Life during pandemic (part 1)

0 37
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

The last time my friends and I gathered in one place was last February. We see to it that we get to reunite with each other at least once a month. And then the pandemic happened that our scheduled date for March was postponed. It was suppose to be a surprise baby shower for one of our friends. We didn't want to risk everything so we decided not to pursue it. We still communicate through some messaging platforms but not all the time. Unlike when there is no pandemic, every month we get to know about each one's latest buzz.

Out of 5 of my closest friends, I was able to see 2 of them. 1 of them was because of the crunchy chili garlic in oil that she ordered from me that she herself came to pick up. The first time she went here, visitors weren't allowed to enter our subdivision so I met her outside. It was just a quick grab and go with a little chit-chat. The second time that she came here, she was able to go inside our village. I asked her to come in but for safety protocols, we just stayed in our garage. We had a 10 minute update about what's going on in our lives.

When my sister-in-law celebrated her birthday at their house, their driver picked us up so we don't have to book a Grab (like Uber) or ride a cab. Then we needed to bring our own slippers to use inside their house. Just some pre-cautionary measures during this time of pandemic. I didn't know that her sister was going to be there and I was so surprised to see her walking down the stairs. Her sister is the second friend that I said that I saw during this tough times. We were able to catch up and we are just so sad that we don't get to see each other unlike before. So we counted how many months it has been and it was already 8. Her toddler kid is also now talkative unlike when I saw him last February. I was really happy when I saw her and we can't help but to pray and hope that this will all be over so we can see the newest baby of the group. I am really not used to niy seeing my high school friends for months.

The third person in our group lives just a few miles from us but we can't get to see each other whenever she goes near our place because we are also looking out for our own safety. We would just send each other some food through Grab with short handwritten notes. She's working in a food industry so she is exposed outside that is why we don't want to risk our health and safety. All we have to do is to wait until all of this is over.

Food I gave her whenever we have some extra after I include it in my Youtube channel
She sent me a feast for my birthday! When I only sent her a small pasta and a crunchy chili garlic in oil for her birthday.

With my college friends, we used to see each other once a year because the organizer of the group is working in Singapore. Last year I wasn't able to meet with them because I was taking care of my mom at the hospital. Out of 12, 5 of them are working abroad and the 7 of us are here in the Philippines but we don't really have a monthly gathering. I'm sure you know the reason why we don't have a yearly gathering this year.

But during lockdown, I applaud my college friends because they are the ones who always make group video calls. I wasn't always present during those times but it was a communication to keep all of us in sane. They would talk about what they have done for the day and would even have an online drinking session. No matter what timezones we have, "they" see to it that all are informed about the session. I emphasized the word "they" because I have only attended 2 video calls out of 30 maybe. LOL. With my high school friends, we only had 1 video conference during our friend's son's live baptism.

When was the last time that you saw your friends? When was the last time that you have talked to them? How about going to the mall? When was the last time you went out, eat at your favorite restaurant or physically shop for the things you want or just stroll and chill inside the mall?

The last time I went to the mall was on the first day of March. The virus was already an issue but we didn't mind it because in our mind we know that China is miles and miles away from us. But there are already a few people who were wearing masks during that time. We just stroll, shopped a few clothes and eat. I think I have mentioned this in one of my articles. Too bad I wasn't able to document the time we ate at the restaurant. I know that there's always a next time for eveything but the question is when? Should we always have that kind of mentality that there is always a next time?

I know that most of you would agree to me that there are a lot of disadvantages that this pandemic has brought to us. This may have kept us distant from our relatives, friends, classmates and colleagues but it has also made us more closer to our families and most especially to God.

Even if we don't get to see or talk to our friends nowadays, I hope that we can make it a point to give each one of them a text or call just to check how they are. We probably don't know maybe they are under stress, anxiety or depression. It makes a difference when the person knows that someone is there for him/her even virtually during this tough times.

This is also the perfect time to bond with your family. Since the lockdown, I have been with my parents and we would watch Netflix together. They are already in their senior years and I am treasuring every moment that I have with them. We have already watched a lot of movies and series. As much as I want to play some board games with them, I know my dad wouldn't be up for it. But I already bought a Jenga online last September. I hope to play it with them as it will be really fun.

How about you? How are you coping with the new normal? Are you staying alone, with family or friends? No matter what situation you are in right now, just hang in there and will make it through this. I know that we miss our friends, relatives, classmates or colleagues, eating out, shopping and travelling to different places but we have to bear with it for a little more. Yes we are now allowed to do most of it that we only have to follow some guidelines and protocols but still the virus is out there. As for me, I'd still stay at home and only go out when necessary.

3
$ 9.20
$ 9.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Comments