First day

2 24
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Recently I have been talking about my past job interviews and job hunting experiences that last night I cannot help but to reminisce about my first day, first week or rather first month in the companies that I have worked with. I suddenly had a flashback because Jeaneth and I were talking about how it feels when you are working with your friends in a company. Have you experienced working with your friends in a company? Who first started working? Was it you, your friend or both? Jeaneth said that it was fun to be working with friends at work plus you don't get to feel OP or out of place. When she mentioned OP, that is when the flashback started and I thought of making it into an article.

How was your first day during your first job? During my first job since it was going to be a newly opened coffee shop, all staffs have to undergo training. So all of us were pioneer and that was a good thing. Meaning we all don't know each and everyone's personalities and all of us are in the getting to know stage. Remember when I said on 1 part of my job hunting articles that the coffee shop where my friend and I waited for the rain to stop was where I had my training? I know it was just a week training and we were divided into 2 groups so that both groups would have an AM and PM shift. Since the coffee shop is small, it only had a few manpower.

During our training there were 3 front of the house and 2 kitchen staff. I know during our first day of training, we all had the same schedule and we got divided the following day. First day of training was familiarization with the menu and how the coffee shop operates. It was more on observation so it was a chill first day for all of us. There I was also able to observe the people whom I was going to work with and because it was our first day, I was so reserved.

The following day I cannot remember whether I am on AM or PM shift but I know I was partnered with 1 male kitchen staff. From there I was able to adjust but I was still a little reserved. When the time comes that we were asked to report to our store, we get to meet our managers. Our first day in store was more on cleaning since it was a newly constructed coffee shop there were a lot of things that needed to set up and a lot of plates and glasses that needed to be wash. From there I was able to adjust more with the people that I was with during our training especially we were the ones in charge of the cleaning and we just needed to follow what our managers instructed us to do. So when we had our soft opening, operations went pretty smoothly because we have all adjusted with each other. It was so fun even if it was a tiring day. I know we even have a lot of pictures during that time. I must have saved mine in a CD.

For my second and last job, that is where I felt I was out of place. During my second job, I was already part of the management team so most of the kitchen and dining staffs were a little aloof. Before I was assigned in that branch, I trained in a different branch. In my training store, I was able to adjust after few days. That's why when I started in my store, I felt it was going to be easy but it wasn't. That time I was still in the adjustment stage from being a staff to a management team so I was being friendly with the staffs but because of my looks, they thought that I was very strict so it took more than a week before I got to get close with some of them. Our supervisors during that time were all male and older than me so they underestimated me because I was so young back then. If it wasn't for our store's anniversary party, I think it would have taken a little longer for me to get close with my workmates. I remember I used to go home right away after my time was over that one supervisor noticed me and sometimes I would hear him saying that I always go home on time. He turned out to be my past flirtationship or the last guy who broke my heart. I hated him back then that's why it's really true that the more you hate, the more you love. LOL.

During my last job, I felt that there was already a big gap between my age and with the staffs. They may look matured but they were years younger than me. It was really challenging for a manager to be in a new environment. Some staffs didn't like me because of how I look but when they get to know me, I turned out to be a good person and very down to earth. They thought that I was strict and they even thought that I wouldn't be friends with them. But I proved them all wrong. Though it took a long time before I get close with them because I was assigned in different stores. I had most of my duties in the store that was closest to my place. I remember during our Christmas party, I was only 5 weeks in the company that I really didn't have anyone that I was close with. That time I was handling 3 stores and I was seated with the store that I was really assigned to. But because I haven't known some of them yet, I felt so out of place. Yes they are friendly but you would feel being left out. It was one of the reasons why I have decided to resign from the company. But when I have already tendered my resignation, I have started to get close with some of the staffs in 3 branches.

When I was still a student, I hated when it was the first day of classes since you have to introduce yourself in most of your subjects. When I started working, it somehow change but not to the point where I would present myself to the whole group. You very much know how much I hated being the center of attraction. Being in the food industry somehow helped me to talk with people. I would be the first one who would start a conversation until the other party would be comfortable in talking to me. I would start by getting to know one person and then would go to another person until I have already get to know most of them. Though there would still be some people who wouldn't like me and I just let them be. I don't live my life to please them.

Are you bothered when someone doesn't like you? How do you do during first day at work? Do you get to adjust easily or does it take awhile? Got some advice for us asides from being true to ourselves? Our first day may also be a bit overwhelming and sometimes you might also feel like you just want to quit right then and there but you have to give it some time before you can decide on quitting. If you don't feel it then quit. It is hard to work in a company when you don't love what you do. You would just be dragging yourself to work. But before quitting, you should have a new job or a back up plan. Like I have said, give it a little time.

P.S. my lead image was from the Christmas party that I have mentioned.

2
$ 10.60
$ 10.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @charmingcherry08
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Comments

Kita na kita sa photo. Ang pretty 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ssshhhh. Quiet ka na lang. Hahaha. Pinili ko na nga yung marami nahanap mo pa ako. Salamat. 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago