Happy birthday, Kuya

2 24
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Most of you may know that it was my brother's birthday a few days ago. I was happy to hear the other day that he and his family will be here today. That means quality time with my godson, more family bonding and lots of food though not as much as what we had for my dad's birthday. Kuya is the Tagalog for older brother. 

For today we ordered some food from my dad's favorite restaurant. We had fried chicken, yang chow fried rice, lumpiang shanghai and sweet and sour pork. I made kani salad, hot prawn salad and lasagna which I thought we will be eating for lunch that I made all the dishes earlier this morning. If I had known that we would eat the lasagna for later, we should have assembled it after our lunch. I also ordered sushi platter which was my gift to my brother. I think the last time that I have given him a birthday gift was 5 years ago. I cannot actually recall if it was I who paid for our foot spa service or him. But I am happy that I was able to give him a gift this year just like with my dad, all thanks to read.cash and noise.cash. My mom got my brother a pistachio cake that I forgot to take a picture. LOL. My brother also bought some tostada chips and chicken alfredo pasta from Chili's. I had a lot of the chips as it is one of my favorites in Chili's. I really miss eating out. 

I'm slowly posting the food photos on my noise.cash. This were all that we have for my brother's post birthday celebration. #foodcoma LOL

Last year was the first time that we haven't celebrated my brother's birthday due to lockdown. I really thought that we won't be able to celebrate it this year because COVID cases are increasing again here in the Philippines. I am just glad that we got to spend time as a whole family. 

If you can remember, my brother and I are just a year apart so we are really close though not close enough to know each other's secrets but close to the point that we will be there for each other. During our yonger years, I was the one who surprises my brother with food and gifts and now it is the other way around. Another self-pity moment? Sort of but I know there will come a time that I will also be able to repay all the good things and delicious foods that my brother has given me. 

My brother has been my idol ever since I was a kid and next would be my dad. I know some people would say that their parents are their idols but it isn't for me. I saw how good my brother was whether in video games, school, driving or as a whole human being. He excels in everything. He has what I lack. Deep right?

But did you know that growing up we used to have a lot of fights that my mom would end up hitting us both. I know I have said this in one of my articles but she used to hit us with the handle of the plastic fly swatter. I would pull his hair that sometimes I got to pull a few strands of it. I would also scratch him so hard that his skin will be on my nails. We were really cats and dogs that when we wrestle, I would always be the winner. But there was one time when we fought at the back of our car when our dad fetched us to school. He punched me and guess where it landed? He punched me in my right eye so I had a black eye when I got home. But wait there's more. It was actually my birthday and my dad had invited his friends to our house. So when we I entered our house, they greeted me but I ignored them because of my black eye. I remember on of my dad's driver in the office who was one of my favorite was there who promised me that he would be at my birthday but I ended up ignoring him becauss of my black eye. LOL. 

I am just happy that we are now matured enough and we don't fight anymore. He is even a very supportive big brother to me. Yes, he always supports me with my decisions and in my career path. I get to practice my culinary education because of him. Whenever he wanted something to eat or imitate, he would tell it to me and describe how it tastes so I can copy that dish. Sometimes I would get it and sometimes I don't. Well it is better if I get to taste the food than just my describing it right? Just this afternoon, we were talking about the sushi that he had tasted in Bulacan which is now his favorite. He said that he wanted to have a sushi business and that he would turn our house into a commissary and I would be the head of the operations. If it was my dad he would say that my brother would be in charge even if I am the one who has experience working in the food industry. 

Now I need to save up for is my godson's 7th birthday. I haven't given him anything in years. Because we are both Octoberian, he wants me/us to have a Candy Crush cake. I guess I better have to look for a Candy Crush themed party decorations. 

I am so thankful that God had given me a very good brother. He is the exact opposite of me. Belated happy birthday again, Kuya. I hope you enjoyed our little celebration. 

6
$ 4.85
$ 4.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Comments

Enjoy your day dear! It's late but Happy (passed) birthday to your brother Food is looking so delicious, Hope you can arrange a great surprise for your 7th birthday on your darling baby of home birthday.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Happy Birthday to your Brother 🎂🎂🎂 I'm drooling with the Prawns and Chips 💚

$ 0.00
3 years ago