Job interview (part 3)

0 16
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

On the second part of my Job interview article, I have said that you shouldn't be nervous, you got to be comfortable and you have to dress up formally. For this part I will continue to share some tips or advices that you should or shouldn't do during job interviews. These are just some that I can think of as of the moment as I have forgotten how it is to be interviewed. LOL. Though I just had mine last year before the pandemic.

Next that you should do is to maintain eye contact with the interviewer and always give your best smile. This is something that I have done even during my panel mock interview with my professors. Even if you cannot answer the question, just look at the interviewer and smile. Although there are times that I feel stoopid while smiling that there are a lot of voices in my head telling me some negative stuffs.

They say practicing in front of a mirror helps with interviews and also public speaking. Well I do talk in front of the mirror but I always say how beautiful or ugly I am. Or that I would tell my reflection that she made a mistake again. I have been even talking to myself when I am alone. LOL. Crazy right? I guess it's normal now. But no matter how much I talk to myself and even in front of a mirror, I just still can't get it right. That is why I really want to try vlogging for me to see if I can overcome being shy infront of the camera, my stage fright or even my fear of interviews.

Now let's move on to the don'ts. Do not drink coffee or any caffeinated drinks before your interview. It was only late that I have known about this but one of my friends from one of the companies that I have worked with told me to take a shot of liquour before my interview. I have done it once before and I had a glass of long island iced tea (made by my past flirtationship) and I can say that it did really helped me. That time it was a panel interview. 3 people were interviewing me and there was an instance where 2 people were asking me at the same time that I didn't even know who to answer first. But that long island really helped me. That interview was actually timed since it was one of the company's standards. Actually my friend A have already told me the answers to the questions for that interview but even if I forgot the answers, I was able to answer each one of them. Sadly, I wasn't hired. I guess that company wasn't really for me. I only said a shot not a bottle ok? Who would hire someone that is drunk right? We all know what caffeine can do to a person so it is best to skip it day/s before your interview and also on the day itself. Have you also tried taking a shot of liquour before an interview? How was it? Did it help you?

Lastly, do not be late during job interviews. Honestly, this is the part that I hate the most. I am always early during job interviews but there are just some companies or bosses who doesn't care about their applicants. Yes the HR officer or the guard would note who came in early and it's really a good impression to employers. But what I hate is that some companies would let their applicants wait for hours even the whole day just to be intrrviewed. I have experienced it before in one of thr companies that I have applied to that even if I was hired, I did not continue with the submission of requirements. Why? I hated how they handled their applicants. If that is hoe they treated the applicants, what more if it was their employees? And you know what I hated the most? The owner knows that there was a scheduled interview yet she was late. Hours late. The HR officer informed us that the owner woke up late because of too much work and will head straight to the office. It took her 3 hours to get there. Most of us were there around 8AM and she got to the office at 2PM. I was interviewed past 4PM. Good thing the applicant that I gotten to talk to while waiting for the chef owner has a car and lives in Quezon City. I was able to hitch with him. Their office was in Makati. I wanted to go home when the HR officer said that the owner will be a bit late but I thought of my brother who dropped me to my interview before he went to work. It is not that I don't want to wait but I just hope thatif employers would schedule an interview, then they have to start at that given time. I even overheard the HR officer that time told her boss that there were a lot of applicants. I am sure that her boss was asking how many applicants do they have andf it was only a few people, she would have had it rescheduled.

Anyway, those are just some of the advices that I can think of right now. Feel free to add more. I hope you will remember me when you will have your interview. LOL. As early as now I want to wish you good luck and I know you can make it. Practice makes perfect. Wait! Am I talking to you or to myself? LOL.

2
$ 7.08
$ 7.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @charmingcherry08
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Comments