Activity time on social media platforms

0 27
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Yesterday I woke up without internet connection. Well actually my mom woke me up and told me that we didn't have internet again. I told her that it was probably because classes have resumed that we had intermittent connection for the past 2 days. Having no internet connection is bad news for her and our helper but not for me because I have a mobile data. My mom said that it was 3AM when she noticed that our connection was gone so she slept after that. Yes, she stood up late and that is one disadvantage of too much internet browsing. 

Then our helper was complaining to me also when I went to the kitchen about us having no internet connection. Why are they all complaining to me as if there is something that I can do? And when we were having breakfast, our helper also told us that we didn't have a cable. Now I know that this isn't something about having the internet anymore because both our internet and cable are under one company so we relayed our concerns to our neighbor who works there. We found out that there was a problem for both our cable and internet in some areas in Quezon City and that they are already working on fixing it and is expected to be up and running by 8PM yesterday. 

When my mom and our helper found out about it, their main concern was what are they going to do without a wifi and a cable. My dad's only problem was the cable because he's more of a television guy. But he had no problem with that because he'll just sleep it off since he barely gets a good night's sleep lately because of his condition. For my mom and our helper who's always holding their smartphones, that's really a problem. 

Then when we were having snack, our helper said that we now can't live without Facebook. I told her not to include me because I can very well live without Facebook or Instagram. For Messenger somehow I can also live without it but it is my only means of communication with some of our relatives abroad. Though I have already uninstalled my Viber months ago because I was running out of storage. 

If I need to contact my friends, I would just text or call them or vice versa. Philippines was once known as the texting capital of the world to the social media capital of the world and lastly as the net surfing capital. But I'd like to stick with texting and calling my friends so I can get the most out of my postpaid plan. I am registered to unlimited texts to all networks and unlimited calls to the same network of my plan. Don't you think that sending a text message is slowly dying? It is sad but that is the thing with the advancement of technology. People tend to follow the trend that they forget about the old classic way of communicating with each other. Even registered mails or hand written letters aren't athing anymore. 

So when was the last time that you've scanned your Facebook or Instagram news feed? I did a little scan yesterday but it was just for a few seconds then closed it right away. I cannot remember with Instagram but I did posted something last week. I even forgotten about my Facebook pages. I told myself that I would post one Youtube link per day on my Facebook page but I was only able to do it up to January 4. Maybe because I was also busy in cleaning that I forgot about it. But even if I wasn't too preoccupied, I still wouldn't stay long browsing on Facebook or Instagram. 

I think it was in 2019 when I started not to be active on Facebook. Yes, I do posts a few times especially if we have gatherings or to just simply upload something that I can remember for that day but not always. Compared to before that the first thing I would do when I wake up is browse my Facebook, check out other people's lives and accomplishments, share some quotes hoping that my significant other would notice me, tag my friends in memes or gifs or anything that is related to our friendship and whatnot. Then I would notice that an hour has already passed just by browsing through my social media accounts. 

I just grew tired of being active on social media. I sometimes ended up getting depressed whenever I see them posting about their travels, new gadgets or their accomplishments. Yes I am happy for them but I couldn't help but to pity myself. I envy them? I guess a little part of me is somehow envious. And whenever I would open my Facebook, it would remind me of who I was year/s before. Lastly, I would see some devastating news or a viral video of abuses especially with animals or dogs for instance. So I stopped because I felt like it wasn't healthy for me anymore. Have you also experienced that? 

1 minute for Instagram and average of 5 minutes on Facebook. Last week was when I posted for my Facebook page

I joined Facebook 12 years ago and 5 years ago with Instagram. I was a late bloomer with Instagram because for me I can post it on Facebook so why do I have to post it on Instagram as well? So whenI checked out some Instagram accounts, back then it was like a menu of a restaurant because all I could see was pictures of food. But when I joined, I saw that it was more of showing your artistic side and your skills in photography. Not all that I post on Instagram is on Facebook. My Facebook is more like a diary, a journal or a photo album while with Instagram, I somehow post my deeper feelings and some food photography. 

Each of us has its own positive and negative opinion about the use of social media. As for me, I can say that I feel more better without browsing my social media accounts. Less toxic, less stress. How about you? Can you live without any social media platforms? I'd rather focus on such applications that lets you earn money than grow some hatred in my mind and heart. 

Honestly, I am more active on noise.cash than with Facebook and Instagram. As for Lyka and Project Blue Fire, I see to it that I get to upload something per day/week. If before upon waking up I would check my Facebook, now I would check the prices of BCH and BTC, followed by mining on Stormgain, next is to check if someone gave me GEMs on Lyka then check also if I have new notifications on read.cash and lastly to greet my noisy friends on noise.cash. I am more excited to do these things compared to how I was when I was checking my social media accounts. Earning has never been this exciting don't you think?

2
$ 9.11
$ 9.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Comments