cheers to the old times

21 66
Avatar for bbhoho44
3 years ago

I used to drink a lot when I was in college.
I lived in the city, far from my strict parents

I would skip classes to drink with my best friend. I would only go to school to work as a tutor. The pay was not enough. I was obsessed with earning more money to support my bad habit which was drinking. So, I applied in a fast food restaurant while I was studying. I got the job and my colleagues were alcoholics. Every night after shift, we would go to the nearest bar and drink.

When I graduated and got my degree, I applied as a call center agent because of the high salary offered. I got the job and I easily made friends because most people in the BPO industry drink a lot.

We drink while on breaks, during lunch time or right after our shifts. There are even times when we drink starting from when we get off work and we finish just few hours from the start of our shifts.

On rest days, since we get off work in different times, we would meet in the nearest bar and drown ourselves with liquor. There are times where these people would get so drunk and just crawl like a worm on their way home, literally. It was fun and I rarely get drunk which is sad. I drink so much to get drunk! It is much more fun if you are the drunk one. I even drink twice than the people I am with but since I have high tolerance on alcohol. It always ends up me being alive and then them dying.

I don’t consider myself as an alcoholic because alcoholics cannot stop themselves from drinking. They drink at home or even when alone. As for me, I only drink when I am with workmates, friends and relatives but never at home nor alone.

Drinking was my way to release my inner self and to experience the fun or happy moments that I never had when I was with my family.

Because at home, my life was controlled by very strict parents.
I was living the life of a prisoner..

I used my laptop for making this article in Microsoft Word. My mobile phone as my timer for 10 minutes.

I have so much more to say! The timer stopped before I could give it a happy ending lol but just to redeem myself, I had a rough past when I was living with my parents but I already stopped drinking since I became the happiest person on earth. And that is when I got married to the love of my life last year and we now have a 1 year old son who walks like a drunk person hehehehe

PS. I never regretted the moments that I had when drinking because these were times that I met the most wonderful people. I always hear people judging alcoholics when you don't even know what they went through. They are the strongest and wisest people I have known. You only see the outside yet you judge it. Try to sit down and drink with them, you have a lot to learn. Don't blame them for their past. They drink as a celebration of being alive despite how cruel life was to them.

If you don't like drinking because of these people, then the problem is with you. Because drinking will depend on how you control yourself. It is your attitude on the situation and it will not depend on the people you are with. You are to blame for your own actions.

I don't encourage people to drink because it is solely your decision. But if you do, just remember to drink moderately and to know your limits or bottle number.

Be a responsible drinker~

12
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
Sponsors of bbhoho44
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbhoho44
3 years ago

Comments

This is true. I worked as a customer service representative for a year and my colleagues were hard drinkers too. I don't know why? Maybe it just runs on the blood? or is it a quality that a csr must have? Hehe.

by the way, I salute to your high tolerance in alcohol. I tried drinking when I was working as csr, but it was an awful experience. From then, I can't afford to get myself getting drunk. At least just a bottle of beer :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You got me there when you asked if it is a quality that a csr must have haha for others, it must be with the stressful job where irate customers rant and put the blame on them then give the csr a failed survey haha for me, must be by blood because my father was an alcoholic haha there are always people at work that gets drunk easily haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Still depends on the person though. As you mentioned, drinking is one way of relieving stress. These irate customers contribute so much for CSRs to drink. Haha. I'll point my finger to them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. For sure! The pay is okay but not enough to compensate for the stressful job πŸ˜₯

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's true. It's been so stressful so I had to quit. For how long you worked as csr?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too! Almost 4 years in total hahaha how about you?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just almost a year. I couldn't endure the stress anymore. It's like you wake up just to be stress so I quit because it's no longer a healthy lifestyle for me. πŸ₯ΊπŸ’”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True! Working must be done with passion or else it demotivates us! Sometimes, money is not enough to motivate us and keep us going πŸ˜“

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Our health should be the first thing in the list to consider. If we're not healthy, we can't do things we aspire :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very well said!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you have fun, and you can control it enjoy! If it creates problems, then you have to consider stopping.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is true. Drinking moderately is fine but if the person abuses it, then that is their problem. Drink at your own risk

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article, i also experienced it, i think 5-6 years ago me n my workmate used to go to the bar here in boracay after working n did it many times, i enjoyed n had fun but then i realized that isn't that good because there's one time that i got home really drunk n when i woke up, my mom told me to do it every night n not just every friday like me n my workmate used to do n that made me stop n now, i never did that anymore although i still miss it, but it's just it is.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yesss. We all have bad habits and sometimes we just outgrow these bad habits. Adulthood makes us mature and makes us realize the more important things in life. We just wake up any day and had enough of it so we stop. It is a good memory ro reminisce though, brings a smile to my face every time!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course, not everyone can control themselves. My neighbor drinks a lot of alcohol every day and has problems with everyone when he is drunk. So those who drink alcohol should not lose control of themselves.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. Drinking moderately is good but if its too much to the point that a person becomes immoral and unlawful then it is wrong. Always be a responsible drinker and take responsibility for own actions!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. Drinking too alcohol makes people immoral and unlawful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

"If you don't like drinking because of these people, then the problem is with you." I don't agree with you. Drunk people are fine if they do it at home and do not bother others, do not molest, abuse, manipulate, reaching down whole cities and bars insult, rape and stab others because they are drunk.

You might have had a rough time with your parents but I had a very rough time. Good enough to be a drunk, drug-addicted, even better a serial killer.

Your statement drunks are tough people is what you see, same if it comes to their wisdom. If you wouldn't have been drinking you might have met real tough people, the fighters willing to make something out of their life.

I wonder in which country you live, what kind of employer you all had that drunk at work was allowed.

It's good not to regret what you did, there's no need to regret the future. I hope you will support your wife and kid too if they decide to drink frequently, they might meet great, wise people too.

If you work daily and drink daily it sounds like drinking frequently, being an alcoholic to me. My ex said: my brother is an alcoholic he starts drinking as soon as he gets out of bed, not me." True but my ex drank the same amount if not more only started later. If you can not say no, refuse, if your friends drink you are addicted.

You wrote something good. My compliments and good luck with the contest. πŸ€πŸ’•πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohhhh! I like your feedback! When I was writing this, I was only thinking about the things that happened to me and the people that I was with and not with the world nor other drunk people who did bad things! I apologize if it came out wrong. You just made me realize that we were just responsible drinkers. Ha! Maybe my point here was just to say that not all drunk people are the same and that maybe they are just going through something at that time or simply for fun.

I also agree that people who made something out of their lives despite of what they went through are brave people and are the strong ones. That has already been acknowledged by the world. However, each people are not the same and not all have the same attitude on the situation, that's why we have problems like depression and suicidal. I just wanted to mention that these people who strive each day to survive and not just easily give up by killing themselves are already brave. When they sleep at night and wake up in the morning to live, that is already brave and we also have to acknowledge those.

Regarding with work, like with every other employer, it is not okay to drink while at work. But we don't really make it obvious and we don't get too drunk that it is too obvious to people. Two bottles of beer don't really makes us drunk. The guards didn't even recognize it. Maybe we really were just responsible drinkers. Ha! hahaha

And to my kids, we have talked about it with my husband, I don't support them drinking too much that's why we try to give them a good childhood to not make them rebellious like I was. Also, bad influence are everywhere especially with the growing world we have. My experience will have them keep their respect to anyone and will know the effects of being in the wrong path. It will serve as lesson to my kids. But ofc, they will not be alcoholics if they don't see me as one or if they are just taught proper discipline and educated about these things. It all starts in the familyyy.

For me, it started when I was raised by an alcoholic father and whenever he was drunk, he would beat me up to death. I guess I was too focused on my experience and how differently I was treated by drunk friends and a drunken father. Hahaha

I appreciate this! No wonder, you are the moderator for this event. You just made me see it in a different view!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh dear you do not need to apologize for anything. You wrote a great article! You managed to give your view, a view on life while you drank. It's not important if I or others agree with you. What counts is that what you wrote triggers people to comment! They see you and you wake them up and that is what a writer needs to do.

You grew into a great person with life experiences and have a lot to share. You are right danger is everywhere. A family should be a safe place for a child. Yours was not neither was mine. Talking about it with your children is the key.

I wish you a lot of success. You did it perfectly with this freewrite. πŸ’•πŸ€πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Waaahhh! Thank you so much! I really appreciate you! πŸ’–πŸ˜­

$ 0.00
3 years ago