My scars (part 3)

6 39
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

My dad got home probably around 9PM. Again my dad was angry at me. He told me that I was already feeling that since morning and I did not say a word. He said that if I have said it earlier then he should not have gone out. As if that he would bring me to the hospital right away if I told him what I was feeling. Probably he would say that it was because of my weight and eating habits again. Then they were thinking of which hospital to bring me because some hospitals do not accept non-COVID patients. We can't go to the same hospital where I had my gallbladder removal because we know for sure that they are full. The hospital where my mom was operated was full as well as per our neighbor. My mom just said to look for athe nearest hospital that can accommodate us. 

When they were driving, we remember there was one small hospital. When we got there, they were close as they were disinfecting the place. The good thing about that hospital is that they do not accept COVID patients. How did I know about it? They had a sign at the door. So we do not know again which hospital but I said there was one after that small hospital. If it is still close then we would have to cross to the other side which was near A's place. Remember A? My friend whom I went with the same school from grade school to college? The hospital near their place was our last resort. But thankfully we were accommodated in the second hospital that we went to. 

We went to the emergency room around 10PM and the place was very different from the hospital that I had my first surgery. When they had to collect my urine sample, there was no comfort room in the emergency room and I had to walk to the other side of the hall. When I got there, one toilet seat was close. I thought that someone just closed it and when I lifted it, peekaboo! Gross! I went to the second cubicle and did my thing and went back to the emergency room. It was the only time I saw a hospital with few people and cars. When my blood results came back, the doctor said that it was possible that it was appendicitis. They asked my mom if I were to be confined in that hospital so that they can schedule the surgery the following day. We waited for my dad since he only parked our car. 

We all could not decide whether I should have my surgery there and we don't know any doctors in that hospital. Then the medical personnel also told us that if I were to be confined in that hospital, I should have my guardian to look after me but senior citizens are not allowed. They also told us that me and my guardian would have to be negative of the virus. COVID tests are mandatory and it will be added to our bill if we decide that I would be admitted there. The 3 of us were having a hard time to decide but we did not have any other choice since it was already night time and the chances of us to look for another hospital was pretty slim because of the virus. And we all know that I have to get the surgery immediately because I might get poisoned if my appendix would burst so we chose to get admitted there. 

It was 12AM when we have made our decision and I was only transferred to my room past 5AM. What took us so long in the emergency room? It was my veins. My parents went home first to fetch our helper so that she could be the one to look after me in the hospital. They came back after an hour and left at 3AM because they couldn't wait for me to be transferred to my room as it was taking forever for them to look for my veins. The nurses really had a hard time finding a good vein. I know I am fat and my veins are hiding so it isn't really visible through the naked eye. I think it was 4 nurses who tried to poke me so many times. The person who was able to find my vein only poked me twice. The first one was a fail as he was under pressure since he was needed in one floor. When he came back, he was shocked to see that they still couldn't find any good vein on me and then with another shot, he nailed it. 

Just some of the pokes that I got from the nurses. I felt like I was a voodoo doll that they were practicing on how to find the good vein

I found out when my mom was hospitalized that not all veins that you see is good for IV insertion. Since my mom was in the hospital for almost a month, they had to change the IV site when it becomes swollen. The first few sites where good but then they had a hard time after. I remember how swollen my mom's hands were during that time and finding a good vein is really a tough one. 

After 10 days, it still has bruise. This was the one of the worst experiences I had in that hospital. The nurse told me that my vein popped. But days after I have noticed that it had a bump. When I got home it started to have a slight bruise that it became bigger and bigger. Notice the other dot on top? Was also because of the poking. The horizontal scar was from my "bleeding time" site from my first surgery. I don't know why in my second operation they did not get my bleeding time. By the name itself you might know what it means already. If not I think they time how long you bleed with a cut. During my first surgery, they had this paper which was kind of like a coffee filter paper. It would like like an analog clock because of the traces of blood. Can you imagine what I am talking about? LOL. The blood lines were like the minutes.

Before my parents left that morning, my mom was already pissed at how long the nurses took them in finding my vein. Then one of them was saying that it was because I was fat and that my good veins were hiding. Oh, I also remembered that this particular nurse kept on asking me if I wasn't pregnant. Aside from being a smoker, they also ask about your last menstrual period for us ladies to rule out if you are pregnant or not. Because I have missed periods for so long, she was thinking that I was pregnant even if I have said that I am not. I just kept my cool when 2 nurses, one on each side were poking me. Even when I was a few pounds lighter and younger before, my veins were really hard to find. During that time my fear was the next IV site would be on my foot. My cousin and his wife who are nurses told me before about that. I also saw it with my godfather and godson. I was just so happy that after a lot of poking, someone finally found a perfect IV site. But I think if it is for surgery, my IV should be at my hand and the needles of IV cannula are different. As far as I know it is bigger if it is for surgery. I am not so sure so correct me if I am wrong. 

Notice the yellow bruise and the dot? This was on my right hand and this were just on the surface of my hand.

I had a lot more experiences with this hospital that I will continue on my next article.

9
$ 15.20
$ 15.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
$ 0.05 from @Bjorn
+ 1
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Comments

Mahilig ka ba sa suka ang maanghang sis?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Suka? Oo kapag nakain ako mga fishball at kwek-kwek tapos sa lumpiang togue. Hinihigop ko pa pero hindi naman palagi kasi bihira lang ako may maabutan na nagtitindi dito sa amin.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay nako, grabe maka trigger yan ng hyperacidity sis. Jan tayo nagsisimula diba? Jan ako galing. Pero di ako mahilig sa suka. Sadyang ng ski skip ako ng meals kaya ngka ulcer ako

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thankful naman ako na hindi ako umabot sa ulcer. Hirap din kapag may ulcer. Dinedescribe sa akin ng friend ko. Tapos bawal na daw sa softdrinks tama ba? Pero ako ever since acidic na talaga. Highschool ako nung mapansin ko nangingitim mga fancy necklaces kahit silver pa. hehe. Or yung mga pakaw.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo, basta mga acidic na foods. Talagang kontra yan ng ulcer.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Get well soon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago