Commuter's life (part 2)

2 22
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Do you have any unforgettable experience or memory when taking the public transport? Care to share some of it with us? 

The longest line that I have experienced when taking the train was when it started downstairs going up in Quezon Avenue station. I was able to endure it because it was my only means of transportation in going to BGC. I have the choice to take a cab or a Grab/Uber but my minimum wage per day wouldn't be enough for my fare. I endured it and then when I was already unemployed, I saw in the news that the lines were even longer. I was happy because I didn't need to take the bus, jeep or train but I was more sad because I didn't have work. LOL. 

Aside from taking the train, I also had some experiences when taking the jeepney. There are days when your mind is wandering because of too much stress and being restless. I rode a jeepney going home from work. If you are not familiar with the jeepney, you would have to pass your fare to the passenger in front of you and then to the next passenger until it reaches the driver. I like sitting by the door/entrance/exit. It has been a habit that of mine that when I have already sitted down, I would pay. That time instead of me saying "bayad po (here's my payment)", I have said "para (stop)". LOL. Other passengers were looking at me and that's when I realized I made a mistake. 

Then there was also the time when I have experienced to walk for more than 10 minutes. I am not good with measuring the distance but it was far. Probably @Firenze might know how far. I wasn't able to time myself because I was too focused on walking. During that time I didn't know why there was a traffic and I can't remember why I rode the jeep instead of bus. I think there were no buses but it was already standstill to slow moving from STI Fairview. I was on closing shift and I didn't have anyone that I know with me because my workmates live on the opposite way. I couldn't bring out my phone because there were few passengers inside and mostly men. A few minutes have passed and we were still there. I saw some passengers from other public transporations were already starting to walk then one by one the passengers in the one that I was in had already started to went off. A lot has already been running through my head that's stopping me from going down. I went down and started to walk when we had already make a turn from Regalado Highway to Commonwealth Avenue. While I was walking, I was praying so hard for my safety and protection. When I was already at Puregold - Doña Carmen,  I noticed there weren't anymore traffic but the problem was there were only a few vehicles passing since they were still stuck in traffic. I waited for a few minutes for a jeepney and hopped in. That night I was praying all the way until I get home. It was dark, I was all by myself so I was really scared but I know that God was guiding and protecting me. I can never forget that night. 

One of my favorite moments when riding the jeepney is when it is already almost full or there is only one seat left. Because I really wanted to go home right away, I sat on that very small space that even a toddler couldn't fit in. Ending was only a part of my butt was seated. I am sure a lot of us has experienced that. LOL. 

There was also a time when it was raining a little. I was on opening shift and my out was at 6PM. I wasn't able to ride a jeepney because there was a long line and only a few jeepneys were coming in the terminal. So I thought of riding the other jeepney that was bound to University of the Philippines Diliman and then to ride another jeepney from there in Philcoa.  When I arrived there, there were also a lot of passengers waiting for any passing public transportation. It was hard to get even a taxi, a bus and a jeep as they were all full. So when one empty jeepney came, I ran towards it along with other passengers. Thankfully I was able to go inside the jeepney but there weren't any available seats for me. I didn't want to go out of the jeep because I really wanted to go home. What I did was I hitched myself at the back of the jeepney along with the other guys. LOL. However the driver didn't want to start the jeepney because he doesn't want a female to be outside. Any gentleman? Sad to say but there were no gentleman inside the jeepney who would offer their seat for me. The lady by the door/entrance/exit, told me that I can sit on her lap so we can all go. I was really shy at first but she was persistent so I did what she told me to do. I was able to sit properly when I was already near my stop.  I was so thankful to that lady. If not for her I didn't know what time I would be able to go home. I was home by past 8PM. That long? Yes even if it was just a 20 minutes away from our house by car. Traffic, rain, no public transport, train malfunction and transport hike are just some of the things that makes commuting life dreadful. 

Then there are those female passengers who lets their hair down when riding the jeepney. Their hair would sometimes be on my face because the wind has blown it. Sometimes when I am really in a bad mood, I would pull their hair. LOL. When I am too tired, I also can't help but to sleep inside the jeepney especially when it is traffic. But thankfully I haven't miss my stop whenever I fell asleep in a public vehicle. 

There was also a time when my friend and I were going to school and we took the FX. We like riding at the back because it was a little spacious. Then I noticed that the guy in front of me was jerking off. So I texted my friend and told her that we need to get off the FX because of that dirty guy. 

I have no problem with walking or taking any public transport as long as I know that it is safe. But we really can't predict what's going to happen to us whenever we go out. Whether it is a public or a private vehicle, accidents can still happen. All we can do is to pray to God for our safety. We just have to be alert of our surroundings whenever we are taking the public transportation and be mindful of our belongings. I am just really glad that my mom taught me how to ride the public transportation. I wouldn't be able to experience these things if it wasn't for her.

I don't know how it is to ride a public transport nowadays but I saw one the last time my dad and I did some errands early this year. There was just a plastic cover in between the passengers but I feel that it is still not safe. Yes I know that we are all equipped with face masks and face shields but they still breathe the same air inside the vehicle especially if it is airconditioned. Well it is just my opinion. Have you tried riding a public vehicle during our present situation? How was it? Don't forget to always sanitize your hands when you are out and stay safe especially now that there are a lot of COVID variants. If possible, we should just stay at home and only go out when necessary. 

4
$ 5.19
$ 5.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Codex_04
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Comments

I all remember the funny things during commuting, the part you have done in Jeepney there's nothing new on it, lalo na sa terminal magtatawg barker na ohh isa pa isa pa pero sa totoo lang wala na, There's a lot of good memories in commuting, to the part that I will fit myself in MRT para lang makapasok sa work, siksik talaga kung siksik, even I don't have muscles it is one of my exercise when I was working on Ortigas before. When riding a bus I remember that when I got a chance to seat on chair matutulog lang ako at diko namamalayan na medyo baboy naglalaway xD dahil na rin sa pagod, a lot of times na sumabit ng jeep and feels like I was flying and not just minutes na nakasabit it was almost an hour patibayan hahaha, there's a lot more but I cannot tell it all because it was so long na hahaha. Naranasan ko na rin mag isa sa LRT, if you watched Shake Rattle Roll LRT naaalala ko yun mag isa pa naman ako hahaha pero eto still in piece at nakakauwi ng buhay xD

Now the transportation system is medyo magulo and nakakatakot minsan lalo na sa Jeep at Ejeep, may mga plastik pa naman pero minsan di maiwasan na siksikan sa jeep, sa LRT/MRT social distancing was implemented at maluwag compared before but when it is rush hour asahan mo na punuan sobra kaya ngayon I always choose to go home late so medyo maluwag at walang problema sa crowded. When I commute I always equip myself with all the thing I need, facemask, faceshield at alcohol. Spray ako kahit san ako mapahawak, handle bar, dun sa tinatap, pag nag jeep ako iwas hawak ako sa handle balance kung balance same din sa LRT hahahaha. Now medyo malaki pinagbago ng transpo but you just have to be careful always :) Stay healthy and palakasin katawan natin lagi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yun nga nasilip ko yung sa bus one time. Plastic lang ang harang. Di ba nakakatakot? Hahahahhaa. Naiimagine ko yung tulo laway though hindi pa naman nangyari sa akin sa public transport. Naexperience ko din yun na konti lang tao sa MRT station kapag yung malapit na maglast trip. Hindi naman ako natakot kasi mas gusto ko lang makauwi na agad.

Good job for observing proper safety protocols. Hindi ko ata kaya na hindi humawak sa handle sa jeep. Kasi kapag aakyat ako tapos sa looban pa ako uupo, hawak talaga ako agad kasi alam mo naman si manong driver eh tatakbo agad. Pero noon yun. Hehe. Sampuan at siyaman pa noon. Ngayon ba ilan na lang sa jeep? At least ikaw sa jeep payat. Grabe talaga yung akin minsan nagpapanggap na lang akong nakaupo. Yung tipong ayaw ko na lang magbayad kasi hindi naman ako nakaupo talaga. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago