What's with Your Name?

2 16
Avatar for bbghitte
2 years ago

I'm sure everyone of us now know where did our parents got our names, what's the meaning behind them and it's just amazing how it fits perfectly to us.

My name is Brigitte, my parents got it from the famous actress during their time, the ever beautiful Bridget Fonda. But my sister used to tease me Bardot, since there was this famous activist, Brigitte Bardot.

According to Google, my name means "power, strength, vigor, virtue". An alternate meaning of the name is "exalted one". And in French Baby names, my name means goddess of fire and poetry.

With the above meaning, I can say that somehow my name really represent who I am. I have the power, strength, vigor and virtue, they may not be obvious all the time but deep inside the lion (my zodiac sign) in me just kicks in. I think with all the trials that I surpassed and have won, I gained enough strength and power to conquer those that will still come along. Also, I think I am hot as the goddess of fire (oopss, don't react this is just for fun😁) and you know very how I love poetry. I love composing with my simple shots, I am a poet by heart.

My daughter's name is Mikaela Yuri. It's hard thinking of a baby's name, I needed to check from google almost everyday but nothing seems to have that spark. Until one afternoon, I was riding in a train when my then seatmate was reading a pocketbook. Since she was too close, I happened to read a few and saw the name of the female lead character; MIYU. It was like a love at first sight that I could not forget it and told my hubby that Miyu would be our daughter's nickname and would just search for names that would have a MI and YU in the beginning.

Mikaela, from my favorite Philippine model Mikaela Martinez. She has this pretty face that I admire the most. Yuri, from the ever famous cosmonaut, Yuri Gagarin🙂.

According to Google, Mikaela means 'who is like God' or 'gift from God' while Yuri means 'light of God'.

She is indeed a gift from God that until now I could not believe I have the privilege to take care of her, nurture her and call her my daughter. She brings so much light and delight not just for me but to the whole family. She has this aura and persona that is hard to resist and you cannot just ignore her. She maybe loud and talkative but if you will talk to her and be with her, you will see how great is her wisdom and knowledge at a very young age.

When my sister learned that her nickname was Miyu she said it sounds like a motorcycle brand so we just stick with Yuri🙂

She has this Chinita eyes that when she was still a baby, people around us think that one of her parents has a chinese/japanese or even korean blood. So fitting to her Yuri name.

And now that she's growing up, she is fond of walking like a model with matching flipping of hair😁

...^•°...

Would you mind sharing the story behind your name too?

Thanks for reading and God bless us all.

Keep smiling. Keep inspiring.

Lead image is from Unsplash.
#originalcontent 
#bbghitte

1
$ 1.38
$ 1.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of bbghitte
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbghitte
2 years ago

Comments

My name before was Jomar but since I always got sick they chance it into Melchor since I was born on the day of three kings which is Melchoir Gaspar and Baltazar😅 Buti nlng di napili yung Gazpar o baltazar hihih. Peru OK nadin naman no choice namn tayo kung ano yumg name na mabigay para sa atin.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Uso nga yan ano pag nagkakasakit ang baby, pinapalitan yung name. Yap, wla naman tayong choice, unless magbayad at papalitan sa rehistro..pero magastos kaya wag na lang😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago