Another first

8 43
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Since I have already talked about my first plane ride and first hotel experience, I might as well talk about my first out of the country trip.

I have only been out of the country twice. First was in Malaysia and second was in Singapore. Again our Malaysia trip was part of our educational tour. Honestly I really don't know how it was considered as educational but I was still thankful because I get to fly out of the country. I forgot how much we paid for that trip but I think it was about Php30,000 or $625 (as per the dollar rate today).

With this educational trip, students were given a chance to choose between domestic or international trip. The domestic trip was in Cebu-Bohol. Of course it was much cheaper if you will choose domestic over international. But because I really wanted to have a stamp on my passport, I chose Malaysia. My mom knows that there were 2 options but we told my dad that it was only Malaysia and it was compulsory. Bad. LOL. It was after that trip that my dad was forcing me to shift my course from HRIM to law. But I didn't listen. Little did I know that our tuition would be doubled even tripled when I was in third year. It was already our last year but our tuition fees were to die for plus the fact that we were trimestral.

Anyway, my friend A opted for the Cebu-Bohol trip. I forgot how many batches we had for domestic and international trips but again I was with some of my friends in Malaysia. Did you know what our first meal was in Malaysia? McDonald's. LOL. What I love about the Mcdonald's there was everythingbwas bigger. I know it is also in different countries according to some of my friends who have been to other countries. I don't know why ours is so cute. LOL.

In this trip, I know we only had free hotel breakfast so we ate wherever we want for lunch and dinner, But since some of us weren't familiar with the place, we stick we the fast food restaurants. We also skipped lunch for us to save money. I forgot how much pocket money I had but I know most of us exchanged some of our dollars to ringgit at the Kuala Lumpur International Airport. And we exchanged it again from ringgit to dollars when we were going back to Manila but I know I have kept one bill. I forgot how much it is and I even don't know where it is now. LOL.

Looking back, it was really a good experience though we really don't know how it was educational. We were just like tourists exploring some of the places there. We also had a lot of free time that our friends would split up and go on different locations. I went with my friends that wouldn't let me spend more. LOL. There were times that we would bumped into some of our batchmates. Since we split up, my friends who were in postpaid would call our friends or vice versa just to know their whereabouts.

If my first Ilocos trip was my first plane ride and first hotel accommodation, I also have my first in Malaysia. Aside from the fact that it was my first out of the country, it was also in Malaysia where I have experienced my first cable car and it was in Genting Highlands if my memory serves me right. I know the line was too long but we still decided to ride on it so that we could experience it since we were already there. I cannot recall if there are other firsts that I have experienced in Malaysia but probably the fact that it was my first time to be miles away from my family. Texting was the only communication back then and I had my number for roaming. I forgot how much it was to text from Malaysia to Manila and vice versa but our messages were just limited to one text/reply per day. A quick update with the family and that's all. Unlike today where we can be able to connect with everyone around the world as long as we have internet and a smartphone. Though I wasn't homesick back then since it was only for days. I was able to sleep right away and even poop upon arriving at our hotel. LOL.

Actually when we came back, we still stayed 1 night in a hotel in Subic since our flight was from Malaysia to Subic. Again another free time for us. That's why a lot of us have realized that it was totally a waste of money. I don't know when I can travel outside the Philippines again but the first on my list is really South Korea. I have always been dreaming of travelling the world with my family and I know one day we can do that. I may have not saved for it before but I will save up for that now.

How about you? What are your firsts that you want to share with us? I think I have already talked about a lot of my firsts here. There are a lot of firsts that we will experience in life that can either be joyful or painful, good or worst and exciting or boring. We should be thankful for all those experiences that we've had whether first, second, third or the nth time especially if it teaches us a lesson.

P.S. lead image is me with my friends. We were required to wear green top with black jacket or blazer or coat when we departed Subic so that we would be easily seen by our porfessors. If I am not mistaken, that was in Genting Highlands.

6
$ 18.17
$ 18.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.05 from @charmingcherry08
+ 1
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Comments

How many hrs did it take to arrive in Malaysia? Mukhang enjoy ah. Para din bang Pinas?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nalimutan ko na gaano katagal byahe pero saglit lang din. Para siyang Pilipinas pero maaamoy mo agad sila sa umpisa. Tapos after few hours parang naimmune na din mga ilong namin. 😅 tapos merong night market na parang sa Baguio. Dami din nagpupunta. Tingin lang naman kami para maexperience. Pero mga kamay namin nasa bulsa lang tapos wala kaming mga bag. Kasi uso din nakawan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uuuy ganon ba? Mabaho lugar nila? 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Oo. Basta nawindang talaga kami nung nasinghot na namin ang hangin. Tapos meron kami napuntahan na CR, yung sa sahig siya mismo. So nakasquat ka. Basta ang hirap. Yung kaibigan ko nagtiis na lang makarating kami sa hotel. Pero maganda naman yung lugar. Grabe lang talaga yung amoy. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Singapore pala yung sobrang linis. Kamusta don? May multa daw pag dumura ka sa daan. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun talaga grabe sobrang linis. Parang pwede ka humiga sa kalsada. Daming bawal ultimo yosi. Eh nung time na yun smoker ako. Hala hindi talaga ako nanigarilyo doon. Hahaha. Takot ako. Malinis. Tapos napakaayos at disiplinado ng mga tao. Sa pag sakay ng bus, train. Bilib ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda lifestyle nila don ano. Sana di rin toxic mga tao don. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo maganda nga. Alam ko ang mas toxic daw doon may kapwa natin. Yun sabi nung mga kaibigan ko.

By the way, same pala tayong April nagresign. Hehe. Pero di ko sasabihin year ng akin. Que horror. Hahahaha. Basta mas nauna ako

$ 0.00
2 years ago