Managing a restaurant (part 2)

6 697
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago
Topics: Tips, Experiences

Remember the keywords that I have mentioned in the first part of my article? Just a recap, funds, schedule or manpower, equipments, food and non-food items are what I like to check when starting my shift. Though it would be easier if it is written in a manager's logbook. A manager's logbook is one thing that most restaurant's have. Basically it is a communication logbook between managers or supervisors. A logbook is very important specially it endorses what problems or observation a manager had during his/her shift. 

Typically a manager's logbook consists of the keywords that I have mentioned above or APEPO in some restaurants. 

A - audit

P - people

E - equipments

P - people

O - others 

I'm sure you already know what to write in others. It is where you endorse something to the AM/PM shift manager that is not included in APEP like for example, a customer complaint or a surprise visit from the area manager or the owners. 

I usually write in the manager's logbook at least an hour before closing time. Having the APEPO guide makes my task easier in endorsing what I need to say to my co-manager especially if you are on PM shift. Imagine if the manager of PM shift didn't endorsed anything on the logbook and you'll only be able to know that you don't have funds once you opened the vault and you already have a guest who also doesn't have loose bills. Hassle right? How about equipments? The PM manager didn't endorsed about a broken blender and you used it causing a minor damage to you and the store. If things are properly endorsed, you will know right away what to do. That is usually the first thing that I do upon starting my duty, check the manager's logbook. 

The staff can also have a logbook but it isn't always formal. I have read a staff's logbook and they were fighting in the logbook because of no back up or someone didn't report to work so someone took over the shift even if he/she has important things to do. Though it was actually fun to read the staffs' logbook. LOL. Sometimes you'll see their grudge over one manager. If you want to have a staffs' logbook, be sure to always check it from time to time. Remind them to only write stuffs concerning the operation. For example, I wasn't able to finish the inventory,  please finish it for me before the store opens. Or I couldn't find one pack of iced tea, please find it for me. Though these stuffs should also be reported to the manager on duty so that he/she will be able to endorse it to his/her co-manager. 

After checking the logbook, in some restaurants they have a readiness checklist per shift. Honestly I think this is ok when your business is still starting and/or when employees are still adjusting with the flow of the operations. In the readiness checklist for the employees, it actually has a lot of tasks that he/she has to do. Both manager, kitchen and dining staff has one to tick all the tasks in the readiness checklist. Actually the logbook is the more narrowed version of the readiness checklist. 

I remember in one of the restaurants I have worked with, I have to check all the corners of the restaurant and look for dirt or dust that is being neglected to clean by the staffs for example with the displays on the wall, merchandise area, the menu board or even at the top of the cabinets or below the cashier register. When I was already familiar with the readiness checklist, I just ticked all the tasks and note on the remarks if there are any busted lights or broken chair. Though the readiness checklist is there for double checking especially if your co-worker forgot to mention something in the logbook. 

Logbook, check! Checklist, check! What's next to do is inventory. I hate daily inventories but it is really important in the business for you to know if you are over your percentage cost. I like doing inventories when the restaurant is newly opened because you'll get to monitor everything from the start. From the number of chairs down to the number of paper bags that you have. The same goes for the number of woks down to the number of salt.

Why is inventory important? Not only will you able to monitor your costs but you will also know if someone has been stealing products from you. You will also be able to monitor if the number of your plates is adequate for the number of your store's seating capacity. Imagine you have 50 seating capacity but you only have 30 dining plates. How would the other 20 guests eat if they don't have plate? Yes it is not always you will have a full house or a restaurant full of guests but it is better to have more than less right? I forgot how much you should have in terms of cutleries in a restaurant. I think it is better to have at least 50% extra of your store's seating capacity. So if it is 50, you have to have 75 dining plates. Well it still depends on you on how much you want to have for extra especially we can't control the breakages and the flow of guests. For glasses, it has to be doubled or tripled because you have to have one for the drinks and one for water per guest. 

P.S I will be using the same lead image with all of my Managing a restaurant articles. I haven't been connected with the restaurant. Like I said the photo was from the last time I ate in a restaurant.

8
$ 10.57
$ 10.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.03 from @leejhen
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago
Topics: Tips, Experiences

Comments

Managing a restaurant is really a huge work. From the logbook, checklist, inventory, you should always be mindful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes it really is a huge work that some people thinks that it is an easy job but in reality it is tiring and sometimes toxic but fun at the same time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed! I super agree, but what's important is that we are continuing our jobs.and we finish something, that's rewarding in our part.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sad to say that I am unemployed for years now. I started applying again last year but then the pandemic happened. I cannot apply now because of my fear of contracting the virus especially that I work in a food establishment where I am in contact with a lot guests. I cannot put my health to risk as well as my parents who are now old since I am still living with them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is why I shifted from Accountancy to Banking and Finance :D May konek? hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. Wow numbers. Ako Interior Design to Hotel and Restaurant 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago