My career path

0 23
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

My previous article was about the Wrong Decisions in my life and by now you already have an idea about my career. Like I have mentioned in my article that I have been working in a food industry. 

I was a service crew at a coffee shop when I first started my career in the food industry. I remembered that when my friend and I were applying for a job, the other applicants were asking us if we were applying for a managerial position because we were in our complete business attire. During that time, business attires wasn't a thing yet so some applicants feel that we were too overdressed. We were just following what our school has taught us. But after some time because I have the most experienced of applying for a job every so often, I already noticed that some applicants are now wearing business attires for a job interview. For me business attires make a person look smart. I admire the applicants that wear those attires especially in tropical countries like the Philippines. 

Going back to my first job. I enjoyed being a service crew because I get to meet and interact with different kinds of people. My job then was rotational. There was a time that I will be in front-of-the-house and there are times that I am at the kitchen. I enjoyed it probably because it was my first job and I was already earning. Little did I know that my parents were heartbroken when they saw me doing all those kind of tasks. They wanted me to quit my job but I firmly told them that I was enjoying. Back then the minimum wage was around Php300-350 per day. My salary was for mine alone and I wasn't obligated to share with the expenses in our house. I didn't have any savings during that time nor did I bought something lavish. So I also don't know where my salary went. 

All of my jobs were always in a restaurant but I wasn't a service crew, a kitchen staff or a barista forever. I was easily promoted to a management trainee up to a supervisor or a manager because of my hardwork, dedication and attitude towards my work. 

Sad to say but still my parents weren't happy with the accomplishments that I have attained. For my dad I know that he wanted his children to be a lawyer but it was only my brother who followed in his footsteps. As for my mom, the only thing that I can see is that I ain't making a lot of money in my past jobs. She's the one who was very eager in convincing me to work in a hotel, airline, cruise or abroad because for her there is more money there. 

My dad had stopped convincing me to take up law but when I made up my mind, it was already too late for me. He wouldn't be able to pay for my tuition because he was already retired. He told me that if I had only listened to him way, way back, I may have been a lawyer by now. Well we really don't know if I will be able to finish law school especially that I am not a good public speaker. I hate making speeches in front of everyone else, I have stage fright, I hate interviews and most especially, I hate recitations. LOL. But who knows maybe I would have overcome my fears if I had been a law student. 

Then there goes my mom. Whenever she finds out that there's a job that earns a lot, she will tell it to me and if she felt that I am not interested, she will really tell me to apply for that position. But because I was an obedient daughter, I did apply for those that she had mentioned. Of course I only told her the ones that didn't call back. I felt like she's pushing me to work for a company that I have no interest in because of high salary. I was already contented even before when my salary was around Php300. I know that parents only want what's best for their children but they shouldn't be too pushy as it is making me feel more worthless. 

I only started sharing with the expenses around the house after a decade of working because during that time I had already a clear mindset and that is to share with the expenses, give back to my parents and save. But then I resigned without even thinking of my future. I know that my parents are very frustrated in me as I still don't know where my career path is leading me. 

It is just so sad that it was only my brother who supports me with most of my decisions especially in having a business and even a Youtube channel. Even before I started my crunchy chili garlic in oil, my brother would suggest the businesses that I should try. His suggestions are still on my list as I am taking one step at a time. 

My advice in choosing a career, choose the one you that you are really passionate about. Did you know that my first choice was Interior Design? I only did wrote it because it was one of the courses that I already had in mind. It was my first choice because the brother of my closest friend told me and one of our friends that we should not put BS-HRIM (Bachelor of Science – Hotel Restaurant Institution Management) as our first choice. I forgot his reason why so when we passed the college entrance exam, my friend and I told the school administration that we will be going for our second choice of course. 

How about you? How do you figure out your career? Was it your decision or you had no choice? I had my reasons why I took up that BS – HRIM. You already know that this was  my ticket to working in a cruise ship and the second reason was that I found out that we would be having some local and international travels. Who wouldn't want that right? A student travelling with her schoolmates but of course we still have to pay for that but it was because of this course when I experience a lot of first. My first plane ride and my first out of the country. I know that my reasons were too shallow as if it wasn't really well thought of. I don't regret what has already happened but if only I made some wiser decisions, I guess things might turn a little different. But there's no point in sulking over the past because I can make a wiser decision and start again. I know that the younger ones maybe more experienced and successful than me but even if I grow slow and that I still haven't figured out some things, I should always keep on moving and to never stop reaching my goals. 

3
$ 8.07
$ 8.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Comments