Debut

2 13
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Yesterday afternoon while my mom and I were waiting for her hair color to srt, we were watching Little Women on Fox Movies. It was actually played the night before but we didn't watch it because we feel like it's not a good movie. Honestly, we also didn't finish watching the movie. LOL. But there was a cotillion scene and made us think about debut.

There are different ways on how people do a debutante's ball but I am only familiar with the traditional debutante's party where she would have 18 roses, 18 candles and a cotillion dance lined up for the program. The very first time that I have attended a debutante's party was for my cousin. I was in 3rd year high school that time and since we were only 3 girls from our mother's side, she included as one of her 18 candles and also in her cotillion. Our other girl cousin was living in Canada but if she was here, she would have also been included.

I cannot remember how many pairs she had for the but my brother and I along with our other guy cousins were part of the dance. We had dance practices every Saturday or Sunday that lasted for months. First couple of practices were held at our house but then they decided to move into a much bigger space and that is half way from others since most of them were from South. I know we rented one studio space somewhere in Taft Avenue.

There were a lot of things that I didn't like ever since I was a kid, that is dancing and dress. LOL. I am a girl but I'm not really comfortable wearing dresses. Probably because I was chubby, dark and ugly. Or maybe I am not really comfortable wearing a gown and it was my first time. It was also to prepare me for my prom night. But I really didn't like it. LOL. I know my relatives tried to.chose an outfit online that would suit me. But of course sometimes it wouldn't really come out good. Expectations versus reality. LOL.

When I was in elementary and high school, we had field demonstrations per section every year. I really hated it and there was even a time that I would request our teacher if I can be the guy since their clothes were more.comfortable. We did a lot of folk dances in the past and you are required to participate or else you will fail. Well that's what our teachers say. I really had no choice but to dance and wear a dress or a skirt.

During my cousin's dance practices, what I love about it was the food. LOL. We get to eat in the middle and after our practices. Plus I get to see my cousins and my crush. LOL. My partner was so handsome and I was so conscious that I couldn't even look at him. I even asked him to be my prom date but he rejected me. LOL Though it was my mom who asked his mom since both of them are acquaintances.

I cannot find a photo during our cotillion dance but this is my brother with his partner.



After months of practice, the big event has come. It was such a grand party and all of us cotillion dancers just felt relieved after we have finished our part but not for me because I still had to deliver my wish for my cousin. I know my speech was made by one of my first high school friends. It was short but out of nervousness, I was totally mentally blocked. I greeted her first with a happy birthday and when I looked at the audience, boom. I froze. LOL. It was so embarassing and I can never forget that for the rest of my life. Because of months of practice, friendships and feelings have developed. I know there were some pairs who courted their partners. I just don't know whether they became official but it was really a nice memory to remember.

During that time, debut parties was a thing. Because my brother and my cousin went to the same university, she stayed with us during her first and second year so I know that shr had attended a lot of debut parties. Gowns were not a problem for her since she can buy store bought gowns. Especially for guys it was so easy for them to dress during debut parties. I remember my guys friends from college were just in their business attire while us girls would have to wear heels and gowns if it was formal parties and that we also needed to wear make ups and have our hair done. Speaking of heels or formal evening shoes, I also had a hard time looking for silver shoes during my cousin's debut. My feet were big and not only the sizes were the problem but some of it weren't comfortable. Since I was part of the cotillion, I needed to look for a shoe thst wasn't too high and comfortable to wear. Luckily we were able to find one after going through a lot of malls. My mom also bought a different style for her. Nevertheless, debut party is a one night celebration to be remembered by family and friends.

P.S. lead image is my cousin during her debut pictorial.

3
$ 5.78
$ 5.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.05 from @charmingcherry08
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Comments

Di ako ng celebrate ng debut like mga sayaw2, 18 roses and all. Di ko bet. Simple lng celeb namin. Intimate celeb lng with family. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Meron talaga na hindi nga bet. Ako din hindi ko bet. Hahaha. Pero napilit din 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago