Contact tracing

3 30
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

When was the last time you went out of the house? Where did you go? Did the place that you went to required you to maintain physical distancing, wearing of face masks and face shields? Did you filled up a form for the purpose of contact tracing effecting control of the COVID-19 transmission? 

I think the last time that I went out was 2 weeks ago when I needed to buy some medicines for my dad. While I was waiting in line, I can't help but to wonder about those contact tracing forms. I have been thinking about it ever since they implemented it. In some establishments, there are now contactless forms by using a QR code while some still provides the manual forms wherein you need to write all your details. Have you ever filled up a contact tracing form? How does a contact tracing form looks like in your country? I don't know how it's like in some countries but here in the Philippines, you just need to give your personal details (name, address, contact number and email address) and answer basic questions about COVID like if you have had any symptoms within the last 14 days or have been tested positive for COVID or in contact with someone who had COVID. 

But have you ever wondered how does forms work? I mean what if you are asymptomatic or someone who had no signs or symptoms of the virus? Of course you wouldn't know and you will answer NO right? How would the establishment trace it? Who also checks those forms? How would they know if the person was telling the truth? What is their procedure in keeping those forms or where do they store them especially because it contained some of our personal details? Those were just some of the questions that I kept on thinking whenever I go out and fill out those forms.

I know that the best thing to do so as not to contact the deadly virus is to just stay at home. But that isn't possible because we are still needed to buy some necessities, pay bills and for others who needed to go to work. That is why they always say to just go out only when needed. The second option is to wear face mask, face shields and maintain social distancing. Yes, we are all practicing it. Filling up contact tracing forms and checking of body temperatures may be time consuming but do you think it is really that helpful? I have nothing against the protocols and procedures of our government or health agencies but this is just my opinion with regards to contact tracing.

Though there are some establishments who doesn't have contact tracing forms, there are also some establishments that neglect to notice that there are people who aren't filing up those forms. I do contactless tracing forms because it limits the use of paper but I know that there are others who doesn't have access to the internet when they go out so they have no choice but to fill up some forms. But what if I just showed them a screenshot of an accomplished form? Would they know? I thought before that those contact tracing forms are for the establishments to call each and every client they had to inform them in case they had a confirmed COVID case. But with all the forms that they get each day, will they really call their clients for contact tracing? What is the real purpose of those contact tracing forms? Do you have a better idea or suggestion in terms of contact tracing? 

I have heard in the news that there are some cities here in Metro Manila that provides personal QR code to their people. I think that islt is a good start to have a better and proper monitor of contact tracing don't you think? It is as if that the person's QR code is his or her pass but as far as I know is that its implementation is only limited to the people living in those 2 cities. I think it would be better if all of us would have an identification system that acts as our pass in all establishments. Though the problem is budget and it would be hard to gather the people during this pandemic for a biometric ID system.

This is a screenshot email copy of my contact tracing form from a drug store.

I like the fact that they emailed me a copy of it. I don't know how it is in other establishments. In the supermarket that I frequent to, they don't email me my contact tracing form. I think it is a great idea for establishments (or their contact tracing form site provider) to email their clients with the form so that they can also keep track of their whereabouts. It would also be better if we should create a new email address that is only for contact tracing so it wouldn't get mixed up with your other email messages.

Now that there is a new COVID variant, I am more afraid to go out. Who else here feels the same way? But I don't have a choice because I am my family's runner when it comes to doing groceries and paying bills. They are already in their senior age and they are at risk of contracting the virus so I had to do all those errands. Well I guess I just need to be more extra careful when going out, follow safety protocols and pray that we shall surpass this challenging times. 

3
$ 9.12
$ 9.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Purebeauty
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Comments

I am afraid of covid-19 too.And now we have a new disease too.I do not know when this situation will ended.Also in my country we have application for contact tracing who have covid-19.But I think is not useful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think there are also other people who thinks like us. I hope that there will be a better way for contact tracing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe you are right

$ 0.00
3 years ago