General cleaning

1 29
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

In my Declutter article I have mentioned that I will start to clean up some things in our house but sadly I wasn't able to do it before new year. Though I am proud to say that I have already started decluttering yesterday. 

I started with my dresser while my mom was in charge of some stuffs under my bed and our helper was the one who vacuums the entire room, sweeps the floor and wipe the walls. Even if it was only my dresser, it still took me half a day to clean everything. I cannot remember the last time that I have cleaned my dresser but it was really a mess. I wasn't able to take a photo of it before I started cleaning but this is the only time that I can see myself in the mirror. So you can just imagine how it looks like. 

I was able to collect a medium sized garbage bag with the things that I have disposed of. I have also wiped a lot of dusts and dogs' fur. Our helper doesn't want to clean my dresser because she hates wiping each of my items then putting it back to its right place. Since last year I was trying to use some of the face products, body sprays and body lotions so that I'll be able to use my dresser. Finally, I only have a few products left. 

Are you the type who saves a little of your favorite perfume? Well, I am that type of person. LOL. Because I don't know when will be the next time that I'll get to buy another bottle of perfume because it is too expensive. I actually save my perfumes for special occasions or a night out with friends. For body sprays, I used it everyday for work before. But now that I have been bum for so long, my perfumes, body sprays and other products have been in my dresser for too long. Another thing that I have noticed is that I have a lot of make ups that I have bought in the past and some where given to me. 

For me to use most of them before they expire, I decided to use it even if I am just at home. Vlogger feels. LOL. Just like what one of the Youtube influencers that I have watched last year, she said that even if we are just at home, we should make it a habit to fix ourselves because it changes our mood and it feels really great if you look good. 

The next thing that I saw in my things are nail polish. When I was a kid, I wasvery fond of watching my mom and her sisters having their nails done. During that time, they didn't allow me because I was still a kid and I think I was in high school when my allowed me to paint my nails. But now I can see some kids with colors on their nails. Different generations, different style of upbringing. The last time that I have checked my nail polish box, I had already disposed some of it because they were already hard and the others were to thick. I still have a dozen that is in good condition. As much as I wanted to color my toenails, I am afraid that it would damage my toenails again. When I was still working, I always had my toenails done but it was only when I went to a different nail salon when they told me that I should let my nails to breath or to not put any polish as it is already damaging my nails. Ever since then I haven't had a pedicure. I know even a nail polish remover or an acetone can also damage our nails. Now I don't know what to do with all of my nail polish. Any suggestions what I can do with it? I'm thinking of growing my nails so my hands will be pretty on Valentine's day. As if I have a date. LOL. 

I am not yet done in cleaning my room as there are still some files and stuffs that I need to check if I can already throw them. But so far, I felt as if my room became a little lighter and spacious. I am planning to make it a habit to have a monthly general cleaning of my room. Maybe there will be a little more improvement everytime that I would do it and I hope it reduces my stuffs and not the other way around. 

After my room I am thinking of cleaning our kitchen next then maybe after that our living room. I might save all my files and stuffs for the last part because it might take awhile. My mom taught me to never throw papers or documents that has our name on it so I have to double check each and every paper. Do you also check for your information before throwing anything? I know it isn't a great idea to shred the papers but that is what we do and we don't put it all in one garbage so even if we shred, they would have a hard time putting it up. 

For some I know it is hard to let go of some things (even feelings) that we have grown to love but if it is taking up a lot of space that you feel like it isn't making you productive or it isn't making you the better version of yourself, I think it is alright to let go. Letting go is really hard but we can't dwell on the past for too long. Wait, am I still talking about my stuffs or something else? LOL. 

i am genuinely happy to let go some of our stuffs (or someone.LOL) that can no longer be of use. But there are still some appliances that I cannot throw since I need my dad's permission. He really isn't the type to let go of those things as for him it can be repaired. I am actually talking about a more than a decade old televisions or electric fan. Like I have said that our house is like a junk shop with all those things. But little by little I know that the result of my general cleaning will be worth it.

How about you? When was the last time you clean your room, your closet, your dresser, your house or your place? How did it go? Were you able to throw a lot or you're still holding onto some stuffs? Just follow Marie Kondo's advice, "Does it spark joy?". 

4
$ 7.72
$ 7.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Comments

In my opinion, first of all, general cleaning should begin with the cleaning of all air ducts and ventilation openings in the house and bathrooms. So pay attention to dryer vent cleaning sevices https://dryerventcleaningtoday.ca/ and consider using it. You can find out about the importance and necessity of cleaning the air vents of the dryer on the service website and you will understand how necessary it is.

$ 0.00
1 year ago