incisions), our hospital bill was half of my first operation. But I think if I was admitted to that hospital, I guess our bill would be times 5. Getting hospitalized gets costly each passing year especially during now that it is pandemic. Having savings and insurances can be a really big help to us during tough times. Always remember that health is wealth. I know it is easier said than done and it may be a little scary for some but I think having an annual general check up is a must either young or old and healthy or sickly. 

5
$ 4.74
$ 4.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Comments

Eto yung sa puson na cut sis?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yup, sa my puson. Few inches below ng pusod tapos hanggang sa may ibabaw ng hair. 😢 hindi pa man din ako nakakapag 2 piece ala Ivana eh di mas lalo na hindi pwede. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. Ma bubuild mo rin confidence mo. Scars are proofs that we are strong survivors ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago