Cluttered house

10 32
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: 2021, Family, Life, Experience, Truth, ...

We are now towards the last quarter of 2021. When we started this year, we had a slight general cleaning inside our house. I have mentioned it in my articles during that time. We would start cleaning after we had our breakfast and would finish just before dinner time. I am not sure when was the last time that we cleaned our house but the dusts that we have accumulated over the years were really a lot. We moved the furnitures so that we can wipe, sweep and mop what was underneath all those. Our helper is not the time who likes to move the furnitures or even wipe the surfaces. So you can just imagine how much dust we have collected. She was only forced to wipe our display cabinets if we would have guests.

I told them that we needed to have another general cleaning mid this year and focus on the clutter outside our house but we never got to do it. Why? There was still a leak in the storage room so we cannot transfer the stuffs that was taking too much space outside our house.

Our storage room. Saw the leaks from the wall? Look at the stereo on the left side. Not sure if it still works as we have never plug it for decades now.


@Firenze had published an article months ago about house detox. I do not know if she is still in the process of packing their things since they are moving out of their house. Another thing that we (or our parents) have in common is that they have a lot of stuffs. There are some things that should have been thrown away but our parents were still holding onto them because it probably holds a sentimental value to them.

Last January, I was happy when I finally got to convince my dad to dispose the rusty early 90s aircondition that we have that was lying on the floor near our laundry area. It was not even working yet he still does not want to dispose it. I have mentioned then that I feel like our house is like a junk shop for having a lot of junk I mean things. Don't believe me? Look at this photo below.

There were still a pile of tires behind me when I took this photo. What can you say about my.dad's tires? I could even make an obstacle course for 2-3 teams because of my dad's tires. LOL.

I do not know why my dad intends to keep his used tires. Take note: we still have a few more tires in the garage.

That is why I cannot help but to feel that the things that my parents are trying to hold for the longest time weighs us down. I did not include it in the photo but we also have 2 toilet bowls as well. It was our old toilet bowls from when we moved here. After few years, my dad decided to renovate our bathrooms and he stored the old toilet bowls along with an old bath tub at the back of our house. His reason was he can still sell those. Maybe for the toilet bowls yes but I do not think that he can sell the bath tub. I guess he does not know how modern bath tubs are nowadays. I think that bath tub was from the 80s.

Our first cushioned sofa from the 90s. Yes, my parents was able to preserve this but of course they have already refurbished this once.

Firenze said before that maybe our parents have this separation anxiety with the fruits of their labor. Yes I also have a few things that I kept because it really holds a sentimental value. Though over the years, I have learned to throw them away because not only do they take up space but they ended up getting damaged even when stored in a proper place.

We had out storage room repaired late last year. We just waited to test it out during the rainy season if there would still be a leak and good thing we decided to wait or else a lot of their stuffs would have been drenched in water. You may think that having their items drench in water is a good idea because they can just instantly throw it away but you are very wrong. They would just wash those, let it dry and store. It had happened before. I am not sure if you can see it from the first photo.

There are evening gowns amd some long sleeves polo at the back. The gowns were my aunt's. She left it here with us because she was planning to bring it home to America. But it got drenched in water and some of it has been torn apart and even had molds on it. I told my mom to tell her sister the truth and ask if she can throw it away. My aunt gave us the gp signal that we can throw them but I am wondering why my mom is still keeping it. My aunt even said that we should also throw out a lot of our stuffs so we can have a brighter and lighter vibes but my mom has not move an inch. She wants to buy a lot of stuffs yet she does not want to throw the old stuffs.

An old non-working TV. My dad did not want to throw away the TV cabinet that was made by his carpenter because they said they could still use the plywood. I do not think they can still use it as it will collapse anytime soon because there were times that it has been hit by heavy rains. Don't mind the dog bowl as I have already thrown it away but pur helper used it to dry the seeds that she got from the vegetables. I do not know why they still kept the slippers even if it was already broken.

I think my parents are the queen and king of keeping junks I mean stuffs. LOL. From egg cartons to old appliances and furnitures even to our childhood clothes and school uniforms. Name it, maybe we've got it. I might want to steal the slogan of one shopping mall here in the Philippines, "we've got it all for you". LOL.

The left side of our house. The one that is covered with green cover is actually a gas stove. It was still working but my dad decided to buy one years after we moved here. The cleaning supplies above are for our helper's toilet and bath. I do not know why she placed it there and not inside her bathroom. Beside the stove is my lead image.

My mom would get mad that my dad had a lot of boxes inside their room and a lot of stuffs outside our house. But she also has a lot of stuffs. My other cabinet has been an extension of her stuffs. No matter how many times I told her to dispose the clothes that does not fit her, she would say that she can still lose weight and she can still wear those. She had said it numerous times and she have not yet worn any of it in decades. Same goes with my dad. He would buy a lot of shirts but he would still use his old shirts. I think even Marie Kondo would resign right away if I were to hire her to help my parents declutter. LOL.

By the way, I only showed some of their junks I mean things. LOL. Photos were from parts of the back of our house and the left side. There are still some big black plastic containers on the other side. And like I have said that there are still a few more tires in our garage. Let's not forget that they still have stuffs inside their room, living room and even behind our bar counter. Do you think Marie Kondo and the like would want to declutter our house? LOL.

