Migraine

0 23
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago
Topics: Truth, Blogging

Migraine: sometimes song. Sometimes a condition. 

Did you know that Migraine is also my favorite song? It is a Tagalog song and it is really good. Not only it is my favorite song but I have been experiencing this kind of condition since I was a kid. I remember my mom brought me to Fiesta Carnival, the first amusement park in the Philippines but sadly it closed down by the year 1990s. You may figure out how old I am because of that. LOL. My mom let me rode in one of the rides there and I felt dizzy and nauseated after then I vomitted when we were already at home. Growing up whenever my head hurts, I was always nauseous that the only way to solve it was for me to vomit. I don't like forcing myself to puke as I want it to come out on its own. But vomitting really helps relieve my head ache. Little did I know that what I was feeling back then was called migraine. I was probably in highschool when I found out about it. I didn't consult any doctor but it was what my mom's friend told me. 

When I was a kid my mom would give me Paracetamol but I only ended up throwing it up because I would vomit everything that I had taken probably 2 hours before I vomit. Since then I never took any Paracetamol. When I was already working, my workmate told me about an over the counter pain reliever because it worked for her. It worked for me but sometimes I need to take 2 of it for my migraine to go away. I stopped when I realize that it doesn't work for my anymore. 

Then I consulted our family doctor and she told me that the causes of it are too much caffeine and oversleeping or lack of sleep. Check and check! I was working in a coffee shop before and I was entitled for free coffee every shift so that triggers my migraine. I stayed away from coffee but every now and then I still had migraine attacks. I remember she also mentioned smoking and drinking. Double check again. But I quit smoking 2 years ago and I occasionally drink now. Good girl right?

So when I had the chance to have a one-on-one talk with my uncle who was an anaesthesiologist, I asked him about migraine and contrary to what our family doctor had said, he told me that caffeine can cure migraine. So which is which now? They both said the same thing about lack of sleep and oversleeping. He told me that I should have at least 7-8 hours of sleep per day. Not less than or over because it will really trigger my migraine. He also told me that if the weather is too hot and too bright, then I am in big trouble. He also said something that there is an aura that I can sense when I am going to have an attack like there is something in my vision but I really cannot sense it. He told me that Paracetamols and pain relievers cannot really help relieve migraines so he prescribed me a medicine that is really for that and boy oh boy it costs a lot. He told me to just take it when I can't bare the pain. For almost Php300 per tablet, I surely will only take it when it hurts so bad. It sure was very effective as I felt it in my nerves doing all the magic that in less than 30 minutes my migraine was gone. 

Now I only drink coffee when I know that the weather will be extremely hot. Sometimes coffee can't really solve it. I also apply oil linaments now whenever it hurts. It relieves the pain sometimes but often times I just stay in my room with no lights and sounds and pressing the side of my temple and eye which side it hurts. Fan and aircondition switched on to cool my head. I do shower before hitting the sheets. Just like with coffee and oil linament, taking a shower sometimes relieves the pain. 

So what exactly is migraine? As far as I know is that it is an intense headache usually on one side of the head that can last for hours and days. It can often be accompanied with nausea and vomitting. You are also sensitive to lights, sounds and smell when you have migraine. Personally, my migraines affect my daily life because I really can't work properly. 

The other day I just had a migraine attack and also yesterday that's why I wasn't able to publish any article. I can only look at my phone's screen for 5 minutes or less. i'll try to make it up today. The other day I slept as early as 6PM because I really couldn't bare the pain. Then I woke up at 1AM and my migraine was gone. Slept again at 5AM and woke up around 8AM. I think I shouldn't have gotten back to sleep because for me it's part of oversleeping that's why I had another migraine yesterday plus the sun was too bright. I didn't stare at the sun but the light that goes inside our house, there's no escaping that. Plus our house hits the afternoon sun. Yes, it's really hot here especially during summer. 

Do you have migraines? What do you do about it? 

Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 6.23
$ 6.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Alexis12
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago
Topics: Truth, Blogging

Comments