Beauty and the beast

19 36
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: Journal, Diary, Life, Self, Myself, ...

We have heard even when we were young that beauty is in the eyes of the beholder. We all have different preferences when it comes to physical looks. There arw times that people would tell us that we are beautiful but it is not what we feel nor see whenever we look in the mirror. Agree or agree?

I have mentioned before that I never really liked looking in the mirror even when I was young. Gradually it changed due to having braces and when I started losing weight. From an ugly duckling to a beautiful swan. I learned to love myself because I was already a little slim. I would even say a lot of positive things whenever I would look at myself in the mirror, I would also say, "I love you! I love me!" and I saw how it radiates my look even more. However, I am back to not liking that girl in the mirror again because from beauty became beast.

Honestly, I felt really flattered when people commented that I was beautiful in the blurred photo on one of my noisy post. My photo that I always use as lead image. That photo was taken years ago when I was still very much in love with my past flirtationship. I mentioned before that my smile was different compared to when I was with him. I wore that sweetest smile that everyone would really say that I was glowing.

Screenshot of my noiay post
This was that photo. I miss you!! I miss that smile!!

But I do not know where that smile or beauty is now. I have this love-hate relationship with myself. In my heart, I feel beautiful but that is not what my mind is telling me whenever I look at the mirror these days. I know I always say that I will start to watch what I eat and I would start getting back into shape but it seems like it is not yet time or am I just making some excuses? Partly yes and partly no. You all know that the past few weeks I was at my brother's place. They would eat 4 times a day and I would just lessen my rice intake. I could not exercise there because of inadequate space. The only exercise that I can do is to go up and down their stairs which was too steep. Whenever I would reach the top floor which was were I sleep, I was always running out of breath and my heart would beat really fast. It will take a minute for it to go back to normal.

This December I was already planning to start eating healthy again. I have even equiped myself not only with the right smartwatch but I also with the right mindset. I even bought a blender, chicken, fruits and vegetables because I was planning to do my old diet where I would only eat boiled chicken and vegetables then fruits for snacks and only consume lots of water. But my brother asked for my assistance again that I was not able to start with my diet. It is hars to be on a diet when you arw at somebody else's house.

I know that beauty is not the one that is seen by our eyes but of our hearts. Though it is hard when your mind is battling with your heart. I know I am beautiful but no matter how much I try to convince myself that I am, I cannot make it to agree. I feel so ugly not only because of those acne marks that I did not have before but also because of my scars and my tummy that looks like I am 5 months pregnant. These past feq weeks, whenever I look at myself in the mirror, I see the beauty within me but I cannot see it radiating through me.

Coco Chanel once said that "Beauty begins the moment you decide to be yourself". I am myself. I am still that friendly and jolly person that everybody once knew. I feel beautiful but why do I see a beast? Sometimes I do not want to look in the mirror. I also do not want to see the me from years ago because I would only be reminded of how good I looked and good I felt during those times. Frankly, there are days that I do feel depressed whenever I would see the me now and the me then. No matter how I tried to motivate myself, I still cannot pull myself back up.

I do believe that beauty comes in all shapes and sizes but I do not know why I do not think that I am beautiful. Probably because I am at my heaviest now unlike before that I was able to maintain my body even if I was chubby. I have put on a make-up when I was at my brother's store but it was so ugly. Our mind is so powerful that it really made me see a beast. It just proves that make-ups cannot make you beautiful as long as you are not confident with yourself. I hope in the coming year, I will be able to see that confidence in me again. I hope to see that Jonna that is confidently beautiful with a heart. Oh yes, that famous line of Miss Universe Pia Wurtzbach. I know I keep on telling everyone that we are imperfectly perfect and that we are uniquely beautiful. Lately, I cannot seem to apply it to myself. I do not know if it was because I can no longer wear the clothes that I used to wear before or because I easily get exhausted especially while I was at my brother's store or because I was not able to hear masses and pray that the negativities are starting to kick in. I hope that I can shake this off these coming days.

2021 versus 2017
2021 versus 2017

It's only the hair that did not change. LOL. My back is as wide as a cabinet. I can say a lot of mean words to the me now.

P.S. lead image is a photo of the beauty (2016) and the beast (2021).

7
$ 11.05
$ 10.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Ruffa
$ 0.13 from @meitanteikudo
+ 5
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: Journal, Diary, Life, Self, Myself, ...

Comments

I really don't know what should I say right now. I mean, I can feel that you know how to handle your situation well. Maybe you just need to let this out. It's fine. May mga ganyang moments talaga tayonas some point of our lives. However, I just want you to know that regardless of what you fee about yourself, you are still beuatiful and specially unique 🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kinilig naman ako sa beautiful and unique. 🥰😆 ewan ko ang lakas ko makaadvice sa iba na we are uniquely beautiful and imperfectly perfect pero minsan ang hirap iadapt. Easier said than done. Yeah, I know. Basta kapag sa sarili talaga ang hirap.

Wala lang siguro talagang motivation and inspiration for me to want that old me back. Puntahan ko lang muna siya. Charooot. Hahaha. Di ko alam kung saan na siya nakatira.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're not alone dear. It's never wrong that you wanted to look beautiful that's okay. I could relate to everything you've said in this article. I've had my fair share of self-pity and self-hate, too. That's probably one main reason why I'm suffering from Bell's palsy now. I was so stressed by everything then because of overthinking even my immune system has weakened. So, please be careful with what you think our mind is so powerful it could manifest the bad and the good, however, choose the latter.

$ 0.05
User's avatar Sel
2 years ago

I am not familiar with Bell's palsy but thank you for the advice. Yes, I am not feeding my brain with a lot of positive things and praying really helped me not to stress too much on a particular thing.

I still pity and hate myself sometimes but not to the point that I will let it affect me and my day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The goal is there naman na but the inspiration to get there, I believe is still lacking. All the best madam! you look beautiful kaya

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awww. I'm so touched Zain-Bhatti. Thank you for the compliment. Yes, the motivation, inspiration and execution is still not there. But I will really try my best to be who I want to be this year. 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmmm, ganito din ako ee. Diko talaga gusto ang nakikita ko now sa salamin, from head to toe punong puno ng insecurities. Ang dami na talagang nagbabago, kahit naman noon pa ganito na ako ayaw ko nga na lalabas ng bahay ee pero inaalis ko na unti unti sa utak ko yong nga bubuyog na bulong ng bulong sa kautakan ko aigooo. Di talaga sya nakakabuti sa, apektado ang pag iisip ko kaya dapat chill nalang wag ng mag isip ng kung ano ano. So ikaw din, let's love ourself more. Kung di tayo tanggap ng iba then tanggapin natin ang sarili natin. Wahhh ang daling sabihin mahirap gawin ano? Aigooo, pero fighting satin 💪💪🤗🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ayan nga. May mga bulong nga. Lately nga may mga bulong. Love ko naman ang sarili kaso lang kapag haharap na sa salamin, ayoko na. Lalo na kapag may ibang salamin na grabe makataba. Pero tama ka nga, fighting lang. Laban lang. Kaya natin ito. 💪

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oi legit yan salamin na ganyan ang taba ng face ko pero merong payat din I mean niloloko ako nong salamin dun minsan 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ba? Meron din daw na salamin na nakakapangit. Ewan ko kasi sabi ng kasambahay namin at tatay ko yung salamin daw sa banyo namin nakakapangit. Eh hindi naman ako masyado natingin doon kaya di ako makarelate. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I honestly don't know what to say. I just want to share that I know that "Your smile is different from before"... someone told me that my smile does not look as happy as it did before...

and also, I am with you in that feeling ugly with myself kind of emotion.. :D We are all beautiful they say,,, I just don't feel like it. hahah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is what I am trying to convey. 😄 I know that we are all uniquely beautiful but I just don't think like I am at my most beautiful right now.

I somehow believe in that person who told you that our smile is different from before especially if thw reason of that smile is a person that was once in our life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi madam! I missed you here. I don't know what to say to be honest because you are completely aware of how you are going to handle your situation. I just hope and pray that you'll find your drive and motivation to get back in shape. The goal is there naman na but the inspiration to get there, I believe is still lacking. All the best madam! ❤ you look beautiful kaya.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ang arte-arte noh? Hahaha. Ewan ko bakit biglang feeling ko ang panget-panget ko ngayon. Siguro dahil na din ng pimples. Kasi nung 2018 naman deadma lang ako sa katawan ko. Tapos ngayon nacoconscious ako.

Inspiration? Hehe. Pwede bang tawagan siya? 🤣 ewan ko ba bakit sobrang demotivated ko in terms of fitness. Nagagawa ko naman maraming steps na nung andito ako sa bahay kaso kapag nag-iba na ng setting, ayun sira na ang diet and exercise.

Kailanga ko sigurong kantahin kanta ni Christina Aguilera. I am beautiful...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako rin madam, ngayong pandemic grabe yung breakout ko. Kaloka. Kaya ng experiment ako ng acne care products eh.

May seryoso aki tanong madam. Di ka pa naka move on sa kanya?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you mean only the weight issue by the change in physical appearance, this is a situation that can change and it is completely in your hands. You can regain your old look with sports and some diet programs. I think don't worry too much about it and you will succeed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I do not know why I am bothered and conscious about my weight and my pimples again. In fact I have already accepted who I am and loved myself whether I am chubby or not. But you're right. I know what I should do. I just have to work it. Thank you, foryoubtc09. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

well maybe you have heard people telling you that you are beautiful but I am telling you again now that you are so amazing and I wish you ate single heheheh.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, CandyBoy. 😊🙂🙃 yes, single but I want to take this time to improve myself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago