2nd dose

2 24
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

A few days ago my parents have received a text message reminding them of their vaccination that is scheduled on May 12.

The day before, my parents had already lessen their food intake especially to foods that will most likely increase their blood pressure. My dad kept reminding my mom not to eat too much because during their first dose, it took us or it took her 6 hours while it was only 2 hours for my dad including the waiting game.

Yesterday, my mom was already up as early as 5Am to fix us some breakfast since our helper was still asleep that time. She just prepared light meals and she also packed some snacks for us to bring in the vaccination site. She just wants to be prepared since the last time we had nothing to eat. Though the city health department provided a piece of cupcake and a bottle of water but I was the only one who got it so I shared it with my dad while we were waiting for my mom.

I think majority of the people who were at the vaccination site yesterday morning were also the same people who were there last month since I saw a lot of familiar faces. Yes, even if I only saw them once but I was able to imprint their faces on my mind because some of them I have stared for hours. LOL. I think it is also because I am used to remembering a person's face especially I have worked in the food industry.

Thankfully the procedures were somewhat shortened although it was still a little disorganized. Steps were registration or verification, vital signs, screening, injection and post vaccination vital signs. You will know the process during first dose on my 2 parts Vaccination day articles here (part 1 and part 2).

It was a little disorganized because upon arriving at the vaccination site, someone will hand out a form or a waiver and then someone will direct you where to go. She directed us to the place where there were a lot of people during first dose. But this time, there were only a few people sitting on the chair while answering the form. Then someone shouted, "2 senior". It means that 2 senior can advance to the lower platform so my parents went on ahead. I just waited there and observed that there were a lot of people who were non-senior going down the platforms. And then it started to get a little disorganized. Some organizers were looking for the person who were accountable for people going down the platform but she was nowhere to be found. There they found out that the real line starts at the lower platform but it wasn't organized very well. I think it was 10 people who went there and just sit on the vacant seats. But the vacant seats have a senior and non-senior group so it got a little mixed up but they were able to fix it right away.

So everyone's waiting and then they started at 8AM when the vaccine and some other city health organizers arrived. They started to let 10 senior people to advance to the court where the whole processs takes place. But when they asked for 10 senior, again it got a little disorganized again because after they asked the 10 senior to stand up, they also requested the other 10 to move forward. But there was a senior who went with the first 10 senior people. Good thing it wasn't the case with the non-senior. Although it felt kind of unfair because they asked for 10 senior and then only 5 non-senior. It was an alternate turns but they should have make it 5 senior and 5 non-senior. Imagine if someone was accompanying the seniors and was sitted in the fourth row. Yet the senior people that they have accompanied was also on the fourth row but they ended up to be called first. It was just so very wrong for me. Yes I know seniors are priority but it doesn't have to be like that. It still has to be fair don't you think? I know they are old and the non-senior also have their own commorbidities. I think it should be wise if they make it to 5:5.

Let's move on to the whole process. Fiest step verification. Since it was for second dose so it was a little faster. There were 2 booths who accommodates with verification. 2 person in 1 booth. 1 was the person who would check your vaccination card and ID and the other one is who would input in the laptop or whatever system they were using.

Next up, vital signs. Last time a lot of people were held up in this step because their vitals shoot up. It was even in the news that this should be skipped since you have to include the factors contributing to why their vitals shoot up like the weather, waiting time or the fact that they are nervous for the vaccine. But I was surprised when I didn't see anyone being help up in this step. I wasn't able to count how many booths it was who takes the vital signs but it was absolutely more than 2.

Then next is screening. It was just a brief Q&A wherein they will just ask you the same questions that was written in the waiver or form that was given to you. Do you think this should be excluded? I think so. Finally after that was vaccination and then post vital signs. It only took my parents less than an hour and probably almost 2 hours for non-senior. I think 2 hours for non-senior is still a long time to be exposed. I just really hope that there will still be some improvements or changes to this.

My parents did not have any side effects with the first dose although on their second dose they just felt that their arm was heavy but only for a few hours. I don't whether or not it is true but my dad said that we need to just stay at home for the next 14 days because he said that their immune system is at the lowest after taking the second dose. I think he just found out about it through some messages that has been passed on to to him by his friends. Well better be safe right? We have already bought their maintenance medicines and we have already stock up our pantry 2 weeks ago.

Whether or not you decide to take the vaccine, I just hope that we will still follow all the health and safety protocols. Not because you have already completed your vaccine, you will wander around just because you are already bored at home. The vaccines are just added protection like our face masks and face shields. If there are no more active cases, then we can go back to our old and normal routine. For now, let us hope, pray, stay indoors or go out when necessary and always keep safe. We can beat this.

4
$ 7.48
$ 7.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @charmingcherry08
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Comments

Okay nman na sila ngayon madam? hi! nagbabalik ako. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello. Welcome sa pagbabalik. Hahaha. Yup, ok naman sila ngayon. Yun lang mabigat yung braso naexperience nila pero bago natapos yung araw ay nawala na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago