Life during pandemic (part 6)

6 27
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

I know most of us have already went out to run some errands in groceries, drug stores and banks. Those are just the top 3 places that I have frequent to for the past 10 months. You can include the hospital when I was hospitalized and had my follow up check ups because I went there for 4 consecutive months. Other than those 4 places, there was one time when I went to the city hall to pay for our annual property tax. Good thing that it had no long queues and the process was very fast. Since I was already in the area, we drove to a nearby restaurant. Aside from city hall and a restaurant, there was also a time that I went to a coffee shop to claim my free birthday drink. 

When was the last time you have eaten in a restaurant? Have you went to any restaurants during this present situation? Can you share a story about your experience dining out? During that time that I went to the restaurant, dine in wasn't allowed yet. It was ok because we really don't intend to eat out. But I applaud that restaurant for having. a great flow for take out. I don't know how it is in some restaurants but I know that it differs from one restaurant to another. I got to ask some of my friends before who are working in the food industry and they have told me about the new normal in terms of dine in and take out.  

Because it was a stand alone restaurant, the entrance door is where you would place your orders. Only one door was open but they have already put a table for order taking so no one can get inside.

Because of the fear of contracting the virus, some establishments have put up plastic or acrylic barriers in some over-the-counter set-ups. My sentiments over the use of plastic again. Not only this pandemic has affected us humans in many aspects but it has also damaged our environment by the excessive use of plastics. I know that some establishments and even in public transportations who doesn't have budget for acrylic barriers have no choice but to use plastic covers but is there an alternative for plastic covers if in case they couldn't afford the acrylics? 

This was their al fresco area before. The window panels are connected to the main dining that they were able to make it into a waiting and receiving area.

Other than plastic barriers, there are some restaurants who uses disposable plates and cutleries for dine in. If it is for take out, some restaurants still uses plastic containers in storing food. How can we control the use of plastic during the new normal? I know that there are now biodegradable disposable plates and cutleries but do all restaurants uses them? I feel like most of us are too focused on the whole COVID issue that we neglect that we are slowly forgetting how to take care of the environment. Instead, I feel like majority of us are now taking part in plastic pollution. 

I have nothing against these establishments that uses disposable plates, cutleries, cups and packaging but I hope that there will be an alternative for those. Remember when I said that I went to a coffee shop to claim my free birthday drink? Because it was free, I brought my tumbler to the store but sad to say that as the store's safety precaution, they didn't allow personal tumblers. I have no idea about that because it was just the only time that I went to a coffee shop during this tough times. I understand the reason why they don't allow the use of tumblers and I respect their decision. Companies wouldn't want to put their employees, customers and businesses at risk. But little do they know that they are putting our environment to risk. 

I can't think of how we can limit the use of plastic during the new normal nor do I know any alternative for it. My only advice is if ever you decided to eat out, please bring your own set of utensils, a cup or a tumbler and if possible a plate. But that would be a little weird right? The only missing would be to bring your own dining tables and chairs and you have your own dining area. LOL. The best and smartest choice would be to just eat home cooked meals at the comfort of our homes. How about our cravings? Let's go for a take out or delivery. I'd rather choose the latter because we are not that expose to the unseen virus. Not unless the delivery rider is asymptomatic which I hope and pray that it wouldn't happen. 

No matter how much I love to eat out and to satisfy my cravings, I couldn't do it because of the fear of this silent virus. We do have a few food deliveries last year and I was happy because there are some restaurants that use carton boxes in storing their food. I hope that all restaurants should look for an alternative with the use of plastic so that we can still take part in the battle against plastic pollution. Yes I want us to win over COVID-19 but let us not forget to take care of our environment. Global warming started years ago yet each passing day, we are unknowingly accelerating it rather than slowing it down. When we were under lockdown, we saw the change in the air we breathe in. I don't know if you have noticed it but skies were clearer and bluer when mostly all of us were contained in our houses. Air pollution had decreased during that but there was an increase in plastic consumption. You can also include a few number of face masks that weren't disposed properly. Improper disposal of these face masks and plastics contribute a lot to our environment causing climate change. Just last year, Philippines has been badly hit by a lot of typhoons that caused floods in some areas. Then I think a year before that we also have experienced water shortage. Every year the effects of such pollutants have brought a big impact not just in the Philippine history but also in other countries. Let us all be cautious of our actions especially when it concerns about Mother Earth. 

3
$ 7.90
$ 7.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Firenze
$ 0.01 from @Purebeauty
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Comments

I just tried fast food and aside from it's lonely.. yes, balik sa plastic again because of covid. Bringing own cutlery. Others who practicing a zero waste lifestyle do that. They can't use pa siguro ng biodegradable kasi mas magmamahal

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Pero kasi baka 5-10% pa lang ng Filipinos are practicing zero waste lifestyle. Reusable straw pa lang ako before tapos yung tumbler ko exclusive for water lang. ang hassle kapag magdadala pa ako extra for non-water pero nagawa ko mga twice. Hehe. Nakakahiya kasi Pepsi tumbler tapos yung restaurant Coke products 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha tamaaaa.. Iba brand ng tumbler.. Ako straw, ung soap, shampoo bar. Kaso nwala kc ung gastos 💔 mahirap din isustain kc lalo tumbler.mgnda yan kapag my sskyan

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo ideal siya para sa may mga kotse. Kaso dagdag air pollution naman. Carbon footprint ba tawag don? Yung water tumbler yun talaga lagi na ako may dala. Sayang din kasi kapag bibili ng tubig. Naalala ko tanong ng kapatid ko kung bakit may dala ako lagi tubig. Di pa man din ako nakakasagot sinabi ba namang "wala kang pambili ng tubig noh?". 🤣 totoo naman wala ako pambili ng tubig pero mas main reason ko is para di makadagdag sa plastic consumption.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do not remember when we last time eaten in restaurant.Last year here was lock down,these year is the same.Nothing changes.They said that maybe on spring they will alloww us to live a little bit normally life.I hate this corona virus.I thought wars are the worst thing that could happen to us but now I see that a little virus will destroy us.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Yes this is really way worst than any war as it affects us physically, mentally, socially, spiritually and financially. The last time I have eaten in a restaurant was around February 28-March 1. Let's just hope and pray that this will all be over. 🙏🏼

$ 0.00
3 years ago