Let's see if I can convince my dad to throw away some stuffs (or stuff) again. Will take a before and after photo if we will have another general cleaning.

P.S. lead image is a part in our house where we store some of my parents' stuffs.

5
$ 4.12
$ 3.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @aj_u2
+ 1
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: 2021, Family, Life, Experience, Truth, ...

Comments

I'm not a sentimental person, but mental yes 😂 .. space is more important to me and having alot of stuffs is not fit to a lazy and clumsy like me. My mom loved extra thing or buying stuffs that she thought will beautify the house, I let her to do it but I don't allow her to use my built in cabinet in my bedroom to store her extra stuff. I always ask them why they keep buying things that will use for one time or not really needed. Why they buy alot of clothes when we have just 7 days a week 😂. Before, I don't have a bed and just use a blanket when sleep. My friend keep parinig to have one to avoid backpain. Every quarter, I declutter.. either for charity or trash it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We have already donated some stuffs over the past years. I think the last one was when the Taal Volcano have errupted. But we still have a lot. We even had a garage sale but again I feel like there is no end to all of our stuffs. LOL.

Same. I am also lazy that is why I want to have few things in my room. I have already thrown away a lot of my stuffs that is why my mom had occupied my other cabinet. I will see what else I can do so we can lessen all of our junks. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh gosh, ganitong ganito na bahay namin at ayaw na ayaw din ni mommy itapon ung mga old things nya na ayon nga nakuha nila dahil sa kanilang fruit of labor. Mga ala ala ba, sabi pa ee itapon dW namin pag wala na sya. Kainaman din ee, kaya mandin parang ang gulo ng bahay namin, masikip. Buti nga ung oven na malaki ee na convince namin na ipakalas na para ibenta. Masama pa loob doon, hahaha saka ung tv nya din na malaki. Ang dami pang ref dun sa bodega namin, awan anong balak nya gawin doon aguyy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Ang kulit nila noh? Para tuloy tayonh junk shop sa kadamihan ng mga sirang appliances sa bahay. Sa amin masama din loob ng tatay ko doon sa lumang aircon. Kasi php120 lang ata binigay sa amin nung bote-dyaryo. Eh may ibang kalakal pa kami na binenta sa kanya noon tapos Php120 lang nakuha. Sabi ng tatay ko na pwede pa daw yung Php500. Maaaring pwede nga kasi mabigat siya kaso pandemic eh saan naman na maibebenta pa yun. Kaya doon sa nadaan na bote-dyaryo namin binenta. Paanong gagawin natin sa mga gamit ng ating magulang? 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahaha, ganyan na ganyan talaga si Mommy ko. Pag di nya nga gusto ang price ee di nya talaga abenta. Sobrang mahal na mahal nila yong gamit nila ee. Mahirap namang ipilit na e junk na nga kasi un nga, mababa din bentahan aguy hahaga. Kakulit nila talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Korek. Eh kaso hindi naman ang presyo nila ang masusunod. Kaya ito no choice na lang kami kung hindi titigan ang mga tambak-tambak na gamit nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

opps..andami nga..ibenta na yang iba na pwede pa ibenta! hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ang dami noh? Kaya lagi simasabi ng nanay ko na "lumalaki ang ulo ko sa mga tambak". Hahahaha. Pero siya din naman maraming tambak. Naku, kami ng kasambahay namin sobrang gusto na namin itapon o ibenta ang mga yan kaso mapapagalitan kami lalo tanda ng mga tatay ko yung mga bagay-bagay. Sabi nga ng tita ko yung may ari ng gowns, siya na daw magbabayad ng sa bath tub ng maitapon lang yun. Hahaha. Kasi noon tinanong namin sa junk shop sabi hindi daw nila mabibili kasi wala ng bibili ng ganun. Eh ayaw ipatapon ng tatay ko kasi daw mabebenta pa kahit na sinabi na namin kung ano yung sabi nung junk shop. Ayaw kami paniwalaan. Tawang tawa nga tita ko. Kaya sabi niya siya na daw bibili para maitapon lang. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

noh? Kaya lagi simasabi ng nanay ko na "lumalaki ang ulo ko sa mga tambak". Hahahaha. Pero siya din naman maraming tambak. Naku, kami ng kasambahay namin sobrang gusto na namin itapon o ibenta ang mga yan kaso mapapagalitan kami lalo tanda ng mga tatay ko yung mga bagay-bagay. Sabi nga ng tita ko yung may ari ng gowns, siya na daw magbabayad ng sa bath tub ng maitapon lang yun. Hahaha. Kasi noon tinanong namin sa junk shop sabi hindi daw nila mabibili kasi wala ng bibili ng ganun. Eh ayaw ipatapon ng tatay ko kasi daw mabebenta pa kahit na sinabi na namin kung ano yung sabi nung junk shop. Ayaw kami paniwalaan. Tawang tawa nga tita ko. Kaya sabi niya siya na daw bibili para maitapon la

lols...baka may emotional connection yan sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Yun na lang din iniisip ko. Kaya hindi magagawa ang minimalist living dito sa amin. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago